4/7/21 - Squeaky! +7=475 :o( AMPS = 337

I'm sure I sound like a squeaky wheel (no pun intended :joyful:) but any chance you can swap your +7s for a +2 or +3? Lantus onsets around +2 for most kitties (and seems to for Squeaky based on your older data) and it really would provide more insight to his cycles than the later cycle tests you tend to grab. Just a thought. Hope you all have a good day :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I'm sure I sound like a squeaky wheel (no pun intended :joyful:) but any chance you can swap your +7s for a +2 or +3? Lantus onsets around +2 for most kitties (and seems to for Squeaky based on your older data) and it really would provide more insight to his cycles than the later cycle tests you tend to grab. Just a thought. Hope you all have a good day :bighug:

Yes I like people who keep nudging me in the best direction. I will try to get some +2 and +3 and if you can tell me as we go along how it is helpful, that might be good. Mostly I don't like pricking his ear again so soon. And if he's going down, then we need to do it again..... He does pretty well with every 6 hours but if things get more intense than that he runs away from me.

But we can try it sometimes. Better during the day or at night? AT night, though, if I get a +2 and he's going down, then I need a +6 and the next day, I'm toast. (I'm already toast just getting a +6 and as you can see, usually I can't quite drag myself out of bed for a whole hour......)

Thank you, keep nudging me and teaching me. I SO appreciate it!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Not only a squeaky wheel, but also squeaky clean. :D
 
Not only a squeaky wheel, but also squeaky clean. :D
lol, I'm glad you have a sense of humor. That one got a good laugh from me :p

how it is helpful
It's helpful because that is when Lantus onsets - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose

I know you and Squeaky want to limit tests but IMHO if you got the +2, you could then plan to feed the cycle according to it and get tests as you can.

I know I've dropped this off before but here's the +2 thinking (bolding some things just to emphasize them) -
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for him
I also still think there are a ton of ideas to help you regulate Squeaky in the TR with a Full Time Job thread but you'll have to see what ideas may work for you and Squeaky.

FWIW, when I'd get a late cycle test on Jax - like a +7 - I was getting that test to compare to his upcoming pre-shot, not to tell me how low he went. When I got a +2, I was getting that test to see how the shot I just gave was impacting Jax, including if he was going to go lower (or not).

Hope that helps a bit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's helpful because that is when Lantus onsets - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
I know you and Squeaky want to limit tests but IMHO if you got the +2, you could then plan to feed the cycle according to it and get tests as you can.
FWIW, when I'd get a late cycle test on Jax - like a +7 - I was getting that test to compare to his upcoming pre-shot, not to tell me how low he went. When I got a +2, I was getting that test to see how the shot I just gave was impacting Jax, including if he was going to go lower (or not).

Okay, one issue at a time. No, it's not "limit tests." It is, get ONE test mid-cycle. Basically I can only get one test. Which one is it? If it's a +2, then we're DONE. Seriously. The cat can't tolerate more than one. Maybe a +5 or a +6 to know how low he goes?

I only really have ONE.

It doesn't help to know if he is going to go lower, because then I'll have to test again. That is TWO. I can only have ONE. Unless, basically, I want to kill him. If this gets to be too much for him, he'll decide to leave the planet. I have ONE test mid-cycle.

THE CAT HAS SPOKEN.

Okay tell me this and in the next post we'll talk about food.
 
Hi Jan, I'm not honesty sure how to help. I was just suggesting an earlier cycle test versus later cycle test due to the nature of Lantus. To ask me what one test each day you should get does not seem fair - a cat's nadir can and does move around; cat's bounce. This is why we get different tests to "paint the picture" if you will. Maybe go read through The Basics sticky as it highlights how lantus works. Best of luck to you both :bighug:
 
Hi Jan, I'm not honesty sure how to help. I was just suggesting an earlier cycle test versus later cycle test due to the nature of Lantus. To ask me what one test each day you should get does not seem fair - a cat's nadir can and does move around; cat's bounce. This is why we get different tests to "paint the picture" if you will. Maybe go read through The Basics sticky as it highlights how lantus works. Best of luck to you both :bighug:

I know, it is not an easy situation. Not as easy as the rest of you have it. I can get different tests, but not on the same day. Yes the written material is so confusing I can't understand it. More of the not so easy situation. Wish that my life followed the rules like it seems to do for the rest of you. Thanks for your good wishes. If we don't make it through this, I've done the best I could. Best of luck to you, too.
 
Back
Top