4/5MaxPM5.5=37+6=43+25=72+=60+8 =56+8 .75=61+9+10=64+11=101

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I awoke to Max meowing at his dish at 4:30 a.m. so I fed him. He ate, drank, and promptly regurgitated all his food. He continued to whimper after finishing the little bit of food left until a little while ago. So I tested him 1/2 hour early and then gave him his BP med with some cerenia and chased it with his usual baby food. At his shot time in 20 minutes I guess I will see if he keeps a small amount of food down. He is purring right now next to me as I write this and rubbing against things so maybe all will be well. Of course his vet doesn't work weekends. This is the first time I have had to deal with anything like this since his diabetes diagnosis. With his pancreatitis he never vomits. I hope he's okay.

Yesterday's Recap:

AMPS 196
+3.5=284
+5=278
PMPS 298
+3.5=221
 
Re: 3/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?

Poor Max. I hope he doesn't have any more issues today. Zeke would sometimes eat his first breffis so fast that he would throw up. We then started feeding him slowly first thing in the morning, breaking up his breffis into a few smaller portions. That's helped a lot.

Did you refeed the food Max regurgitated? I would want to be sure he still eats the same amount of food as he normally does.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?

It was a little extra food and by the time all this happened 2 hours before insulin. I gave him a little baby food with his gel cap of cerenia and his BP med and he kept that down. I'm going to give him his insulin now and I think more baby food with it and see how he does. By then hopefully the cerenia will take effect for sure and I'll give him some of his fancy feast. Thanks for your reply.

Elise
 
Re: 3/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?

tiffmaxee said:
I awoke to Max meowing at his dish at 4:30 a.m. so I fed him. He ate, drank, and promptly regurgitated all his food. He continued to whimper after finishing the little bit of food left until a little while ago. SoI tested him 1/2 hour early and then gave him his BP med with some cerenia and chased it with his usual baby food. At his shot time in 20 minutes

Ok, sorry, I didn't read your post closely enough and got myself confused. I thought he had regurgitated his PS meal. Just curious, did you test Max at 4:30 when you fed him? If you did could you please add to Max's SS? If you didn't, would you consider testing in the future if you get up to feed him especially if he's crying? If he's crying, it might be because he's low and he's letting you know he needs food. This would be very helpful data to obtain especially if he's earned a reduction.

Edit: ...or to know if he's rising or dropping at shot time which would be very helpful if he's low at shot time.
 
Re:4/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?

He kept everything down. I went to a spin class to clear my head as the day ahead might be tough. We have a new weekend caregiver today for my mom and my sister is really stressed. There is a slight chance he got a fur shot this morning. He moved and he has lots of fur. I'm just not sure. Fortunately he was under 200 this morning so if I missed it shouldn't screw things up too much.

I just gave him a little more fancy feast and he ate a little of it. I will be able to watch him for a few hours before I need to leave.

I didn't test him at 4:30 but I guess in hindsight that might have been a good idea. I've done it before late into his cycle and he wasn't low though. He might have gotten into green if I had tested after his +5 but it was over 200 so I didn't. Thanks for the suggestion.

just saw I wrote the wrong date. LOL
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?+3.5=255+6=185

So he is back to his PMPS BG. I just gave him a little more food and will make sure it stays down before I leave. I think I will give him cerenia again tomorrow even if he keeps his food down. Then I can switch to ondansetron if needed as I have tons of it. This is the first time he's needed nausea meds since November.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?+3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171

I'm so sorry to hear Max isn't feeling well today, but it's good that he's been able to keep some food down today. Paws crossed that it was just a bad day, and he'll be back on track tomorrow!

