4/6 Cleo PMPS 201

It's a good question

So, there's a few main things I look for when trying to identify a bounce:
  • A fast drop and/or a number in a range the cat isn't used to and/or extended time in numbers the cat isn't used to. Sometimes they can hang out awhile before the liver goes "oh snap"
  • A much higher than usual preshot...for Cleo it looks to be above 350-ish is a bounce. Alternatively, a very rapid rise from said low numbers/fast drop
Your best bet is to wait for a yellow preshot, those are the cycles she tells you what the dose can actually do - and therefore what is safe.

Since she's pretty consistently seeing blue, you will want to hold closer to the 6 cycles so you don't accidentally get ahead of her.

This morning was a little curious to me, but I suspect the answer is in yesterday's AM cycle...extended time in blue/possibly lower blue and she started a bounce. Shot time landed conveniently to tamp the bounce down, but lost duration.

Her bounces aren't really lasting 6 cycles, they usually don't on ProZinc just because of the way it works. Hers seem to affect 2-3 cycles at most
 
That is a great explanation! You have my permission to put Cleo in your "Feline Diabetes Case Studies - Things Your Vet should know" book (patent pending) ;)

FYI the 4/10 AMPS was high bc of feeding schedule/stress. She usually sleeps with us at night but we kicked her out of the bedroom because of some bad behavior and then she didn't get her +10 snack (4am). She needs the +10 to coast until ps/meal time but without it she skyrockets.

I'm going to hold this dose for a little while longer.Thanks again Professor!
 
Back
Top