4/6MaxPMPS 315 +2.5=316+4.5=306+10.5=284

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
What a night. I got an hour sleep and woke to Max meowing softly. I took his BG and he is 101 at +11. I know I reduce him to 1.75 from the 2 units but wonder if I should stall or even give it to him this morning. I know I have about 45 minutes before he is due. Here are yesterday's results:

AMPS 186
+3= 255
+6 = 185
PMPS 171
+3 = 143
+5.5=37
+6 = 43
+6.2 = 72 KARO
+7 = 60
+7.5 =61
+8= 56 +8.75=61
+9 =61 +9.5 =64 +10 =101
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

Hi Elise,
Wow, what a night you had. You did great. Has it been 2 hours since Max ate? He may bounce but you never know. Do you think you could stay up to monitor him?
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

In looking at Max's ss, every PM he's gone low he's bounced in the following AM cycle. That's what he's done in the past but no guarantee that's what he'll do today. Maybe the PS will make it a little more clear what you might expect this cycle. You could also stall for a little more of a guarantee that he's on the rise. There are a few other options but I was wondering what you think you might want to do?
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

It was only one hour since he ate. I will check him again in another 40 minutes which will be two hours since he ate I guess and then he will get his insulin 15-20 minutes late if I give it to him.
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

I'm not very experienced with dosing advice when the kitty has eaten within the 2 hour window so unless someone else more experienced comes by and advises otherwise, I think waiting might be the safest thing to do. Let's see what others say.
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

tiffmaxee said:
he will get his insulin 15-20 minutes late if I give it to him.

If it's a low number that might cause you to want to skip you also have the option of giving a reduced dose, what we call a BCS. I think most would prefer not to do a BCS but if there are circumstances that cause you to not be able to monitor (or make you uncomfortable about shooting a full dose), a BCS is a good option so as not to drain the depot too much.

Do you have plenty of supplies (strips/karo/MC/HC) should you decide to shoot?
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

Yes I have supplies. I will see what his BG is. I think it will likely not drop. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/6Max+11=101 Reduction but Should I shoot this morning?

Do you have a "no shoot" number in mind? You hold the syringe, but if Max doesn't drop (or is flat), if he were mine I would shoot the reduced dose of 1.75u. I know you didn't get much sleep last night so if you don't think you're up for a possibly low day then a BCS might be the way to go. Do you think you'll have any problems getting Max to eat considering last night? Do you know how to steer the cycle with food? That is, use a little higher carb content so that you don't have to give more quantity of food? Zeke normally gets 4% but some cycles mixing in 7% helps to keep him from going too low.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140

He jumped up to 140 so he got his insulin. I gave it to him 1/2 an hour late which is fine. The times that he dipped close to 50 in the past I then fed him small amounts to keep him from going lower. This time the drop happened too fast and it was unexpected. If I get green numbers I can steer it but when he drops suddenly like last night I am out of luck. Perhaps if I had tested at +5 like I planned instead of 5.5 I could have caught it but I dozed and didn't. Poor guy will now need a +1 and +2 today to see where he is headed. Thanks for your help.

He ate his baby food which he gets after his BP med. I gave him cerenia one more time since he regurgitated yesterday. I don't want that to happen again today. He then ate a little of his regular food so all is well there.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140

tiffmaxee said:
Perhaps if I had tested at +5 like I planned instead of 5.5 I could have caught it but I dozed and didn't.

Well, you know, we can't catch them all before they happen but as long as we catch them afterwards before it turns into a crisis situation, we're doing a pretty darn good job. Those lows are just the kitty's way of letting us know, "hey, let's take it down a notch". Max may still have more to say ;-) . We'll see.

You're doing great. I hope Max doesn't go too low today and you get to catch up on some sleep.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduction

Thanks Laura. I expect him to bounce today or tomorrow or both. Funny thing is that his increase was from a fat 1.75 to 2 units. Perhaps he has had Nadirs in green some of the nights when I stopped testing at +3 or +5 . I will never know. Like you said, I'm just glad I caught it before he became hypo.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduction+1=179+2=193

well done last night, elise! like a pro!

looks like he's on his way to a bit of a bounce today. i hope you can get some rest.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduction+1=179+2=193

I thought he would bounce. It seems like he gets to a good place, rises a little, I increase, he falls too low, and we decrease only to go up yet again. It's like a merry-go-round. that 37 was freaky but I kept telling myself he really is higher since I use a human meter. It helped that I had people up with me having the same issue and I could talk with them. I don't know if the variance in syringes is part of the problem. Then again look at all those who go into remission or get regulated without calipers. I guess I'll do a +4 to see if he is going to go sky high.

I just weighed Max and he is up to 15 lb. from 14 lb 7oz a few months ago. My vet said the best thing I could do for him is not let him gain weight. How do I do this when he drops and I have to keep feeding him? Well, he did eat some today so maybe hes an ounce or two less. I'm still wondering how to get him down to 14 lb - 14 1/2 lb.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187

Elise

You did fantastic last night. How great that Mariko, Tina, and Wendy were around.

Using calipers to dose was just something we started about two years ago. TONS of cats have gone into remission without using them and so, no, they are not needed for a cat to go into remission. Not everyone uses them and don't feel like you have to. I happen to have a kitty who is very sensitive to even 0.1u dose changes and I can't micro dose without them. But Max is not Gracie. So do what is best for the two of you. :-D :-D :-D Calipers have nothing to do with whether a cat goes into remission.

i hope you get some rest today.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187

you need to give him food when he goes low, but perhaps his regular food amount could be decreased a few calories. then it would even out overall. You want any weight loss to be slow.

if you don't want to buy calipers, you can always make the paper ruler that is suggested in the PDF on the Tight Reg page. I think you've read that already, but maybe i'm getting mixed up. it's about 5 paragraphs down from the top of the page. the only goal of either the paper ruler or the calipers is to be able to give a consistent dose when we know that the markings on syringes are inconsistent.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187

Hi Marje. The thing is I wonder if Max is sensitive like Gracie. I mean we only increased from F1.75 to 2 units and look how he reacted. I looked at the article Julie suggested with the paper calipers but it is Greek to me. The place where you bought yours had 2 that are 4 inches. Could you give me the model number in case I decide to get one please? Thanks.

