4/5 Willows pmps 206bg 257bg@+12.50 NS

Status
Not open for further replies.
I agree with Carla, 30's means a reduction. Crazy cat!
Help!
What is going on with this cat?
I gave her two cans of gravy at +6 and she came up into the 100bg range, we had to leave and had my wife's mother watch her. I just got home at +10.50 and she's is back at 35bg, giving another can of gravy.
Has this happened to anyone else?
@carfurby
 
It can happen. She definitely needs the reduction. Have you tried putting honey or karo on the HC food?
Not yet

The gravy should have sent her into yellow or pink. This was really unexpected to see these low numbers again
Waiting on my wife with the bg numbers that are not in our chart yet
 
I'd keep testing every 20 to 30 minutes until she comes up to safe numbers (we prefer at least 60s). You may need to skip the shot tonight to drain the depot, especially if you can't stay up to monitor.
 
I'd keep testing every 20 to 30 minutes until she comes up to safe numbers (we prefer at least 60s). You may need to skip the shot tonight to drain the depot, especially if you can't stay up to monitor.
Working on it
Just gave a second can of gravy, so far she is not coming up
 
You can also try rubbing honey on her gums.

ETA: or karo.
She is coming up, she is now at 57bg. This is after two cans of gravy, that is now a total of 4 cans of gravy for the day. Pulse she ate two cans of her LC food this morning
I'll be skipping her shot tonight.
Geeezes this cat can be a drama queen.

Any advise? Thoughts?

@Wendy&Neko
 
I'm glad she's coming up for you. I think skipping is the safe thing to do. Make sure you take the reduction in the morning.
 
I'm glad she's coming up for you. I think skipping is the safe thing to do. Make sure you take the reduction in the morning.
Hi

Yeah that was my thought. It's really odd to see such a big drop today. Last night she stayed in pink all night into the morning. I was thinking she will be bouncing all day and not to worry about her. When I checked her at +4 I was shocked at the number, I gave her some LC food to slow her down and went back to work. She dropped 46bg+ per hour.
When I checked her at +6 I was like that's a miss read and checked her again. Meanwhile she is walking around with not a care in the world. I started freaking out because we had to leave in 15 minutes. My thought was just give her two full cans of gravy and the food, she should blast off. Well not our Willow.
It will be interesting to see what number she is in the morning without a shot tonight.
 
The +12 test will be influenced by gravy. So unless you can shoot at +12.5 and she zooms up between now and then, a skip may be necessary. If she's really high, you could do a token dose at +12.5 or full dose depending on her numbers.

Last night might have been the high before the low.

Next time you might want to try a drop or two of karo. I always added that to the HC when Neko got to the 30's. It acts a bit faster.
 
The +12 test will be influenced by gravy. So unless you can shoot at +12.5 and she zooms up between now and then, a skip may be necessary. If she's really high, you could do a token dose at +12.5 or full dose depending on her numbers.

Last night might have been the high before the low.

Next time you might want to try a drop or two of karo. I always added that to the HC when Neko got to the 30's. It acts a bit faster.
Hi
I'll check her at both +12&+12.50 to see where she is at and decide what to do
Normally just a little gravy sends her numbers skyrocketing. Even after two cans at +6 she only went up into the 100 range.
She hates the Karo, and if she gets any on her omg it's there for months.

Has Neko ever done this?
 
Has Neko ever done this?
Done what? If you mean hanging out in low numbers for a while, the answer is no. Thankfully she was fairly carb sensitive and I usually could get away with 16% carb HC. Except of course for the night before the vet was coming over to send her to the Bridge. Her appy was off and I was syringing karo in the wee dark hours. Perfect cat timing to the end.
 
Done what? If you mean hanging out in low numbers for a while, the answer is no. Thankfully she was fairly carb sensitive and I usually could get away with 16% carb HC. Except of course for the night before the vet was coming over to send her to the Bridge. Her appy was off and I was syringing karo in the wee dark hours. Perfect cat timing to the end.

Well that sounds like she was a good kitty and drama queen like Willow

She is 206@+12. Should I give her a shot? Half shot?
Thoughts
 
Done what? If you mean hanging out in low numbers for a while, the answer is no. Thankfully she was fairly carb sensitive and I usually could get away with 16% carb HC. Except of course for the night before the vet was coming over to send her to the Bridge. Her appy was off and I was syringing karo in the wee dark hours. Perfect cat timing to the end.
Going to check her @+12.50 to see where she is at.
I gave her her LC food and she took a few bites then laid back down
 
This is still gravy influenced as that was less than 2 hours ago. Can you wait another 15-20 minutes and retest? If she's even higher you could probably shoot (ie. bounce). The 1/2 shot would reduce that overfull depot some. But if she's truly bouncing to the moon, getting the full new dose in will help.
 
This is still gravy influenced as that was less than 2 hours ago. Can you wait another 15-20 minutes and retest? If she's even higher you could probably shoot (ie. bounce). The 1/2 shot would reduce that overfull depot some. But if she's truly bouncing to the moon, getting the full new dose in will help.
Hi
Okay she only went up to 257@+12.50 and she is not hungry and not eating.
Thoughts?
 
Maybe only half dose. Looks like she filled up on gravy today!
I went ahead and skipped her shot. She had two bites and went back to sleep. She normally eats 1/2- 3/4 of the can and goes back later for the rest, imthem open another can and leave her half for during the night.
She is stuffed on four cans of gravy. Unreal her numbers did not skyrocket. I'm sure tomorrow she will be high.
Here is a question, what if she is not high tomorrow? Then what? I'm asking because her amps is at 6am.

What a rollercoaster ride she took me on today.

Thank you and Carla again for being here for us today.

@carfurby
 
Here is a question, what if she is not high tomorrow? Then what? I'm asking because her amps is at 6am.
Can you monitor tomorrow? Can you restock your gravy supply? :p In the past, she's always gone up after a skip. I have faith in her, which is why I though a partial dose might help tonight. Maybe next time if the circumstances work out. I would reduce by 0.25 units for tomorrow.
 
Can you monitor tomorrow? Can you restock your gravy supply? :p In the past, she's always gone up after a skip. I have faith in her, which is why I though a partial dose might help tonight. Maybe next time if the circumstances work out. I would reduce by 0.25 units for tomorrow.
Hi
We bought 30 can pack of gravy, we have lots of test strips and two meters in case one stops working.
I have to work tomorrow and staying up all night was not going to be an option tonight

I'll post her numbers in the morning, let's see if she stays high or comes down on her own
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top