4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299 PMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
My human is such a goofball sometimes.

He went to Costco yesterday, and got new syringes. Well, these are U100 syringes, but they allow you to give up to 100 units of insulin! They are way too big for a diabetic cat like me!

So even though he wanted to bump things up to 3.75 units, he can't tell. It's hard enough to get single units in there, because the lines mark off every other unit.

So he bumped the dose up to 4 units and will hold that for a while and he is going to get some new syringes in from ADW.

Silly human!

Prior conversation
 
Re: 4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299

I was wondering why the huge increase. ;-) I suggest trying to get a few extra tests in over the next few days until you can get some new syringes because you might be skipping over THE dose and send him bouncing again. The sooner you get those new syringes, the faster you can disrupt the .5u dose increase back to .25u, the better. :-D

And example of what a .25u increase alone can do: Michelangelo was running flat 200s. I bumped him up from 2.25 to 2.5u and now I've gotten two straight days of greens (haven't updated the spreadsheet with today's green numbers yet).
 
Re: 4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299

I noticed the 4.0U and I could see the gurus fleeing the country on that one. :o

But since you may have a valid excuse, perhaps there is still hope? ;-)

We will have to check, but I suspect you will want to stick with 4.0U for now. Unless you see green then come here to discuss. But of course don't do another 0.5U increase unless prescribed.

I believe the Terumo Syringes have the best precision of anything I've tried. Perhaps get a box to try along with whatever you were planning to get.

Eventually you will probably want to take it one step further and measure the dose with digital calipers. :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299

Well, there really isn't any other choice. Because my human screwed up -- he really didn't know, so I can't get too mad at him -- it was four units or...well, really, two. There is not much room between the two unit lines so even a three unit dose would be a guess.

We will hold this dosing level until my human gets the new syringes from ADW and by the time it gets here, that will probably be four or five days of this dosing level so we can make changes based on that data.
 
Re: 4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299

Based on this:
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
We will hold this dosing level until my human gets the new syringes from ADW and by the time it gets here, that will probably be four or five days of this dosing level so we can make changes based on that data.
I agree with this:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
We will have to check, but I suspect you will want to stick with 4.0U for now. Unless you see green then come here to discuss. But of course don't do another 0.5U increase unless prescribed.

...if that makes sense. :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Bagheera AMPS 243 +10 299

KPassa said:
Based on this:
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
We will hold this dosing level until my human gets the new syringes from ADW and by the time it gets here, that will probably be four or five days of this dosing level so we can make changes based on that data.
I agree with this:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
We will have to check, but I suspect you will want to stick with 4.0U for now. Unless you see green then come here to discuss. But of course don't do another 0.5U increase unless prescribed.

...if that makes sense. :lol:

No, it makes sense. It is clear that two units is too low for me, and my human would have liked to have gone up a quarter unit but with the needles he has, he just can't. So we have to do what we can and since we need some consistency before we change things, that's what I will tolerate from him.

Now if I can just talk him into getting this for me and Jacey. We both like going outside on the balcony but my human does not want us putting ourselves in danger from falling. Silly human. We are nimble cats, not clumsy humans.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top