Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
4/5/25
Amps 171 Libre, +3 56 Libre
Off to a fast start today. Ivy began her descent pretty quickly by +2 this morning.
I heard back from the doctor late yesterday about her labs from Tuesday, the T4 went up to 7.7 so that’s the worst part, (everything else looked OK).
Pancreas seems to have healed after pancreatitis, back to same values as before.
A month ago T4 was 4.7 and then the pancreatitis hit.
He wants me to raise the methimazole to 5 mg both morning and night (I was giving 2.5 mg at night and 5 mg in the morning).
Usually within a few days her BG numbers seem to go lower when I increase her dose of Methimazole, and true to form, this morning she is showing me that is the case.
It seems as her body adjusts to higher doses of thyroid medication, her insulin needs drop drastically.
I’m so sad.
I keep hoping we can regulate her thyroid but that’s not happening to date. So very sad.
So far today I am feeding her higher medium to higher (her lamb diet) carbs to keep her coasting and not completely tanking.
Depending on how this cycle goes, I may give her a dose reduction tonight because I don’t want to chase her constantly by manipulating her cycle with constant food day and night, since I know that is all seems to effect her insulin needs.
Hope everyone has a boring and safe day
Amps 171 Libre, +3 56 Libre
Off to a fast start today. Ivy began her descent pretty quickly by +2 this morning.

I heard back from the doctor late yesterday about her labs from Tuesday, the T4 went up to 7.7 so that’s the worst part, (everything else looked OK).
Pancreas seems to have healed after pancreatitis, back to same values as before.
A month ago T4 was 4.7 and then the pancreatitis hit.
He wants me to raise the methimazole to 5 mg both morning and night (I was giving 2.5 mg at night and 5 mg in the morning).
Usually within a few days her BG numbers seem to go lower when I increase her dose of Methimazole, and true to form, this morning she is showing me that is the case.
It seems as her body adjusts to higher doses of thyroid medication, her insulin needs drop drastically.
I’m so sad.
I keep hoping we can regulate her thyroid but that’s not happening to date. So very sad.
So far today I am feeding her higher medium to higher (her lamb diet) carbs to keep her coasting and not completely tanking.
Depending on how this cycle goes, I may give her a dose reduction tonight because I don’t want to chase her constantly by manipulating her cycle with constant food day and night, since I know that is all seems to effect her insulin needs.
Hope everyone has a boring and safe day



