4/6 Maahes AMPS 536, +6 414, PMPS 574

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erinia

Member
His numbers seem to be really high consistently. He started prozinc this week on 4/2 at 2 units 2x per day.

I increased to 2.5 units 2x daily today.

Food is low carb. Luckily he's enjoying his shot time ritual. (pulled into my lap, snuggled, pricked and tested, shot, then served a delicious feast of fancy feast).
 
Hi Erinia!

Do you have a spreadsheet set up for Maahes yet?

The numbers you posted could be a couple things happening: 1) it could be that Maahes will need a little more insulin, or 2) Maahes may need less insulin. If Maahes is dipping lower than you've caught yet, that mid-cycle number at +6 may not have been the lowest point in the cycle. Do you have any other test numbers?
 
I'm going to do a full glucose curve on him tomorrow, but his numbers are typically lowest about 4 hours after his shot, with the lowest ever being 255.

I have a spreadsheet set up, but not linked as of yet. I track the numbers on my phone until I get on my computer at night to upload.
 
If you can, I'd try to get a couple tests in after PMPS tonight, such as a +3, and go from there.

If you take a look at Merlin's SS for example https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AgQvyutxCIQrdGg4QzBtY2VVWkRnUDYzN18xdFZxX2c&output=html , take a look at the 4/3 AM cycle. Looks like a high flat cycle. On his AM cycle today, that same dose on a very similar pre-shot number dropped Merlin down to 85 on an Alphatrack, which is basically the same as a 55 on a human meter.

Bouncing can look like spikes at the pre-shots, or they can look like high flat numbers. Sometimes kitties will drop really fast early in the cycle, and then already be on the rise back up at +6.
 
Welcome Erinia and Maahes,

We haven't "met" before. Welcome to the PZI forum. We are a small but friendly group, busiest in the am and pm, Eastern Standard time. When you post, be sure to check back for replies that may not be immediate. (you can set your Control Panel to notify you when someone relies).

Ditto what Jenn said. A spreadsheet will really help us figure out what is going. Have you seen the color coded one we use and the instructions for attaching it to your signaure?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

We also have a protocol for PZI, if you haven't seen it.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

I'll be watching for your new numbers.

Is there a story behind your kitty's interesting name?
 
Hi Erinia - Welcome to the world of FD and PZI.

Ask all the questions you can think of. If we're not here, someone will get back with you soon. I learned SO MUCH from this group, and Grayson is alive today (2+ years later) thanks to people here.

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top