4/6 Bagheera AMPS 279 PMPS 282 +3 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
My human gave me 3.5 units this morning. It has now been four days and he wants to bump up the dosing again.

Also, the soft stool is back so now he's concerned.

Edited to add: And as of the evening, the soft stool was gone.

Prior conversation
 
Re: 4/6 Bagheera AMPS 279, Increase dose?

this is looking much better!

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I would increase by 0.25 units. Bagheera is not bouncing as much now, so you just want to try to nudge the numbers down a little bit without starting him bouncing again. Smaller increases can help make that happen.

Once they start getting under 200, then I usually recommend waiting at least 5 days between increases so we can be sure we have seen the full effect of that dose before moving on to the next dose.
 
Just checking in to see how things are going. The inconsistently soft stool is sounding more like his body is getting used to the wet foods than anything else, but keep an eye on it. When I got Henry, I didn't even bother slowly transitioning him to wet food (like I did with Michelangelo). By that point, I had no dry in the house and there was no way I was going to let Mikey even near any dry food. Henry had about 4 weeks of intermittent diarrhea/soft stool (the clavamox for his coccidia didn't help matters), but now he's been fine since then.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
My human is obsessed with getting me the highest protein content possible. These have 10-12 percent protein. He didn't see anything that caught his eye when he read the label so he will likely stick with this.

FWIW, I have two kittens (well, Michelangelo will be a year in a few days), so I had to search all over the place for a low carb, wet food that was also SUPER HIGH in protein. My list is based off Dr. Lisa's List and I looked for protein/fat ratios over 50%. The caveat to this list is that Mikey is carb sensitive (can't really have anything over 5-6% carbs) and allergic to red meats (so far, beef, venison, rabbit, and lamb) and I only feed them fish once a week. My absolute favorite is Tiki Cat (and they're local 909!), except they're super expensive, so I use them as a topper for their staple diet of Friskies Turkey&Giblets Special Diet. I also don't worry too much about calories because I free-feed them and I weigh them frequently so I know if they're not getting enough to eat (they're kittens and should always be getting bigger! :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top