4/6 Rosa AMPS 109 +2 71 +3 88 +10 91 PMPS 111 +2 86 +4 70 +5 78 +6 84 +7.25 65

Status
Not open for further replies.
It is - and I'm loving that she's dropped right back into green for her +2. She's looking really good the last few days - I'm loving seeing more green and less blue on her ss at the moment! :D
 
Looks like she's going to surf again today! :D Which is good as I agreed to do a couple of weeks more work on reduced hours to help out while they train someone else so I can monitor her through to +3 in the morning and be home for +10. I was a little concerned she'd have dropped further from her +2, but it appears she's settling in for a nice green surf! :D :D
 
So am I! :D I still don't like leaving when she's in green numbers, but I didn't want to leave the job completely while they were going to struggle to get their new hire trained so it was the best compromise we could come up with. And I reckon by +3 I'd know if she was heading for 50 and I can carb her if necessary. It's only for this week and maybe part of next week and it's a lot better than it was when I had to be out the door at +1.

She does seem to be doing well at the moment - she's been trending just a touch downwards most cycles so I'm thinking she's working her way gradually towards her last reduction - that would make life a whole lot easier!!
 
OK, I've got a question for all you knowledgeable people out there. We're out of town for most of the weekend of 24th-28th. I currently have Rosa booked in for medical boarding with one of the local vet offices. I'm trying to decide whether to go ahead with boarding her or whether to let her stay home and skip some shots.

She gets incredibly stressed at the vet and I think her numbers will go way up. In addition, she'd only be able to have her AM shots as they leave for the night around her PM +3 and there's no-one back in until her AMPS time.

If I leave her home, she'd get a shot on the Friday morning, skip Friday night and both Saturday shots. She'd get a shot Sunday morning but she'd then skip Sunday PM and Monday AM. But she'd be home with her own food and surroundings and be less stressed out.

I'm leaning towards leaving her home (our housemate will feed - and only the wet food she's allowed but can't test or shoot) but would appreciate other opinions on this one as there are good and bad points to both.
 
She's on the smallest possible dose and that's 18 days away. If she stays in normal numbers for 7 days on this dose you can try a reduction. I think I'd plan to leave her at home and keep my fingers crossed that she'll be on an otj trial by then.

Even if she isn't, I think I'd feel more comfortable with skipping her insulin than having her boarded. Just me.
 
Thank you Julie. :) That was pretty much my thinking too - I'd love for her to be on a trial by then, but I have to assume she won't quite make it by then and decide based on that to avoid a panic at the last minute. Aside from the concerns that I have that any boarding vet might mess up her dose and give 0.5 rather than 0.05 as they have a few animal carers there on the medical side (and that really does worry me - I hate to think what a dose of 0.5 would do to her right now :eek:), I think the stress might do more harm to her numbers than the skipped shots. I just like to have confirmation from someone with more experience that I'm not making a heart decision based on knowing she'll be miserable at the vet instead of a head decision based on what will do her the least harm.

I'll cancel her boarding tomorrow when they open - they're very good about anything like this being cancelled as long as we give them a few days' notice. :D
 
I'd like to throw out another couple of options for your consideration since you have 18 days before you leave:
  • Teach someone to come in to give shots
  • Since the 0.05 dose hasn't been enough to keep Rosa under 120 consistently, increase the dose to 0.1u in hopes the increase will put her in position to start a trial before you leave
What do you think?
 
Those are certainly interesting options and I'd definitely consider the first one for a longer trip but as there are 2 working days in there, the only person who might be able to come in has to be at work from her AMPS + 30 minutes (and she works an hour away from here) and wouldn't get here until late for her PM shot. If it was a longer trip and I could get Rosa used to the cats at my friend's house, I'd take Rosa to stay there - that might be what we have to do when we go to visit my family in the UK later in the year.

I don't think increasing to 0.1u is an option for her at the moment - now I can consistently give her the shots twice a day, she's getting more and more consistently into green numbers and has only had two readings over 120 (and not over by all that much either since one was kid stress affected - those kids are loud :p) since her depot got back on track (I'm reckoning that as 3 shots in from the last skip as she'd have had a partial depot from the once a day dosing). Plus the last time I gave her 0.1u right after her failed OTJ trial, it dropped her from 129 to 53 in 2 hours and she had hardly any depot left at that point. I spent 4 hours giving her carbs every 30 minutes to keep her numbers up that night. I think she'd do the exact same thing again but still maybe not be able to hold onto the trial. The reason she's on the 0.05 at all is because the 0.1 was too much for her, but she didn't make the trial - it's the best I can do for her given that she's clearly decided to be as awkward as she can about that last tiny drop of insulin!!

I keep hoping she might make it to a trial by then as her numbers since Friday (the first day I was able to give her 2 shots since the previous weekend) look to be trending slowly downwards overall (anti-jinx) but at the same time I'm assuming she'll still be hovering in the 60s or 70s at nadir by then to be on the safe side.
 
The reason she's on the 0.05 at all is because the 0.1 was too much for her, but she didn't make the trial - it's the best I can do for her given that she's clearly decided to be as awkward as she can about that last tiny drop of insulin!!
Thanks for the detailed reply. I'm not seeing the 0.1u dose as too much, but you hold the syringe.
She's so close... in the home stretch.
Good luck!
 
Thank you :) And I agree, there was some debate about the 0.1u dose for her but the 0.05 seems to be suiting her really well most of the time now I can be more consistent with her shots again too - it's a tricky one to call. I'm also reluctant to change things up too much right now because most of her numbers have been so, so good the last few days apart from the one day she was sick. If I was to try the 0.1u again, it would have to wait until the weekend when I can be here for her the whole cycle in case she did decide to dive on me, but it's something I'll keep in mind if her numbers don't keep heading in the right direction. Your input is definitely much appreciated and does give me some new options to think about. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top