4/5 Zeke AMPS 186; PMPS 141. Thinking no more +9 snack

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL,

Sending healing vines to all that need them

Zeke's Yesterday

Ok, so I know dosing adjustments are based on the nadir but when I saw that 186 AMPS, after Zeke having had a 138 PMPS last night, I just couldn't stand the idea of an even higher PS tonight so I fatten his dose a little. I was worried that Zeke was trending up and I didn't want to wait too long to take action. And so now here I am, literally, in a "Shoot first and ask questions later" position. So should I take his dose back down to a 0.25u instead of holding the fat 0.25u that I gave him this morning? He dropped to 48 yesterday but I go by the "reduce after 3 drops below 50" approach so I wasn't taking the reduction (which would have put Zeke down to 0.1u). Ironically, instead, I gave him a vey small dosecrease.

Well, the +9 snack had seemed to be helping bring down the PS#s until yesterday. Should I still continue giving these snacks?

Here's a recap of yesterday:
AMPS / 98; +1.25 / 96; +2.25 / 60; +3 / 48; +3.75 / 60;+6 / 80;+8.25 / 89

PMPS / 138; +1.25 / 121; +2 / 73; +2.75 / 56; +3.75 / 60;+6 / 96;+8.5 / 100

Zeke was doing so well on the 0.25u, even his PS were starting to come down. I am just confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat as to why all of the sudden these much higher PS. I mean, seriously, 186!?!?!

OK Zekey, let's get this thing back on track.

Happy Caturday everyone
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

Unfortunately, I don't have an answer for you, and I hope someone else will come by soon to help you with your question. Try and have a good day, and hang in there. :YMHUGS:
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

I can't tell you for sure what's going on other than this...Our cats aren't machines, and every once in awhile they're going to throw a number that just doesn't always make sense. Maybe Zeke saw a squirrel outside the window? Maybe a stranger walked by. Maybe there was something that happened that raised his stress level a little that you didn't notice....or maybe he's just being a cat!!

Try not to let one number get to you. Zeke had a 136 on 3/28 and a 152 on 3/31 so the 186 really isn't that much different. It's still below renal threshold which is the most important thing.

If the snacks seem to be bringing his pre-shot numbers down, then yes, I'd continue giving him the snacks!!

Overall, he's got a very pretty spreadsheet lately!!
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

hehe nothing like do first and ask later! :lol: it's one of those things that you're going to find out now that it's done, whether or not you get the results you hoped for when you fattened the dose.

the only thing i'm thinking is that i wouldn't have increased because he got to a nadir of 48 yesterday. fortunately, you are experienced and awesome at monitoring, so will be able to catch him if he starts back into the same territory. overall he's looking great.
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

Thanks Angela, Chris and Julie for your input. I'm wondering if perhaps the snack is causing the rise eventhough it seemed to help initially. I'm gonna give him a snack this afternoon and see what it does to his PMPS#. I'm considering going back to the 0.25u (no fat). We'll see tonight.
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

I agree with Julie. With the 48 yesterday, I would not have increased his dose. It is good that you can test so much.
Maybe just one fattened dose will help him to get back on track.
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

Ditto for me on the increase; I'd have likely held off BUT I have increased before when she's been in the 40s a cycle or so previously but then just wasn't doing as well. I think you are experienced enough and test enough.

IMHO, I'd just hold this dose and let him earn the reduction again because you are experienced and you test. Sometimes just a cycle or two at a little fattened dose gets things kickstarted again. This suggestion is for Laura and Zeke only because Laura tests so much and is very familiar with Zeke's patterns. I would not make this suggestion for every cat and CG.
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

Hi Laura,

I sure wish I had some dosing advice for you. I can't offer you any, though. What I can offer you is lots of moral support. I hope you find the perfect dose for Zeke. His numbers are looking great!

Good luck with whatever you decide to do!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/5 Zeke AMPS 186 - Dosecrease?

Thanks Dyana, Marje and Shelly for your advice and support. Zeke was at 141 PMPS so I stuck with the fat 0.25u. I am thinking that perhaps the snack is the cause of his increased PS#s. I will not be giving him a snack tonight. I will however get up to test him to see how much he moves in the last 3 hours of this cycle. Initially the snack seemed to be helping but now unfortunately it appears to be causing Zeke's BG to rise sharply. Guess the snack experience was a fail.
 
I wouldn't think of it as a fail. It could be his pancreas just isn't ready yet to take over full responsibility :-D that's ok....he's doing great and just needs some extra support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top