Sending healing vines to Max and thoughts and prayers to you, your mom, and your sister.
Shelly
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 Sick?+3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171

Thanks, Shelly. I'm going to feed Max small amounts and see how he does. He has chronic pancreatitis and hasn't needed treatment since November so I need to watch him carefully.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 +3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171+3=143

Thanks for checking in, Julie. Looks like it might be a long night since he ate at +1, +2, and +3 and is coming down.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 +3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171+3=143

looks like he's clearing a bounce - straight down from the am+3,5/255, although not too fast. the past 3 hours he's dropped 30 points, so that's pretty slow now. i hope you can get some sleep.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 +3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171+3=143

I hope he's feeling better.

Is he on amlodipine for his BP? Are you aware of a possible interaction between Ca channel blockers and cerenia?

The European Medicines Agency says (clause 4.8 on page 9) that "Cerenia should not be used concomitantly with Ca-channel antagonists as maropitant has affinity to Ca-channels." The University of ZĂĽrich Institute for Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology also mentions this (in German). In principle this means that amlodipine should not be used with maropitant (Cerenia), a treatment used for nausea and vomiting. 'Concomitantly' has a rather vague medical meaning in that it means during the same time period, but in this context I don't know exactly what time period the EMA is referring to, i.e. do they mean at the same time or on the same day? Both of these medications tend to be given once daily, so they have a relatively long effect. I suspect that giving them both on the same day but 12 hours apart (i.e. one in the morning and one in the evening) would probably be acceptable, but check with your vet.

The above citation is from Tanya's CKD website.

I agree with Julie that Max is very lucky to have you.

Extra prayers for your mom.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS 186 +3.5=255+6=185 PMPS 171+3=143

Hi Marje. Yes, Max has Primary high blood pressure or white coat syndrome. I have seen that warning on Tanya's site. My vet gave the cerenia to me for Max. I used it for five days. Ondansetron is what unusually use for nausea. However when he was on it for several months and having so many flare ups, my vet had me try cerenia. Since it is better for vomiting I went straight for it this morning. My angel Tiffsny was in both cerenia and ondansetron plus amlodipine as well. Thanks for the warning.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS186+3.5=255+6=185PMPS171+3=143+5.5=37

Is Max at 37 BG right now or is that a typo? Are you guys Ok? I just had a low number w/ Rocky but I think we're over the crisis.
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS186+3.5=255+6=185PMPS171+3=143+5.5=37

Yes, he just tested 37. He was at 143 when last tested. I gave him some gravy lovers. Do you think I should give him Karo too?
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS186+3.5=255+6=185PMPS171+3=143+5.5=37

If he were my cat, yes, I would give him a drop or two of Karo. That is a pretty wild drop, but my Rocky does the same thing too. :lol:

Please make sure to re-test him in 15 to 20 minutes instead of waiting for one hour, but you probably already know that.

Does he look Ok to you right now? I read in our condo that he wasn't feeling well today. Poor guy..
 
Re: 4/5 Max AMPS186+3.5=255+6=185PMPS171+3=143+5.5=37

Ok. Thanks. I will and I will test again in 7 minutes. We have hit 51 before but never this low.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

I gave him a little more gravy lovers with a couple drops of karo.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

Are you OK?
I'm not really experienced, but I can stay up and hold you hand if you are worried.
I've dealt with low numbers a few times with Lucy.....
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

So far I'm okay. He is acting fine. I just gave him some food with karo about 10 minutes ago. This happened crazy fast. I dozed off. With his 143 I planned to test at +5 but was shocked at 5.5.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

I think Rocky didn't want Maxee to outdo him. I just re-tested Rocky and he was at 36. @-) And my lancet broke so I was scurrying around looking for something to poke him with so that I could get a reading.

Glad to see that Max is coming up. I've been told by the advise givers that you want to stay with him and monitor him until you see two numbers above 100.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

OK, good! :-D
There may not be many people online at this time, and I happened to be up to test my cat and saw you 911 icon.
You are doing great!!!
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

Thank you for your offer. I just reread the papers on low numbers. I wish Max would learn to not do this at night when everyone is asleep and I should be too. LOL it only happens for him at night .
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43

You want two tests that are going up without karo/food before going to bed. :smile:
Karo wears off fast. You want to make sure Max can surf safely without being karo'd.

