4/6 Ducia PMPS 168, 1.25U, +2 215, +4 206 , +8 347, +10.5 376 Is it bouncing or something worse?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Good morning,

Today Ducia is in her 4th cycle on the increased dose of 1.25U Lantus. I took her down to 1U after she was 40 on March 30th.

I thought she was doing well on this dose until this PM cycle.

Is it bouncing or is it something more serious?

I am at the exhaustion point where I barely understand what I read and cannot figure out this myself. Why isn't she responding as she did yesterday?

Any thoughts are very appreciated.

Wishing you and your kitties wonderful day at the lagoon!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It looks like Ducia had a couple of active cycles and this cycle is not (could be a bounce of sorts). Perfectly normal. Look at Gizmo's SS (link in my signature line) and look at some other SS's that are at getting similar numbers. You will see similar activity in other cats. It is good to pay attention to these as it will tell you (in time and more data) when you will need to monitor more or less.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/


Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.
 
Thank yo so much for posting! I think for now it means I should get some time sleeping :).
An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10.
I had to take a look at my insulin vile to make sure it was Lantus:rolleyes:. It was Lantus.
But Ducia's responses were often a lot like Levemir cycle. :confused:

Wishing you and Gizmo very nice green day. :bighug:
 
It seems, sadly, that Ducia if falling back to her old habit of having Blue days and Yellow/Pink nights.

How frustrating that is! :arghh::mad::arghh::mad:

On the positive note though her behavior/acting is the same as if she is in Blue number and in the morning hours- right after +3 she was busy patrolling / cheek marking the territory, reminding toy mouse who is boss, checking on another bean, being playful and so on.

Last two cycles were really good BG-wise...What is it again with her? Any thoughts?
 
:confused: I really don't understand why the numbers do keep getting up. It is getting later in her PM cycle but for the past two cycles she was much lower at the time.

The blood work done 5 days ago shown no sign of infection; appy and litter box visits are normal and today she's been fed lower LC than usual.

A while ago, when in high 300s, Ducia used to sleep a lot. Not today. Now is her normal PS sleeping time but she is up, alert and energetic:confused:. She made some extra visits to the kitchen so I gather she wouldn't mind eating a little more.

Let's talk about "Know thy cat" again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top