4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +7/194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116698

Today:
AMPS = 215
+2 = 234
+4 = 125
+5 = 74
+5.5 = 62
+6 = 59
+6.5 = 56
+7 = 57
+7.5 = 63
+8 = 62
+9 = 68
+10.75 = 106
PMPS (+11.75) = 136
+2 = 265
+4 = 228
+6 = 201
+7 = 194

We had a wonderful day yesterday full of learning new things about how Eddie responds to Lantus. I'm really pleased thus far with how he's responded. :-D Despite the bounce in the PM, Eddie had a really nice cycle in the AM.

DH woke up a little late this AM, so the shot time didn't get moved back. Ah well. Looks like Eddie cleared out those yucky pinks already! Fingers crossed that Eddie's ready for another good cycle today!
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +2/234, +4/125

I'm wondering if the +4 of 125 might be a bit of a quick drop this early in the cycle? On ProZinc, I'd likely start feeding a little LC and testing frequently to watch for a drop, but I'm not familiar with Eddie's patterns on Lantus yet. I'm think I'm going to take a wait and see approach I think and grab a +5 to see where he's at.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +5.5/62

Eddie has definitely recovered from that bounce last night. I hope the drop at +4 doesn't cause another bounce tonight.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +5.5/62

Thanks Carla!

I'm really proud of him for clearing those 300's so quickly! Looks like maybe he's back to studying like a good liver training student. :smile:

I'm guessing he may bounce from the drop and from the lowish numbers he's currently hanging in, but then again, on ProZinc, he'd sometimes surf for an extended period too. I'm feeding LC to see if he will surf rather than keep dropping...for now anyway! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

hi jen! eddie has turned out to be a fine student of Lantus! He's having a rather perfect Lantus cycle - and overall, of course, looking fantastic.

And last night's bounce cleared by today!

you must be thrilled to have this much progress so quickly!
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

Eddie is doing mama bean proud! :mrgreen: Hopefully I can keep him surfing and try out a shoot low to stay low shot for the PM.

I wouldn't mind if he surfed just a tiny bit higher, but if the 50's is where he wants to hang, so be it! Better than the 40's where he insisted in surfing last time he dipped! Thankfully, he doesn't mind ear tests at all. We use the thinnest lancets, and I always get plenty of blood. Of course, the freeze dried shrimp that come with each test also help. :smile:

I am wondering, going into the work week, to expect his shed to continue build to add to the movement on these cycles, or if it's looking like the 1.5u is going to be a good fit.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

we re-evaluate doses every 6 cycles and decide if they need to be increased or held. With him still building the depot, it's hard to say at this point.

is he alone during the weekday, or is anyone available to test? do you have a timed feeder?
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

julie & punkin (ga) said:
we re-evaluate doses every 6 cycles and decide if they need to be increased or held. With him still building the depot, it's hard to say at this point.

is he alone during the weekday, or is anyone available to test? do you have a timed feeder?

I leave for work between +2 and +2.5 after his shot. I can get away with being late once in a while. I also come home for lunch usually sometime around +6 or so (depending on work obligations), but it's pretty flexible when I can leave for lunch, and can occasionally get by with taking a longer lunch (like an hour versus half an hour). DH gets home from work at around +11 or so. I'm usually walking in the door just before PMPS time. We do have timed feeders. :smile:
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

hehe i read "we do have timed feeders" and i'm thinking "it's the Bean Timed Feeders!" :lol:

sounds like you have a fair amount of flexibility. i only have a 30 minute lunch (elementary school) but i used to zoom home, test and feed punkin, then zoom back. ate my lunch while i was driving. my husband would also go home if we needed to.

i think being able to get the +2 you'll soon figure out how to use that to predict where Eddie is likely to be by his nadir and whether or not he needs extra food left or extra testing at lunch.

If it's much lower than the preshot, you know he'll most likely need attention.

If it's about the same, then whether or not he needs it probably depends on where he is starting the day and how far he might go down before he nadirs.

If he's higher - he might have a bounce starting. although he is clearing bounces quickly, so that might not give you the time off that some cats (who might be bouncing for 3 days) give.

Eddie looks like he's going to be fairly consistent and may be easy to predict.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +5/74, +6.5/56, +7/57

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hehe i read "we do have timed feeders" and i'm thinking "it's the Bean Timed Feeders!" :lol:

sounds like you have a fair amount of flexibility. i only have a 30 minute lunch (elementary school) but i used to zoom home, test and feed punkin, then zoom back. ate my lunch while i was driving. my husband would also go home if we needed to.

i think being able to get the +2 you'll soon figure out how to use that to predict where Eddie is likely to be by his nadir and whether or not he needs extra food left or extra testing at lunch.

If it's much lower than the preshot, you know he'll most likely need attention.

If it's about the same, then whether or not he needs it probably depends on where he is starting the day and how far he might go down before he nadirs.

If he's higher - he might have a bounce starting. although he is clearing bounces quickly, so that might not give you the time off that some cats (who might be bouncing for 3 days) give.

Eddie looks like he's going to be fairly consistent and may be easy to predict.