Elise
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187

to make the paper ruler, all you're doing is taking an index card, laying the syringe on it and lining up the top (near the needle end) edge of the card with the insulin inside. Copy off the markings of one syringe onto the index card.

Now you've got an index card that's marked with the doses you need.

Then when you draw up a dose, compare your syringe to your index card that you've marked with 2.0, 2.25, 2.5, units, and line up your insulin dose with that line.

You'd use the ruler you create instead of the markings on any syringe - giving you a consistent dose time after time.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187

Max is doing great today! Love those blue surfs. :-D :-D I hope you got a nap in today Elise. I know it's hard during the day but even an hour lay down can be refreshing. You did fantastic last night Elise - it was great Mariko and Tina were around. Having "company" definitely helps.

One thing you might want to do before going to calipers is to see how different your syringes are. I took a few of my old BD syringes and made a "dummy" that was the length of what I had been dosing in my latest syringe. Then I compared it to some of the old used and new unused syringes. That's when I found out the BD syringes can be out over 1/3 of a unit and decided to give calipers a try. The problem with the BD's is that the "zero" line is all over the place. You might be lucky in that the syringes you have are fine, as long as you stick to the same brand. Different brands have different width barrels so what's a 2U on one may not be the same amount as 2U on another. Here is the digital calipers a number of people use. I use a different type (don't have Harbor Freight here) but they work pretty much the same.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213

Thanks, Wendy. I have been using monoject with 1/2 unit markings. I also was using terumo with unit markings some of the time when I didn't need in between doses. I still have lots of both as well as some BD too. I do want to finsih off the monoject as i have more than 100 left and frankly if possible don't want to pay for more. I did buy some terumo with 1/2 unit markings to use when I finish the monoject. I had no idea they would be off by so much.

I have to head over to my mom's now. I'm later than usual. So new nap for me. I will try to nap in between tests tonight and perhaps Max will decide he's had enough ear pokes and won't need so many tonight. Are you listening Max?

And yes it was so nice to have people to talk to last night. I've had to be up by myself a few times and that was tough. It really was needed when he hit 37!!

Enjoy the rest of your day.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213

S-L-E-E-P??​

I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-)​

That is a dirty 5 letter word around here.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS 140 Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213

Since the dose Max was on before this low was a fat .25 and he hit 37 on 2.0 should I have gone back to a fat 1-75 or regular?
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduced+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213PMPS315

For three days we didn't see pink but it's back now.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187 +6=213PMPS 315

Since the dose Max was on before this low was a fat .25 and he hit 37 on 2.0 should I have gone back to a fat 1-75 or regular?
A number in the 30's means you decrease .25U below what your dose was when he got the low, so the 1.75U is correct. It's hard to say at this point what he'll do at 1.75 now. Going up in dose then getting that low can change how Max reacts to 1.75U this time.

I know you don't like the pink - but at least it's a low one. And it was the 30's after all so no wonder his liver panicked. I hope Max SLOWLY eases down tonight so you can catch up on some much needed sleep.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187 +6=213PMPS 315

Sorry Max is bouncing tonight, although hopefully that means you can catch up on some sleep. What a cycle last night! :shock: :mrgreen:

I wish I could help you with dosing. I'll have to defer to the experts on that one.

Total aside: Do you call Max "Maxi"? I had a Max cat I always called her Maxi, and I catch myself wanting to do that with your Max, too. :-D
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187 +6=213PMPS 315

Hi Shelly. Yes. I do call him Maxie much of the time he used to cine when I called him but not any more and his hearing is just fine. I love the name Jersey by the way.

It's true I hate the bounce BUT I really do need some sleep so I won't be too upset. After last night if he comes down too much I will feel the need to test constantly.

Thanks for the info Wendy.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187 +6=213PMPS 315

Looks like you might get some sleep tonight Elise. All of this bouncing is enough to give one a giant headache..

For what it's worth, I think you managed Max's low numbers better than I did Rocky's low numbers last night. Looking back, I wish that I had not fed Rocky so much food. Some food? Definitely yes. I just think I overfed him is all.
 
Re: 4/6Max AMPS140Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187 +6=213PMPS 315

Tina, there definitely is a big learning curve with diabetes. Cats just aren't predictable. I analyze Max's ss and try to predict but I am wrong more than right. There seems to be an amount of luck with catching them before they drop too low or too fast. Try not to let it get you down. I know it is easier said than done and I'm not as good at it as I would like to be. You are not in this alone. Lack of sleep brings our emotions to the surface. I think we both will benefit with some sleep tonight. You ARE doing a good job with Rocky and he is lucky to have you.
 
Re: 4/6Max Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213P MP 315+2.5=316

With a +2.5 of 315 to you think it is safe to call it a night and not test any more?
 
Re: 4/6Max Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213PMPS 315+2.5=316

I'd test again before going to bed, but I think you are probably safe for the night. :-D Sleep well.
 
Re: 4/6Max Reduce+1=179+2=193+4=187+6=213PMPS 315+2.5=316

When Neko was on Lantus, I'd often do a +4 and hit the pillow after that. If she was still yellow then I knew I could safely sleep through the night. From what I see on Max's SS, if he's going low after a pink PS, you'd have a good idea by +4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top