4/6 Charlie AMPS 386

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Kristina,

Just want to add, I see you have foregone the mid cycle tests. Might not be such a good idea. Cats can drop several hundred points in between shots or run completely flat, not dropping at all and you really need to know these things. Not saying you need to test every couple hrs, I personally don't feel that's necessary unless they are running low, but that's just MHO.

But if you could get just 1 or 2 occasionally, about midway, it would be helpful to determine his needed dose. Doses are based on nadir and mid cycle tests, not on pre shot values. He could be dropping well and just need a little more time on the dose or he could be not dropping at all and need more than a .25 increase. Do you see what I'm saying? Either way, it can't be determined without some mid cycle testing to go on and we want your kitty doing as well as possible. Please consider adding a test or 2 along the cycle, it will help your baby in the long run.

Any thoughts from others on this please?

Big hugz! :YMHUG:
 
Oh. And I forgot to say that I think I gave him a little bit of a fur shot today...I could smell a little insulin. I'm guessing this is why he is already at a 355... Mom fail. I hear what you say about the BG checks in between shots. I want too worried because of what the numbers were the first 2 days. I'll for sure check more often when I start the .75 Monday.
 
Kristina & Charlie :) said:
Oh. And I forgot to say that I think I gave him a little bit of a fur shot today...I could smell a little insulin. I'm guessing this is why he is already at a 355... Mom fail. I hear what you say about the BG checks in between shots. I want too worried because of what the numbers were the first 2 days. I'll for sure check more often when I start the .75 Monday.


What Deb says is right. Its not just about whether or not the nadir is dangerously low - that number is a major part of the decision about dose changes...even if you aren't using tight regulation. http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm. So especially when you are considering an increase - its good to try to get a nadir or two and let that help guide you.

Oh and I'll occasionally find a drop of insulin left on the needle after the shot.....so you might just be smelling the residue rather than a fur shot...fingers crossed for you.
 
Ok sounds good. I'll be around tomorrow all day to get a few mid cycle numbers. I don't mind doing it. I just still feel kinda bad for Charlie and don't want to hurt him. ****i know they don't hurt him it's just me getting used to it***
Thanks for the feedback ladies. Stay tuned till tomorrow when we see more #s on the SS!!!
cat_pet_icon :thumbup
 
I know it feels like you are hurting them when you test but think of it this way, both Maxwell and Autumn were adopted by me as diabetics so they didn't know me from Eve when I started testing them, so if I was really hurting them when I tested they should not want to have a thing to do with the strange crazy lady that is poking them in the ears and sticking them with needles all the time....right? Yeah Maxwell, yells at me to come to bed at night so he can sleep on my pillow, cuddles on my lap during the day and runs his motor if I even look at him, and Autumn doesn't even want her breakfast in the morning until she gets to give kisses and head butts. Autumn still isn't much of a lap cat but then again she is a retired barn cat so she may never be much of a cuddler.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top