4/7 Benny PMPS 160 shoot or no?

Can you monitor? Do you have supplies? Test strips? Mc? Hc? Karo or honey? Which method are you following? Are you feeding any dry food?
 
I can monitor. I have test strips, honey, not sure what MC or HC are. I'm not following any method at this point, he's just been super-high in his numbers and the new vet prescribed an increased dose. In terms of dry food, I've gotten him down to a couple of tablespoons a day.
 
So since still a little dry and no method yet I would go go with SLGS guidelines.


  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.

  • I would go with a token dose.

 
I gave him a token dose of a half unit. +2 he is at 385. Should I give him the rest of the insulin dose? Thank you for your help!!
 
No. Never shoot a second shot. He’s bouncing from being lower. Take the test of the night off.
 
I am not one of the experts here but I personally would not. Glargine likes consistent dosing every 12 hours
Good point, thank you.

No. Never shoot a second shot. He’s bouncing from being lower. Take the test of the night off.
Will do. I appreciate your help, I've just been so startled to see the lower number and did not want to mess it up!
 
Tonight lets you know how he reacted to a lower pmps. If you were not feeding any dry food and following TR you could have shot the full dose. With SLGS a token dose was the right thing to do since his pmps bg was so much lower than you have seen before. The higher bg was a bounce from that lower bg and not the result of shooting a token dose. It would have happened even if you shot a full dose. The bounce will clear and you kept him safe. That is what matters. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
His AMPS was "hi". :( How do you balance the need for them to not go hypo with their need to stay on the insulin?
 
Back
Top