4/622 Admin Levemir advice please AMPS 355, +3 291, +4.5 284

Have I found the onset by +4.5 or do I keep testing each hour?
Is it too early with use of Levemir [3rd shot] to find onset and nadir?
 
Considering her numbers are so high and flattish, it might be difficult to establish onset and nadir. 284 and 295 are within meter variance of 355. Why not take a break till PMPS and see what the PM cycle has in store?
 
You are only on your second day of lev so I think establishing when to test is going to be trial and error. Lev onsets later for most cats but of course there are exceptions. By +3—4 it should onset. Nadir can be at any point, even at pmps. I hope this helps.
 
Considering her numbers are so high and flattish, it might be difficult to establish onset and nadir. 284 and 295 are within meter variance of 355. Why not take a break till PMPS and see what the PM cycle has in store?
+6 is 248
Will let it rest for now. You are kind and I am anxious.
 
You are only on your second day of lev so I think establishing when to test is going to be trial and error. Lev onsets later for most cats but of course there are exceptions. By +3—4 it should onset. Nadir can be at any point, even at pmps. I hope this helps.
Levemir is definitely different. On LANTUS Cali consistently onset at +2 and had dived 80-130 points from AMPS regardless of dose.
My Cali must be an exception since she has been been flat all morning. Patience Carla. I haven’t seen a green since March 15 and I don’t want to repeat my past missteps. Happy for this do over and chance to do it right. I probably should go weed whack and let my girl and you ladies rest for a while. Thanks
 
Sorry I didn't respond yesterday. Besides not getting the tag, I was spending time in the local ER with my mother. She's fine, but I didn't get home until almost midnight.

Anyway, normally we switch from Lantus to Levemir at 70% of the Lantus dose, in case kitty has a strong reaction. You didn't see that, so it worked out OK. I would hold this dose at least six cycles, unless she goes low.

To answer some of yesterday's questions, Levemir onset averages +4, but I've seen from +3 to +5. Nadir is typically +8, but I've seen it quite a bit later too, even at or after preshot. You'll have to be comfy with shooting low. Good luck with the switch.

One last thing, you don't need an admin to answer your questions on Lev, just anyone familiar with it.
 
Sorry I didn't respond yesterday. Besides not getting the tag, I was spending time in the local ER with my mother. She's fine, but I didn't get home until almost midnight.

Anyway, normally we switch from Lantus to Levemir at 70% of the Lantus dose, in case kitty has a strong reaction. You didn't see that, so it worked out OK. I would hold this dose at least six cycles, unless she goes low.

To answer some of yesterday's questions, Levemir onset averages +4, but I've seen from +3 to +5. Nadir is typically +8, but I've seen it quite a bit later too, even at or after preshot. You'll have to be comfy with shooting low. Good luck with the switch.

One last thing, you don't need an admin to answer your questions on Lev, just anyone familiar with it.
Good evening Wendy,
Hope your mom is doing OK today. Stressful times so top priority.
I did get excellent support from Bhooma and Elise, bit of hand holding and post/thread technical support. We did start at 1 unit on 4/5/22 but both ladies felt more insulin was needed and I concurred. So far, so good. This insulin is smoother and we floated all day today, but never cracked blue. Maybe tonight.
I will hold dose 6 cycles [unless too low].
Suggestions on test times tonight?
Thanks ladies
 
I would start with a +3 and see where that leads you...if flat then probably a +5. If showing a drop, will depend on how big of a drop
 
You might want to save the late night testing for when the depot builds and she starts seeing better numbers. Enjoy the nights off when you can! :-)
 
Good evening Bhooma OR now good morning
Just saw your message. Boy are we flat… +3.25 is 255, + 5.5 is 258. But I do like that we are not diving and spiking.
I will make new post later this morning at AMPS.
Thanks for having our backs.
 
Back
Top