4/6 Billy +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4.5 5 +5.25 74

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

you might lose a bit of momentum by reducing the dose to 1.5u, but i prefer to err on the side of caution. "if" any progress is lost (and he might not lose any progress), you'll make it up in no time. i think shooting 1.5u starting thursday morning is a good idea.

when someone else is shooting for you, it's always a good idea to make up a sample syringe filled with a colored liquid (juice, milk, etc). tell your friend to compare the syringe they've drawn up with insulin to your sample syringe to make sure billy will be given the proper amount of insulin. this precaution may not seem necessary, but i can't tell you how many times pet sitters unintentionally OD cats. it's worth taking a few minutes to prepare in advance.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4

So 1.5 in the morning and 1.5 in the evening? It sure will be nice to stop stressing after the night we're having. And yes, thanks for the tip. Sienne mentioned that earlier before too - I would have never thought of that. Such a great idea.

43 @ +4. This is getting rough. Do I feed him again?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4

yes, feed a couple of teaspoons with a half teaspoon of karo mixed in it.
retest in 20 minutes, please.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4

Thank you!

I see what you meant, now -- Tonight, I couldn't be happier that Billy enjoys eating so much.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4

yes, controlling the curve is much easier with a cat who likes to eat.
when you get back, make sure to pick up some high carb foods from janet & binky's list. if they aren't available in your area, post for suggestions. you're in canada, right? i'm not sure what's available there.

to answer your question about dose...
yes, shoot 1.5u in the morning and again tomorrow evening.
if for some reason billy gives you a low ps number in the morning and you're not comfortable shooting & leaving... post for advice BEFORE you shoot. like i said before, we always want to err on the side of caution... even if it means skipping a shot every once in awhile. billy's safety is our number one priority!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4

Just want to offer support and say you're doing a great job! Looks like Billy is another 40s surfer!!!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

Yes, food for Billy is in the priorities. I think a part of the chart mentions Canadian cans, so that will be helpful.

I sure will play it safe tomorrow. And thanks for the encouragement, Marjorie!

+4.5 and Billy is finally at 58! \o/
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

niiiiiiiiiiiiice! love that 58!
now, you want to keep him there... or a little higher is ok, too. i'm sure you'd like to get some sleep tonight!
seeing as though this number is influenced by karo and the fact that it's very late, i would be inclined to give him a small amount of food laced with a little karo again. he really has nothing to prove. he's already earned his reduction.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

Congrats on the dosecrease!!!!

Jill...awesome of you to stay up so late; I should have tuned in earlier and I could have helped him...still early here. HOpe you get some rest.

Ni Ni to both....also hope you get some sleep Manouk!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

I couldn't thank you enough. <3

1/2 a teaspoon of Friskies with a drop of karo? Or 1 teaspoon of friskies with a couple of drops? Then I test in 20 minutes and if he's okay I go to sleep and test 1 hour later?

ETA : Marjorie : Is "him" referring to Billy or myself? Because I am a girl. The name does get confusing, though. :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

one teaspoon of food with a half teaspoon of karo.
let's see what the next number is in 20 minutes...
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

wow, you've had an evening! good job on managing Billy all evening - and how awesome Jill, for all your help. FDMB people are awesome.

manouk, i wanted to say how incredibly beautiful those cats & photos are. really stunningly beautiful.

btw, i understand cats respond differently to the Rescue Remedy drops. I tried the "put on paws and cheeks" with punkin and had no response. He was completely unphased and full of yowls in the car. When we had to evacuate for the tsunami i didn't want to mess with it and i gave him 4 drops in his food - still no change in response. I asked at the pet store yesterday because he's going to the beach with me again tomorrow and the staffer said she gives an entire dropper full twice a day to one of her high-strung cats that she's trying to get accustomed to other pets. i'm trying it tomorrow, so can't speak to that personally, but she felt it was safe.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

He came running when he smelled the food. You sure have to admire his enthusiasm.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

i have to test alex and feed the crew, but i'll be right back...
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

@ Julie : I didn't even know such drops existed. Are they the same than what is given to dogs that get sick in the car? Or am I mixing two different things? I'll check around online and try to get my hands on some. Be sure to tell us how it goes with Punkin!

FDMB people are amazing, that's for sure.

Jill, what time is it where you live? I'm just being nosey, here.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

I was hoping for a little more difference between our time zones. Thank you so much for helping me out tonight!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4

no problem. i'm not doing anything more than someone else did for me when we started this journey.
just paying the kindness forward...
 
It's highly appreciated. :smile:

We got a 74! So what now? Off to sleep and I'll test in an hour, giving teaspoons of food and karo as needed?
 
Manouk & Billy said:
It's highly appreciated. :smile:

We got a 74! So what now? Off to sleep and I'll test in an hour, giving teaspoons of food and karo as needed?
yes, i think it's fine to sleep for an hour. if the number continues to rise i would feed and get whatever sleep you can.
if he's dropping you'll want to repeat food, karo, and testing. you know the drill. :-D

whenever you go to bed "for good", leave some food out for him to nibble on.

you've done a great job tonight!!!

i'm going to bed now. if you need help and no one appears to be in this group, cross-post on Health. someone is usually around.
 
Thank you so much! We'll be just fine.

Someone is already waiting for me on the sleeping bag I put on the couch for tonight : I can't say no to that! :lol:
4_6_11_by_karelliann-d3denev.jpg


Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top