4/7/2014 Georgie AMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajsandbe

Member Since 2014
Georgie is pretty happy this morning. I started giving him Zobaline today. Hopefully it will help with his legs. Will this supplement affect his numbers?
 
good morning. i am fairly new here but i dont think it will. its a vitamin. my kitty could hardly walk 3 months ago and now he can walk, and jump again :) good luck!
 
Abbey

Reduce his dose!!!! That 48 earned him a .25 reduction. Any time he gives you a reading below 50 his dose goes down.

Also stop second guessing what his actual BGs are. They are what the meter says they are period. There is no adjusting needed. You can test the exact same drop of blood 3 times and get 3 different numbers. We aren't looking for the precise number but trends. When comparing a human meter to a pet only one its the same as comparing farenheit to celcius. Its two different calibrations for the same number. Low end of normal on a human meter is. 40 just like freezing is 0 degrees celcius while 70 is the low end of normal on a pet only meter just like freezing is 32F. Same temperature different ways of expressing it numerically.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I will reduce his dose. I guess I am unsure if I am supposed to adjust his dose before consulting the forum. I thought his numbers were supposed to be between 40 and 200. Is 48 too low or is it just because of the sudden drop of it in blood glucose? Maybe it is because the Lantus can build up in his system and can drop really low in the following days. I think I understand the rational behind the number adjusting because the chart is calibrated for the relion meter. I just thought that if his levels were supposed to be between 40 and 200 that those numbers were based on the actual (pet calibrated/adjusted readings) that I would add 30 points based on the difference in meters. Think I am getting the hang of this. Still have a lot to learn. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP!!!
 
I am worried about him now. I gave him the same dose last night and this morning. I am going to try to get off work early to go check on him. He will be okay right? :sad:
 
Okay normal blood sugar for a NON-DIABETIC Is between 40-120 on a human meter. Normal blood sugar for a NON-DIABETIC is between 70-150 on a pet only meter.

Yes you want to keep him in that normal range as much of the day as possible. But any reading below 50 in a newly diagnosed (under a year on insulin) is an immediate dose reduction of .25 u. Any reading under 40 on a long term diabetic like my Autumn earns her a dose reduction.

Too much insulin will create high numbers just like not enough.

If you're sure of what you're doing no you don't need to consult the forum before changing dose. In fact nothing would delight me more than to have you all learn when to raise and lower doses.

He should be fine as he's in rebound right now but to stop those sky high bounces you need to reduce the dose

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel! I have learned so much from you. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your advice. Everyday I learn something new. :razz:
 
I'm with ya... lots to learn and this forum has been so very helpful in helping me learn it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top