Up, Max! Up!!
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

He just tested at 72. So I don't feed now and test in 30 minutes, right?
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Thank you for correcting that Mariko. Yes, two numbers that are rising without the help of the Karo. I think I was also told that they should be above 100? :roll: I cannot remember and you've been with this FDMB a lot longer than me.

Tiff, I'd listen to Mariko now. She knows A LOT more than I do about falling BG numbers. :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Not really, Tina!!
I joined FDMB in 2011 when Lucy was first dx'd, but didn't follow TP right away because I was too overwhelmed by everything.
I finally joined LL about a year ago when she came out of remission, so my experience is almost same as both yours. :-D
And I know having someone stay with you makes this a lot less scarier, so I can just stay with you and figure this out with you together!! ;-)

It's good he's above 70 now.
Did you feed him more food/karo?
If not, I would hold it and re-test in 20 - 30min, and see how he does without syrup support.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

I didn't feed him a little hc food at the 72. He is crying for food now. Should I give him a little of his regular food? Thanks.

Elise
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Congrats on the reduction! :-D I'd test in half an hour after that 72. If he gets above 80 you can go to hourly testing. The rule of thumb is as Mariko stated it - two rising tests without influence of food. I find that karo/HC lasts a couple of hours in Neko, so for me the first couple hours after feeding HC are still influenced by food. Many a time I've tested a couple hours after last giving HC and found that she's dropped again. I wouldn't feed Max anything else yet and see what his numbers are doing. If he drops back down, then test/feed, wait 30 minutes and repeat until he's up again. If he's stable or rising without food, then test again and see if you are getting those rising numbers without food.

Good luck - I hope he doesn't keep you up too late. Up Max please - how about joining Neko surfing the 90's.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Just saw your last post - you can give him a couple tsp LC and see if that can encourage him to surf there.

ETA: Once you are feeling OK, you can take the 911 off. Put it back up if you need help again.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Thanks everyone. I did give him a little regular food and he ate some of it. He is meowing at me right now. I so didn't want a reduction. He was getting a fat 1.75 so we went to 2 units. Do I go back to a fat 1.75?

Elise
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

I believe Wendy is suggesting that Max take a reducie. You could always ask again in the morning to clarify before his AMPS. Glad to see that his number is so far rising.

I'm on a roller coaster ride with Rocky right now. His BG bouncing back and forth between under 50 an slightly above that.. I hope that he is having fun. :lol:
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

I think that 37 calls for a full 0.25u reduction.
So I would reduce to 1.75 unit.
If Max doesn't hold the reduction, you can always go back up.
I know about not wanting a reduction, but it's better be safe than sorry, don't you think?

I just made a cup of coffee.
I'll stay to see his next number. :smile:
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

That is so nice of you but you really don't have to stay up. I think I'm okay now. I just panicked a bit at the 37. I caught the other low numbers at 49 and then 51.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min 72

Great!
You are doing a wonderful job!
And handling this a lot calmer than when I first saw a 30s number. :lol:

By the way, in Max's ss, you entered 37@+4 and 43@+6 in yesterday's row.
Did he do this yesterday too?
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60.

Thanks for catching my screw up on the ss. He didn't do this yesterday although I wonder if he did drop from the 221 at +3 into a lot lower numbers based on his crying for food at 4:30 a.m. That is how my day started and he vomited it all up. He ate it really fast. Maybe he was low last night as well although that would be awfully late in his cycle. It would have been +9. It was so much easier having someone to chat with in the middle of the night. Last time I was all on my own and that was scary. This was the lowest number I've seen.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60.

Elise, how long has it been now since you fed Max? His number has gone down a bit. Did you feed him a little more when you saw that, or before that?
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60.