We got the timed feeders (3 of them) when we went on a weekend away a few weeks ago, and they seemed to work like a charm, so Eddie could spend the AM in a bedroom or the cat room/computer room/man cave with a timed feeder if it looks like he's going to be a little on the active side. Since we got them, I think they were used on just one other occasion, when I knew I would be tied up with work and unable to make it home for a Bean-Timed Feeding. :smile:

It was nice to get a good night's sleep in last night with his bounce, but I'm probably the opposite of most people here....I'd rather he bounce during the day and do his diving or surfing in the PM. :-D

It sure would be a nice change of pace if Eddie became predictable! I sure hope that is the case. :smile:
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +6.5/56, +10.75/106, PMPS 13

PMPS = 136

What a great surf today, Eddie! He's coming up at the end of the cycle, but not spiking...yet.

Since he's presenting the opportunity, I'm going to go ahead and shoot. Hopefully, he won't do anything dramatic. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +6.5/56, +10.75/106, PMPS 13

Lantus Land: "shoot low to stay low!"

way to grab the opportunity, jen! Hope he surfs right along for you tonight!
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +6.5/56, +10.75/106, PMPS 13

Just tuning into the Eddie show today. Looks like he's really doing great today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: One trick about shooting low to stay low here, if it's your lowest ever PS, often we'll suggest a +1 as well as a +2 to get an idea of what the cycle might look like. Paws crossed for a nice flat cycle.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +4/125, +6.5/56, +10.75/106, PMPS 13

Thanks Julie and Wendy!

+2 = 265

Mini-boing? Better than the 300's like last night. Hopefully he'll come back down or only bounce in the yellows tonight. Great AM cycle for sure, though. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

Hi Jen (that's right, isn't it?),

I just wanted to stop by and welcome you to Lantus Land! Those were some really pretty green cycles the past couple of days. I hope Eddie clears this bounce just as quickly as the previous ones.

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

Thanks Shelly!

Yep! It's Jen. :smile: I picked a user name "bunni9" before I realized I'd be a regular. ;-) In hindsight it's one of the dumber user names I could have chosen. :lol:

Jersey's been keeping you on your toes! :shock: :mrgreen:

I'm really happy with Eddie's response to Lantus so far and feel good about the switch from ProZinc. :-D He's really surprised me by how well he's doing already.

*Edit* derp: the switch FROM ProZinc not TO ProZinc.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

you can change your user name - go to the User Control Panel and it's somewhere there. I changed mine when i realized everyone was "bean & cat" like "Jen & Eddie."
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

julie & punkin (ga) said:
you can change your user name - go to the User Control Panel and it's somewhere there. I changed mine when i realized everyone was "bean & cat" like "Jen & Eddie."

Thank you!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

just make sure you know where the spaces are/aren't and caps, etc., because when you go to sign in it has to match exactly.
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

Just popping in to say hi and see how Mr. Eduardo Shrimpy is doing today!! Looks like he likes :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

i hope this bounce is similarly short lived.

Love the new "Jen&Eddie" moniker :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Eddie AMPS 215, +6.5/56, PMPS 136, +2/265

+4 = 228

Thanks Marje! How nice to see you! Gracie sure has been keeping you busy! :mrgreen:

I think these greens are looking very nice on Stompy McShrimpster. :mrgreen:

It looks like he might actually clear the bounce yet tonight! :smile:

I'm so glad Julie pointed out that I could change my user name. Jen&Eddie is way better than "bunni9". :lol: Hopefully my old PZI buddies can still find me if they need me. :smile: I thought I was stuck with that user name. I set it up to make my very first post here, which was something along the lines of "why is my cat's BG going higher and higher even though his dose is going up!!??," before I realized that most beans use their name and their kitty's name as their user name.
 
PM +7 = 194

I stayed up just to see if I could get a blue number on Eddie's SS. :-D
It looks like he's going to clear off this bounce and be lower in the AM. Maybe? Hopefully? :smile: I plan to drag out of bed around +11 to see where he's at. When a cat's clearing a bounce, and possibly pushing out the nadir a little later due to the bounce, I'm assuming you'd want to make sure the AMPS number is rising if it's in the greens or low blues in the AM?
 
WOOT! Great to see blue again. :-D Until you have more data on Eddie on Lantus, I'd wait until you have a rising or surfing number at PS if you are green or low blue. I used to often shoot a dropping number at PS, because that's what Neko loved to do in the evenings on Lantus. But that's after I worked my way down shooting dropping numbers on higher blues first.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
WOOT! Great to see blue again. :-D Until you have more data on Eddie on Lantus, I'd wait until you have a rising or surfing number at PS if you are green or low blue. I used to often shoot a dropping number at PS, because that's what Neko loved to do in the evenings on Lantus. But that's after I worked my way down shooting dropping numbers on higher blues first.

Thanks Wendy!

The +11 that will be coming up here all too soon should help figure out what's happening at AMPS. :smile:

Goodnight and sweet :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: green dreams!

Thank you all again for your wonderful assistance today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top