4/6 MAX AMPS Failed Reduction? 176+2/103+3/60+4/47+4.75/47+6.5/70+8/86PMPS 175+5/125

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...19-5-137-6-101-pmps-101-2-5-122-5-141.135716/

Max woke up a little early for amps and even got up on the bed to try to get me up. He went on one side of me and then the other and I pretended to be asleep so he got off the bed. Meowed a few minutes later. I'm calling this is failed reduction and I went back up to the F2.0. I hope it's enough to jump start him back to green. I would have held out but last night he actually went up a little or maybe not with meter variance. Hopefully it will just be a short time before he tries the reduction again.

Prayers and vines to all beans and kitties in need. I pray Amy's DF gets good news this week.
 
Interesting! It looks like you were doing 3 under 50 at that dose. Honestly, I would have said the same thing that it was a failed reduction, but then you get the 47 on the first dose back. Hope someone can shed some light on this for you.
 
Interesting! It looks like you were doing 3 under 50 at that dose. Honestly, I would have said the same thing that it was a failed reduction, but then you get the 47 on the first dose back. Hope someone can shed some light on this for you.

Thanks, Tina.I am doing 3 under 50 which happened. Then he bounced big time. I thought the bounce had cleared and he wasn't coming back down so I increased this morning. Maybe I should have held out until tonight but it seemed a long time without green and I was hoping that if he dropped it would be during the day and not the night. That part I got right. I don't like him surfing the 40's. I just gave him some more 9% with a few drops of karo this time.
 
I am still a bit perplexed, about the 40's surf today. 47 isn't that low. Maybe some higher carb would have been better. I just don't know. I never had any luck with karo syrup before so maybe that was fine too. I guess if it were me I would go back to the previously reduced dose and wait a bit longer. I too probably would have increased after the numbers you have seen the last few days, and like I always say you never know unless you try. Hopefully Max will level out a bit and show you some greens that are not quiet that low.
 
Cats do like to confuse us don't they. :rolleyes: Max is usually faster at clearing his bounces after getting a reduction so I can see why you went up.
'm calling this is failed reduction and I went back up to the F2.0. I hope it's enough to jump start him back to green. I would have held out but last night he actually went up a little or maybe not with meter variance. Hopefully it will just be a short time before he tries the reduction again.
If I'd seen the rise last night, I might have held off one more cycle before going up. Some cats like to go up before they go diving. Max did something similar on 3/6, although he doesn't usually.
 
Cats do like to confuse us don't they. :rolleyes: Max is usually faster at clearing his bounces after getting a reduction so I can see why you went up.

If I'd seen the rise last night, I might have held off one more cycle before going up. Some cats like to go up before they go diving. Max did something similar on 3/6, although he doesn't usually.

I thought about waiting one more but then I thought if I was wrong it could be a long night instead of a long day. It still might I know. Then he was 176 this morning and the rest is history. So what would you do tonight, Wendy? This might trigger another bounce but it might not hit right away. It sometimes takes a few cycles. We think a flat blue is it and then he goes higher. So what would you do tonight everyone?

Thanks for the visits Ruth, Marilyn, and Wendy.
 
I don't think there's a definite answer Elise......may just need to go with your what your gut is telling you tonight and be prepared if you hold the dose in case he goes low again.
 
I think i'd probably hold this dose still and restart my count of dipping below 50 three times before reducing.. I'd have called it a failed reduction too and gone back up - it looked like he just wasn't going to get back into green again on that dose. I'm not sure he would've either.

that's my 2 cents worth, anyway.
 
I am not going to give advice, but I think you've gotten some good stuff from the other posters. Face it, Max just thrives on keeping you on your toes. I have a feeling he won't make you wait long to try that reduction again!
 
I think i'd probably hold this dose still and restart my count of dipping below 50 three times before reducing.. I'd have called it a failed reduction too and gone back up - it looked like he just wasn't going to get back into green again on that dose. I'm not sure he would've either.

that's my 2 cents worth, anyway.

Then that's what I'll do. Thanks, Julie.

Hopefully you are right Tricia and he will let me know soon. I really, really, thought he needed this one and I hope he still does. He will likely take at least 3 cycles to bounce before he starts to consider it as too much. He sure lives up to his nickname. Truth be told I guess most of them do.
 
The only way you're really going to know if holding a dose is the right strategy is to try it. If you look at Gabby's SS, I tend to hold her doses. I could swear that her pancreas just gets tired some days and if I wait it out, her numbers come back down.
 
I hope you get some answers from Max soon on how he likes the increase. Ecid..for sure, and with Chi Chi, Ive always waited a bit longer to increase, as she usually will come back down, just takes her longer sometimes, but sometimes I end up increasing again eventually. And also, because I cant be home as much to handle the very low drops, not wanting mom to deal with it. You are really good with testing and handling the drops, so hopefully if it turns out to be too much on the increase, you will catch the lows and reduce as needed. I will be curious to see what he does..:)
 
So now we wait and see what Max decides to do next. I'm another who likes to hold doses unless there are big drops (and even then I hesitate and try to determine if there are other factors at work).

I hope all will even out.

Have a good evening, Elise,

Ella & Rusty
 
I do hold doses as long as possible and started with the 3 times under 50 before he was diabetic for a year and shaving his dose down because he is very sensitive. Awhile back when I reduced and had a few cycles without green Jill told me that she doesn't wait long to call it a failed reduction. So I guess Julie and I were in agreement and the rest of you felt I should have waited longer to call a failed reduction. It was not obvious to me what to do. It's a tiny increase and a tiny decrease, much less than most of you take.

Thanks for the advice/visits Ella, Sienne, Laura, and Tricia. I think he might alrady be starting a bounce.
 
One of the best things about this board is that you get advice and opinions from a lot of different people. It gives you a lot of ammunition to use in the fight, but only you are there with your kitty, and as Chris said, you know him best. I hope you know that no one is criticizing your decisions - just chiming in with their thoughts. You do an amazing job with Max and I know how deeply you care about getting it right. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top