4.7.18 BELLA amps301,+2 182 +4 116 +5 114 + 6 103 +8 152 +10 252 pmps 364

Status
Not open for further replies.
Will be watching to see how the curve goes! How is Bella feeling these days?
First of all Thanks for all you help and supports and keeping and eye on bella and I!
He’s doing well, I was giving him b12, uromax and coq 10 but quite for a bit because it just seemed to much for him, I was only doing them as a preventive but am restarting them this today but spreading them out through the day so not so much at 1 time, was wondering if I should give at all except for,uromax as I constantly worry he will get that ketone thing, he has never had it but I see kitty’s on here all the time with and it’s terrible, any thoughts on all those supplements?
 
Hmmm, I only really have experience with B12, which I think is a pretty low-risk thing to supplement (never heard of any cats having problems of any kind with it, and it's hard to give them too much because it's a water-soluble vitamin). As for ketones, yes, a ketones episode/DKA can be terrible, and since Bella is prone to UTIs it's probably a good idea to do whatever you can to keep those at a minimum. He'd probably be OK with a UTI as long as he kept eating and getting insulin (that's really where you get into trouble with ketones), but anything you can do to reduce the risk is a good thing (plus, UTIs are no fun even without ketones!). But I don't know much about uromax itself.
 
My goodness! Look at that blue! Normally I'd say give a little snack but because this is curve day I'd just let things happen on this dose so you can get data with no interference from extra food steering. I give Teasel B12 "just in case". It's a 1200 mg sugar free human supplement from the pharmacy. I don't know anything about uromax or the effects of CoQ10. Maybe spread them out over the day?
 
Let’s hope the curve will provide you with useful data as you go forward with Lantus.
Rusty gets a monthly B-12 shot at the vet (although many here give the shot at home; personally I can’t deal with those huge syringes). I am not familiar with the other supplements you are giving.
Good curve day to you and Bella
 
Let’s hope the curve will provide you with useful data as you go forward with Lantus.
Rusty gets a monthly B-12 shot at the vet (although many here give the shot at home; personally I can’t deal with those huge syringes). I am not familiar with the other supplements you are giving.
Good curve day to you and Bella
I had asked about the b12 shots and they gave me a supplement called Cobeliquin
 
Let’s hope the curve will provide you with useful data as you go forward with Lantus.
Rusty gets a monthly B-12 shot at the vet (although many here give the shot at home; personally I can’t deal with those huge syringes). I am not familiar with the other supplements you are giving.
Good curve day to you and Bella
Should I give snack or still hold off as Kris and Nan said earlier at +2
 
Question: I know you said earlier that you felt the supplements were sending him a little off-kilter, and I don't see notes for anything but B12 for the last few days. Do you think that might be making him feel better overall? He's looking like he's headed for a dose decrease request today, trying to decide how I feel about that.

You do want to keep him on the same food schedule as usual as much as possible on curve days, but of course you can be flexible, especially if there's any safety concern. I don't think he's in danger of diving super-low, but this is kind of uncharted territory for Bella, so it's hard to say for sure. If you're nervous, a small snack might help slow him down a bit, but it might also prevent him from going below 90 when he really does "want" a dose decrease.

I know that's not really an answer to your question :oops:, just trying to lay out the options for you.
 
I quit supplements for a bit because he started pooping outside cat box and he only does that when something is wrong, he has quit doing that so I was thinking maybe I was just over doing it in the morning all at one time, testing, shooting sticking all this supplements down his throat so I stopped and just started back at a slower pace
 
I’m not nervous, just want to make sure I do what’s in the best interest of Bella I can fix a hypo if needed:):)
 
Bella dropped quite a bit by +2 which indicates it's likely to be an active cycle. It wouldn't hurt to give him a small snack if you wished to. Either way, I would definitely test at +5.
 
Looking good! I know how you feel about the hypo thing. We follow TR but, the first time he was under 50, I was so scared. Now it happens like 2-3 times a week. Fortunately, for us, I just give him a low carb snack and he's fine. However, that is just how my cat is. I am in no way suggesting that is how you should treat Bella if he goes low. I'm just saying you will soon be comfortable on what needs to be done when he drops low.
 
@Nan & Amber you said earlier I believe Bella looks like he’s heading towards a decrease, I am wondering why? Not disagreeing with you at all, just trying to understand how this dosage thing all works, since he had blues today I’m wondering why maybe gonna be a decrease?
 
On SLGS, if you go below 90, that's an automatic decrease. He was pretty close to that number at +4, and had to that point been dropping pretty steadily, so I was just guessing. That +5 makes it look like he's changed his mind and leveled out, but we'll see!
 
On SLGS, if you go below 90, that's an automatic decrease. He was pretty close to that number at +4, and had to that point been dropping pretty steadily, so I was just guessing. That +5 makes it look like he's changed his mind and leveled out, but we'll see!
I wasn’t doubting you at all just trying to learn, thanks so much for your help, oops time for another test, he just smiles when he sees me with the tester in my hand lol lol
 
What a beautiful run today!! :smuggrin: A little tense for you earlier and an extra poke for Bella but this is exactly the kind of data you want on a curve day. Did you end up giving a snack because of the numbers or did you stick to your normal feeding routine?

Where to go next? This is from the SLGS guide:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
This means you should stay at 0.75 u for now.
 
What a beautiful run today!! :smuggrin: A little tense for you earlier and an extra poke for Bella but this is exactly the kind of data you want on a curve day. Did you end up giving a snack because of the numbers or did you stick to your normal feeding routine?

Where to go next? This is from the SLGS guide:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
This means you should stay at 0.75 u for now.
No snack I wanted to see what would happen cause I can't always be there and I wanted to be comfortable knowing what it was gonna do with no snack, I was prepared I have a high carb small tool box lol
 
No snack I wanted to see what would happen cause I can't always be there and I wanted to be comfortable knowing what it was gonna do with no snack, I was prepared I have a high carb small tool box lol
Good! Today has given you great data for future reference.
 
Also I'm super glad we had blues cause during week gets discouraging just seeing yellows or maybe a red, so big relief seeing those blues so I know he isn't what I think is high all the time, I just have big big smiles seeing them blues
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top