4/5 SHEBA AMPS 466

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-3-sheba-nadir-68-amps-377.135579/

Well, as expected Sheba's numbers have gone up following the reduction to keep her safe while I was out partying. Back to normal dose last night so hopefully see some good numbers soon.
I felt very comfortable about leaving her in the end after stressing about it for weeks. I have come to dread invitations that take me away from the area, but now I can see it can be done......and I feel the chains loosening somewhat.....although seeing those high numbers is not nice.

The family reunion/brother's birthday was great fun. It was lovely seeing family and old friends. There is something very comfortable about sitting down and talking to old friends. :) Many I hadn't seen for years. My brother and his wife organised the catering, held at a club in a private room, and it was a feast.
I hope everyone is having a peaceful and happy Easter.

Edit to add: daylight saving finished here today so an extra hours sleep. I couldn't pass that up so slept the extra time and Sheba was 45 minutes late at AMPS, but now we are on time with the new time
 
Last edited:
So glad you had a great time :)

Mum screwed up daylight savings a little this morning. Purrdy was pre adjusted so he'd be on time but then mum reset her phone not realising it would reset itself. Not quite sure exactly how it all ended up going down but she only ended up 15 mins late. She made me nervous because she managed to get the shot in only 10 mins after she woke but seems she got it right - phew!
 
Yikes Sheba - get down from there NOW! I'm glad you had a good time out Bron and enjoyed the family get together. :) We beans have to learn how to have fun and live with our diabetic cats. And Sheba will get back on track fast enough.
 
i'm glad you decided to go ahead and go to the family gathering. It can be tricky finding a balancing act while taking care of your diabetic kitty, can't it?
 
Looks like Sheba is heading in the right direction!!

Was thinking "what is she talking about? Extra hour of sleep??"....Had to remember that you're on the other side of the world, so everything's backwards!

Here we just lost that hour a few weeks ago....but we'll get it back in November!
 
So glad you had a great time :)

Mum screwed up daylight savings a little this morning. Purrdy was pre adjusted so he'd be on time but then mum reset her phone not realising it would reset itself. Not quite sure exactly how it all ended up going down but she only ended up 15 mins late. She made me nervous because she managed to get the shot in only 10 mins after she woke but seems she got it right - phew!
@purrdydolly
I had the same problem with the phone...wondering if it would reset itself. I decided to set the alarm for 3am to see what happened. Then when I saw it go back to 2am I set the alarm for the morning to get the extra hour....I'm sure that is a sign of getting old:confused:
 
Yikes Sheba - get down from there NOW! I'm glad you had a good time out Bron and enjoyed the family get together. :) We beans have to learn how to have fun and live with our diabetic cats. And Sheba will get back on track fast enough.
@Wendy&Neko
I have told Sheba you are displeased with her numbers......she will try harder:cat:
I agree, we must remember to have fun..it did me a power of good to get out and reset my attitude to life.;)
 
Last edited:
Looks like Sheba is heading in the right direction!!

Was thinking "what is she talking about? Extra hour of sleep??"....Had to remember that you're on the other side of the world, so everything's backwards!

Here we just lost that hour a few weeks ago....but we'll get it back in November!
@Chris & China
bit confusing isn't it:eek: . Yes, we are going into winter down here. No sign of it yet but the days have lost that intense heat. I enjoyed that extra hour sleep. Sheba was wondering what was going on .....her servant had not arisen to feed her
 
Last edited:
i'm glad you decided to go ahead and go to the family gathering. It can be tricky finding a balancing act while taking care of your diabetic kitty, can't it?
@julie & punkin (ga)
yes, I agree. I was quite anxious about leaving Sheba for the day. I go out quite a bit but not for the day and usually not very far. Those days have gone for a while. I did swap her preshot time to later so I could go out to dinner. We often go out with one of our kids families for an early dinner (to accommodate the kids bedtime) and it was always hard. So I changed the timing of the preshot and now we don't have to worry.
Yesterday showed me it is possible to go to events, so I feel some relief, as I hated getting invites to things further away.

By the way..was it ok to alert you with those two people needing assistance today? Not sure what the protocol is. I was just a bit concerned as no one was around to offer assistance
 
Glad you had some "me" time Bron, we often lose sight of the fact that there is life out there not regulated by BG tests. I'm the same though, the first thing I think of when accepting an invitation is usually "how's Crystal going to manage without me, will I be back in time for PS?". Funny how a little furry body ends up ruling your life.
 
Hi Bron. I am glad you got out and had a nice time. I am the same way in that I don't go far and don't go out all day much now but sometimes we do need to get out and have some fun too. It is important for our mental health and good for our kitties too in that we are looking after ourselves and though we don't like to reduce or even skip doses sometimes we have to.
 
Yes, it was fine to tag me or anyone else. It also works to do what Sarah (phlika) did yesterday, which was to do a post on the Lantus/Lev board asking for help for Salem's mom on the main health board - then keep it bumped up til someone sees it and helps. If you tag someone and they aren't online, they wouldn't get the message.

Writing a new post is probably better if it's just a general call out for help - whoever saw it first would then respond to it. But all of it is ok - the point is to get help for the person so whatever works is ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top