4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 +2 328 +4 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Well he was almost in the purple this morning.... I wonder if maybe 1.0u it slightly too much if he appears to be bouncing again. I'm still to fresh at this to really get why went so high this morning, but we did get a nice low blue in there... so I dunno... any thoughts?

I still have a few cans of the Tiki Cat Puka Puka Chicken which I used as the lunch time snack, since it has no carbs, I thought it'd be a nice lunch for Tyler. But I can't afford to buy it again, I could cook a whole chicken cheaper than the cost of that stuff!
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 no greens today

I was in the same boat as you Brian.....trying to find different LC foods that didn't cost much. I've tried expensive ones and also cheaper ones but most had high phosphorous. So, I started looking for cans that were also low phosphorous but there aren't many of those since that comes from meat. I had to settle on the Friskies SD turkey & gibs because it seems to be the least expensive and lowest phosphorous. I feed it 100% of the time and actually these guys like it. I wanted to try the Weruva because that stuff is very LC but it has so much water in it resulting in less meat which equals less calories that I didn't want to have to pay more for it and also have to serve more to make up for the fewer calories. Was that a run-on sentence?

Anyway, I hope you can settle on some lower cost food choices that your cats will eat. That's the hard part.
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 back to purple

Alright we're back to purple. The green was a total teaser.

But to lay out some facts: I was worried about Pen #1 with the air bubbles, so I used Pen #2 the night before and the morning of the green yesterday. Everyone seems to think pen #1 was fine, so I used that last night & this morning. I went back to pen #2 this evening just because.

I am learning that an unregulated kitty may not know how to ride those green numbers, so his liver steps in, causing a bounce. If this is the case, does that mean that he just needs to learn how to surf that green, or perhaps is his dose a smidge too high?
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 back to purple

Hey Brian!

I don't think his dose is too high. He's been on a fairly "standard" dose (in other words, for most average sized cats, the starting dose is 1u). If you follow the TR protocol, it's very hard to get them overdose. I think Tyler's liver still doesn't like those green numbers. I probably would have grabbed another test after that 66 last night to be sure he was coming up. The liver can cause bouncing from too low of a number, a fast drop, or just a number lower than it's used to. Although my little Gracie girl is sometimes a drama queen, I like to take the "too low of a number" out of the equation when I can.

I'd just hold this dose for now unless he drops below 50 or he stops getting green and hope that Mr. L will pass liver training school soon.
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 back to purple

Thanks Marje!

I had intended on getting another test but fell asleep, it has been a rough week! I totally blew my chance on knowing for sure and hope you're right. I hope his little liver takes a chill pill so my bud can get some regular greens & blues!!!
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 back to purple

he'll get there, brian! be encouraged - it'll take some time for his body to get re-accustomed to normal numbers, but he will eventually.
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 back to purple

Hi Brian,

I don't have any dosing advice for you. I just wanted to provide some moral support. I know the bouncing is hard to see, and it makes you question the dose, the type of insulin, etc. Hang in there; it really will get better! Jersey has been on Lantus since February 15th. It actually took us up until the past week or two to find the right dose for her that would keep in her healing numbers. She has still bounced during that time, but her bounces are occurring much less often and don't last near as long. Of course, she might wake up tomorrow and decide to bounce for the next 3 days. (Knowing her, she would do it just to spite me, too! :lol: ) I can't say what Tyler will do since ECID, but it does sometimes help to hear about others' experiences.

Shelly
 
Re: 4/5 Tyler AMPS 296 +5 103 +7 256 PMPS 328 +2 328

welp... no difference in his +2! I thought that today I got a fur shot, but did not smell the insulin, which you all know has a distinct smell. Sometimes when I shoot him, and I know for a fact the needle went in, I can smell insulin on him. Never really knew what to think about that.... anywho....

Well ladies, thanks!! It's always nice to come here everyday for the support and advice from others going through the exact same thing we are!!

I just got my patience pants out of the dryer so they are clean and ready to... chill... :cool:
 
wonderful! Tyler looks very nice in blue!

168 points in 2 hrs - the drop from 328 to 156 - can be fast enough to set off a bounce. depends on the cat - i hope not.

sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top