? 4/6 Silver AMPS 212 PMPS 248 BACK FROM VET PLEASE SOMEONE HELP INTERPRET RESULTS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Vet also said that something must be stopping him using the insulin I am giving him if he is at 4.25u twice a day and still seeing numbers that I am seeing. I don't agree given what other spreadsheets show on here - thoughts anyone? @LuanneP didnt you see similar numbers with Merry and went up to 5u before he came down. I need to go to bed. Will check online again in a few hours.
 
It's hard to read some of those numbers, but I'm also not one of the lab experts on here. White blood cells are low, that could be infection of some sort, teeth maybe? Did they do a urinalysis too? UTIs are rather common for diabetic cats since glucose in the urine is a perfect breeding ground for bacteria. What did the vet say about the ketones? I don't have any first hand experience with that, so I don't know if that's a small or large amount, the fluids are likely to help flush those. With ketones present, you want to make sure he is eating (anything, even if higher carbs), you want to make sure he's getting enough insulin and fluids. Do you have ketostix or urine ketone strips at home so you can monitor that? If you can't catch his pee, you could get a blood ketone meter, they are pricey though. I would be on top of regularly monitoring for ketones form here on out since you know he has had them before (now).

No, you don't have to refrigerate the fluids, I think some people do, I didn't. It is good for about 10 days once you start using it. 200 mL is a lot of fluids, I'm guessing to help flush the ketones, but if it were my cat, I would split that up and do 100mL twice a day rather than 200mL at once. It can be too much for their heart, not to freak you out, when they need fluids, they need fluids, but splitting it up I think is a better idea.

I'm sorry, Juliet. I'm glad it's the weekend and you can be home with him, hope he perks up soon. :bighug:
 
Adding, it sounds like the vet suggesting you bring back in to check him if he's still lethargic means ketones/potential DKA. Hopefully you can avoid that happening by monitoring ketones at home and making sure he has enough food, insulin and fluids. I would put something in your title tomorrow about ketones and see what others have to offer with experience there.
 
Would DCIN help? So scared.

I would think so Juliet. It is called Diabetic Cats in Need. I think you need to make an application somehow.

Phil got a refund on a mud run he cannot now take part in this weekend. I managed to get a refund. I will donate with love and care to you and Silver even though it will just be a part of the $$.

Get some sleep if you can. I knows you need that sleep for your wellbeing and health.

Calling lovely experts. Juliet and Silver need you guys .

@Marje and Gracie
@Jill & Alex (GA)

for starters
 
Ok I saw emergency vet do I only bring back in if emergency.

He's not eating at all after vet visit but he did eat half a can of FF with his shot.

Vet said ketones were moderate.

I can't afford blood ketone meter. I just spent my rent money on tonight's vet visit. My rent cheque is going to bounce on Monday.

I can't catch his pee. I have two cats who never use the litter tray when I am home. Vet said those sticks not reliable.

Vet not giving fluids to flush the mild/moderate ketones. He is severely dehydrated. Must give fluids as vet directed. Daren't do otherwise

He was eating normally and acting normally yesterday so I don't know why so fast.
 
I would think so Juliet. It is called Diabetic Cats in Need. I think you need to make an application somehow.

Phil got a refund on a mud run he cannot now take part in this weekend. I managed to get a refund. I will donate with love and care to you and Silver even though it will just be a part of the $$.

Get some sleep if you can. I knows you need that sleep for your wellbeing and health.

Calling lovely experts. Juliet and Silver need you guys .

@Marje and Gracie
@Jill & Alex (GA)

for starters
I did do an application and I qualified. They paid for strips for me twice. This is a bigger need though. I don't think I'll be sleeping. I'm scared in case he might not make it.

Not really thinking straight now.
 
I did do an application and I qualified. They paid for strips for me twice. This is a bigger need though. I don't think I'll be sleeping. I'm scared in case he might not make it.
Not really thinking straight now.

I know Juliet. I can feel it. I wish I was there.
DCIN will help I am sure and I will donate what I can to help ease the $.

The fluid thing has not long happened and you have more to do. Silver may settle .

You need your sleep though Juliet to help with thinking, otherwise your head will be mush. Silver also needs the calm of the night as sleep is also healing.
 
I know Juliet. I can feel it. I wish I was there.
DCIN will help I am sure and I will donate what I can to help ease the $.

The fluid thing has not long happened and you have more to do. Silver may settle .

You need your sleep though Juliet to help with thinking, otherwise your head will be mush. Silver also needs the calm of the night as sleep is also healing.
You are so kind. You all are.