He ate a little of his regular food before that test. I'm going to test him again in 5 minutes. I think the karo wore off.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60+7.5=61+8=

Max looks to be on his way back down again.. Has he eaten very much since that 37? I've feed Rocky so much extra food tonight. :roll:

if you don't want to give Max the HC food, have you considered giving him a little bit of his regular food with a drop or two of Karo in it?

That 56 Max has is a good number. It just concerns me because it is a falling number.

I wasn't going to give Rocky a reducie tomorrow but I just tested him again and he is back down to 50. :? I didn't mind it so much when he was at the 2.25u dose as he was surfing the blue numbers now and then, which made me feel he was safe.

I think I will do the .25u reducie for Rocky tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60+7.5=61+8=

I think we both have to reduce tomorrow since we got the 36 and 37. I'm not sure how much for me because I only increased from a fat 1.75 to 2 units. So I don't know if I go back to a fat 1.75 or regular. Someone will tell me though. At this rate he may be too low to even get insulin. He ate some hc food after his last test. I'll test again in about 10 minutes. I've been up now for almost 24 hours as he woke me at 4:30 a.m. yesterday. His insulin time is 7 a.m. so I wonder if I will even get a couple of hours. I think I will push it to at least 7:30.

Max is sleeping peacefully on my bed. I so hate to wake him to test again but i will. Maybe he will start to climb so we both can sleep.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+3=143+5.5=37+6=43+25min72+? =60+7.5=61+8=

I totally know what you mean by the lack of sleep! My cat crew usually wakes me up at 6am for their breakfast. My husband gets up for work at 4am and I'm a light sleeper, normally, so I usually wake up for a few minutes until he is off to work. Then lately while Rocky has been in those blue numbers I was afraid of a deep dive like tonight. I think I don't have to worry so much about the 2.25u dose now though..

We really love our cats, to go without this much sleep for them, don't we?! bcatrun_gif cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +7.5=61+8=56+8.75=

I just had to wake him. He looked so comfortable sleeping on my bed. He was only 61 so I fed him yet again. At this point I don't mind a bounce as it means he won't need all these ear pricks and I will get some needed sleep.
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +7.5=61+8=56+8.75=

Poor Max, and poor Elise! I hope he was at least happy to eat the food that you fed to him. :lol: I know that I'm not suppose to go to leave Rocky until his BG has risen 2x in a row. But he just came up to 85, so I think I'll take a one hour catnap and then check back with you, and Rocky.

You're doing really great job with Max. :thumbup
 
Re: 4/5 MaxPMPS171+5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +7.5=61+8=56+8.75=

You are doing great too. When Max was low and rose to 85 or 90 I went to sleep. It's far enough in the cycle that I bet you can too. However if you feel you need to only catch a nap that is what you should do.
 
Re: 4/5 Max+5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +7.5=61+8=56+8.75=61++9.5

I have now been up for 24 hours. Max is hanging at 61. Is it safe to put out food and get a couple hours of sleep? Do I give him regular or hc food at this point? Thanks.

Elise
 
Re: 4/5 Max5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +8 =56+8.75=61++9.5=61+10=

He just ate again and his BG is hanging, now at 64. I set an alarm for 2 hours and will try to sleep a little.
 
Re: 4/5 Max5.5=37+6=43+25=72+?=60 +8 =56+8.75=61++9.5=61+10=

Hi Elise, I just woke up.. I'm sorry I didn't see your post before I went for the catnap. I would leave a small amount of the HC food if you haven't feed Max very much through his low numbers tonight, otherwise, I would leave Max the LC food.

I think someone should be here in a few hours to help guide you better than I have done. You did awesome for Max, Elise!

I think you need to put the :?: icon in your first post, where you had the 911 early tonight, so that you can grab someone's attention about the dosing question for this morning. I am going to do the same in my condo.

When you get the number BEFORE you give the morning shot, write it like this in the subject line space:

4/6 Max AMBG ___


That "BG" let's them all know that you did not give Max the shot yet. And remember to put put the question mark icon with it.

I hope you are having some sweet dreams right now. Now we both want to sleep all day long.. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top