4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50, PMPS 96, +4.5 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116630

Hi everyine,
Rusty had a good night. His bg is still in a bit of a bounce mode, but he is fine. Today is our last day in the city. We are about to go to Prospect Park to walk with an old friend. Bbl,

Yo Kitties, it's going to be sunny and warm today. Let's go to Coney Island, walk on the boardwalk, sit on the beach, and eat hot dogs at Nathan's Famous. See you soon,
Rusty
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244

Morning Ella and where is our LagoonMeister today. I think he's eating too many hot dogs. :lol: Have a great time today in the city with this being your last day. Enjoy the walk. Hope your knee is better. Hugs and scritches from us.
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Hi again,
Rusty surprised us with a 50 at +8. He was eating his lunch, which had been left out for him, when we returned from our morning in Brooklyn, I tested him, and then he finished his lunch. Then we had a nice combing. i guess he has cleared his little trip bounce.

My knee feels really good after walking around Prospect Park and some of our old neighborhood (Park Slope). I needed to really walk, rather than trudge over ice and snow banks!

Off to visit some condos.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Nice bounce recovery today for Rusty. I'm glad the walking is helping your knee.

Coney Island sounds like fun. I'll be there.
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Wow, that was some drop to the lagoon, Rusty! :mrgreen: . I'm glad the walking is helping your knee, much easier in a park than on snow! I hope you guys enjoy the rest of your day in NY. Have a safe trip home :-D
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Whoa! Rusty! Who have you been taking diving lessons from? :oops: :oops: No, I think I know! ohmygod_smile

I'm glad your knee is feeling better Ella. Yeah, ice and piles of snow always sucked this time of year!

I lubs coney Island! And Nathan's is the bestest! Uh, but our favorite Central Park Cart is awful good too! Hmmmmmmmm, maybe we need a side by side comparison! -- Tess, (buuurrrrrrrp!)
 
Determing when to give a reducie?

I know you two have been at this for a long time and that you know exactly what you are doing for Rusty to keep him happy and healthy. So with a BG of 50 for Rusty, do you give him a reducie, or does he stay at the same insulin dose :?:

If Rusty continues to get the same insulin dose when his BG touched 50, how is that determined?

Thank you Ella! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Rusty!! Not like you to take such a dive off the high board!! I bet he will be glad to get home and I wish you all safe travels.

Hey Auntie Ellabean...Tobes here. I'm on my way for a big, fat Coney Island hot dog!!!! YUM!!!! And a ride on the ferris wheel???? Will you sit with me? love you!!!
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50

Hi Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOW and cool on that +8. So much for higher numbers while in NY! It is great to see Rusty post a green. WOO HOO!

Very cool on your knee - that is great! it will be good when yo can do just that: walk on normal ground, without ice slush and snow... I hope you guys are having a good time, sounds like you are. :-D

Have a great evening!!

RUSTY! DUDE! We are coming!!! I LUBS hot dogs! I thinks we should do that comparison test thing, like Tess said. YUM! more dogs to eat then! See ya, we is on our way! ~ Elsa
 
Re: 4/5 Rusty AMPS 244, +8 50, PMPS 96

Hi again,
We are listening to our favorite radio station, WKCR, which needs money right now. This station plays the best jazz you will hear anywhere. Monday is the anniversary (99th) of Billie Holiday's birth and WKCR will play 24 hours of her music. Where else in the world will you hear somrthing like that? (Rusty is a Billie Hiliday fan.). The station has a phenomenal collection of jazz recordings: historic 78s included. It's been on the air since 1941. You can listen on the internet: WKCR.org.

To answer Tina's question about Rusty's dose: we go roughly by the 3 times under 50 rule. But we only reduce by one drop, not by .25 of a unit. Rusty is certainly angling for another reducie. He has 2 numbers under 50 on this dose. Sometimes, by gut feeling, I interpret a number of 50 or 51 as being "under" 50. I'm not sure what I will do this time. I'll have to see what he does tonight. Trips always raise his bgs and we are driving home tomorrow. He won't eat on a trip, so that is also a factor. Stay tuned! We dose with calipers (Terumo syringe) and figure that 1 drop = .11mm. Rusty's current dose is what I call a skinny 1.75 units (2.44mm). If he gets a reducie in the next day or so it will be to a fat 1.5 units (2.33mm).

Thanks for visiting, everyone. Rusty agrees that Nathan's hot dogs must have a taste comparison with the hot dogs from our favorite Central Park cart. Next month that will be on the agenda!

Ella & Rusty

Ps, next condo will be tomorrow, after we get home. Gute Reise, gute Fahrt!
 
Nice end of cycle for Rusty. Maybe I should see how Neko responds to Billie Holliday. Blues for the blues? ;-)

Great news on your knee being better on the flats. Maybe you still need a brace for the rough ruts of home?

Neko came home with two types of mustard on her fur - I think she already started the hot dog taste comparison. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top