I have to be up to give him his shot in four and a half hours. Should I give it to him if he's not eating? His numbers are high enough that I think he'll be safe?
 
Ok I saw emergency vet do I only bring back in if emergency.

He's not eating at all after vet visit but he did eat half a can of FF with his shot.

Vet said ketones were moderate.

I can't afford blood ketone meter. I just spent my rent money on tonight's vet visit. My rent cheque is going to bounce on Monday.

I can't catch his pee. I have two cats who never use the litter tray when I am home. Vet said those sticks not reliable.

Vet not giving fluids to flush the mild/moderate ketones. He is severely dehydrated. Must give fluids as vet directed. Daren't do otherwise

He was eating normally and acting normally yesterday so I don't know why so fast.

I would try to encourage him to eat if you can, even if it's higher carb food. I think moderate ketones is significant that you should do what you can to get them down. The strips are accurate in that they will tell you if ketones are present, they are inaccurate in that it is telling you after the fact as that urine ketones could be from an hour or more ago and thus the ketone measurement is not reflective of what is happening right now. A blood ketone meter would be real time, obviously.

By all means, give fluids as directed, I'm just sharing my experience with you, Asia was on fluids.

Ketones and DKA can happen fast. They can seem fine one minute and some hours later be in trouble.

You do not want to skip insulin if you can at all help it. The recipe for DKA is not enough insulin, infection and not eating. Get food in to him any way you can so you can give him insulin.

There lots of people with DKA and ketone experience on this board, they can help. :bighug:
 
I would try to encourage him to eat if you can, even if it's higher carb food. I think moderate ketones is significant that you should do what you can to get them down. The strips are accurate in that they will tell you if ketones are present, they are inaccurate in that it is telling you after the fact as that urine ketones could be from an hour or more ago and thus the ketone measurement is not reflective of what is happening right now. A blood ketone meter would be real time, obviously.

By all means, give fluids as directed, I'm just sharing my experience with you, Asia was on fluids.

Ketones and DKA can happen fast. They can seem fine one minute and some hours later be in trouble.

You do not want to skip insulin if you can at all help it. The recipe for DKA is not enough insulin, infection and not eating. Get food in to him any way you can so you can give him insulin.

There lots of people with DKA and ketone experience on this board, they can help. :bighug:
Thanks. I'll try food again tomorrow. I tried temptations treats even but not interested. But that was after vet visit. I've gone to bed now and will try again tomorrow.
 
6pm NZ time


I'm not kind. I loves you and Silver as if you were my good neighbour.

This is my understanding. Feed Silver anything you can that he will eat. Add water a bit if he will take that. it may be that a bit of something mushy might work. Or just little bits from your own fingers. You still give him his shot at the right time.

For you it is difficult to get out and get the ketone wee test strips . Even then Silver is like Tyler. He would rather sew up his own bum rather than you catch a bit of wee on a strip. Far too undignified.

You have 4 days of the fluid thing. Hydration can only help . Is that right @Stacy & Asia ?
Dehydration makes anyone feel dreadful and nauseous. I do know that from experience. Been there with that.

Most important thing Missus Juliet in Canada is that you breath. Go outside for a minute if it isn't icicles where you are and breath. Think of something calming or say a prayer of calm . Kick a dustbin. Whatever gives the moment. I sing in my head. It stops the brain from overloading - for real.

 
What I've heard is that any ketones over a trace should be managed by the vet. Moderate is above trace. The b/w might show possible infection. Depending how bad his teeth are, it could be from that too.

Here is a post on Ketones and DKA. It's from the Health Links forum, which also has a post on giving subq fluids, with a video that might help. You want to try to get as many calories into him so that you can continue to give his insulin. Hydration is good. From the post on DKA:
The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses

Sending healing vines. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Juliet. I know you went to bed, but wanted to stop by to say how sorry I am that Silver is not well. I can't add much to what the others have said.

Here's a little reminder list:

  • Feed him whatever he'll eat even if it's higher carb food. Getting calories into him trumps the diabetes at this point. If you need to, syringe feed him: Assisted Feeding (Video and Tips). You want to shoot for about 1.5 times the amount he normally eats.
  • Syringe water, as much as he'll take.
  • You don't want to skip shots. If his PS number is low, ask for help. Someone will walk you through it.
  • Ketostix - cheaper than a ketone meter and they'll give you the information you'll need. You've said your place is small. That'll make it easier to watch for when he pees.
Try to keep as calm as you possibly can around Silver because he'll pick up on your upset. I know that part's hard, but we do what we gotta do for these little guys.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks everyone. Had about 3 hrs sleep. Now about to get up for his shot. Praying he will eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top