4/5 Rusty #2 AMPS 224; +3 153; +4 123; +6 50 ; +7 81; +8 172; +9 151; PMPS 112 (Help needed)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SantaCruzSPCA

Member Since 2017
I'm hoping to see more blues today! It was a relief to see this AMP considering his tendencies to bounce HIGH after any number even resembling a normal one. Maybe if I can keep him in the yellows and blues for a while, he won't bounce too high when we finally start seeing greens.

Is it maybe best that, considering my situation, I shoot for a dose that keeps him in the yellows and blue consistently rather than go for the green? I feel like if I really try for the lower end, it's a bit more risky because of the inability to monitor during the PM cycle?

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-4-rusty-2-amps-181-3-269-6-131-246-pmps-241.175841/
 
IMHO I agree with you on keeping him in the low yellows and blues as you can't monitor at night.
Lovely start Rusty keep up the good work
images
Mandi I admire you for the care you are giving to Rusty;):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
IMHO I agree with you on keeping him in the low yellows and blues as you can't monitor at night.
Lovely start Rusty keep up the good work
images
Mandi I admire you for the care you are giving to Rusty;):bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you! :bighug: Finally getting him somewhere is very rewarding!
 
Low blues on the AT are close to upper greens on human meters (more or less, there isn't really a way to translate), but still a really good spot for the nadirs. :) Note that it's really hard to figure out a dose that will keep them in yellows and blues. It's best to focus more on the nadirs and where you want them to be. Over time the upper numbers will flatten out as they stop bouncing.

Rusty is looking great today.:cool:
 
Soooooo...we are at 50 right before he's due for his lunchtime meal. I gave him his meal (1/2 can of Friskies) and he's not symptomatic for hypo. Any advice is appreciated. Did he just earn a reduction? And if so, to what?
 
I think a .25 reduction, but wait till someone that knows what they're doing confirms that. Because I don't know what I'm doing, and I have to ask about everything. I think you're wonderful for doing what you're doing, by the way. :bighug: Did his numbers go up at all? You might want to test again in 20 minutes or so.
 
I think a .25 reduction, but wait till someone that knows what they're doing confirms that. Because I don't know what I'm doing, and I have to ask about everything. I think you're wonderful for doing what you're doing, by the way. :bighug: Did his numbers go up at all? You might want to test again in 20 minutes or so.
Do you have MC or HC food on hand if his numbers have gone lower? Just wondering if you were able to test him again?
 
Last edited:
I have about every wet cat food under the sun at my disposal, lol :) How soon after his meal do I test and then at what intervals do I continue to test?
 
Soooooo...we are at 50 right before he's due for his lunchtime meal. I gave him his meal (1/2 can of Friskies) and he's not symptomatic for hypo. Any advice is appreciated. Did he just earn a reduction? And if so, to what?
I'm still new-ish here in Lantus Land but I think he's earned a reduction to 3.25 u. The pros might have a different take on it. They sometimes say you have to see three lime greens before a reduction is earned if kitty isn't a new diabetic. However, in your situation where testing at night isn't possible, I think an immediate reduction makes more sense. I'll hand it over to the experts ...
 
so 30 min later after a lunch of LC food, he's at 81. Any advice from here?
Again, I am by no means an expert, but I would test every hour for a couple of hours to make sure it's not just the food spike. Kris? Callie did this a few days ago, and that's what I did. P.S. As far from an expert as possible. :)
 
When Rusty decided to work the juice, he works it HARD. I agree on the reduction, but I am not very familiar with AT meter numbers. Definitely keep monitoring and hopefully the others will pop in shortly. :)
 
I missed that bit of key info - you're using an AlphaTrak meter. The "intervene with HC food" is 68 on an AT meter. He seems to be OK so far so let's see what he does.
 
What a great job you are doing! Rusty's #s are really starting to come down. I have not read the last several days, but I believe I recall you saying that the dry food was being cut out? or are you still leaving some at night? If he is quitting dry, you will likely see the #s coming down quickly. I am not one of the experts, either, but if you are using AT meter, then I think he does get a reduction tonight. And be sure to leave snacks that he can help himself to if he is alone and goes low. Great job!
 
I missed that bit of key info - you're using an AlphaTrak meter. The "intervene with HC food" is 68 on an AT meter. He seems to be OK so far so let's see what he does.
Oops, I missed that also. I thought it was the human meter. I see 50, and my brain does something weird. Glad he's doing okay! :bighug:
 
Definitely reduce down to 3.25 units tonight. :) Thank goodness you have the half unit marked syringes. Rusty is in safe territory, above 68, but I would test in another half hour to make sure he stays there.
 
Okay, hold on, I made a bit of an error. I just started a new bottle of test strips today and my +4 test was my first one using them. I forgot to re-code the meter with the new strip's code. I just changed the code (which was changed from 8 to 7) and did a +8 test which put him back up to 172. Would that have caused an issue with the numbers? Could this low possibly not be an accurate low?
 
Oh, jeez, I don't know how the coding affects the result. Hmmm. Maybe someone else has experience with that.
 
I don't know either, I'm guessing it's not that different since your +8 makes sense in context, but you could experiment, testing twice in a row with the two codes to get a rough idea of how different they are.

Normally I'd say it's not that important for a single number, but in this case you're doing a dose change on the basis of that +6, so if it was wildly off I guess it'd be good to know.
 
I don't know how coding affects results either. Could you test yourself with both codes and see if the numbers are the same? That's a suggestion from someone who would rather poke herself than the cat. LOL

I think it's possible that it could be an accurate low from what I know from Callie. Her +6 was 59 the other day, +6.5 was 75, +7 was 166, and +8 was 285. I did give her a 2 teaspoons of the gravy lovers, but it zoomed up fast.
 
Last edited:
Yeah part of me thinks it was still accurate, as the +3 was the last strip of the old bottle and the +4 was the first strip of the new and they were very similar. Now I must prepare for the bounce! I'll lower his evening dose to 3.25. Thanks everyone! :)
 
@Wendy&Neko What do you suggest I do tonight. His PMPS is 112 which is scary to me although I don't want to miss a cycle. I can feed him his dinner and leave another whole can in for him just in case? Should I do the 3.25 or back down to 3?
 
Sorry, I was off for a bit. Lantus kitties can do a "double dip" where their cycle does a smaller dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the nadir. Maybe it's best to go down to 3.0 units, but if you shoot tonight, I would leave higher carb food for him to snack on. The highs from high carb food don't last as long as those from a skipped dose.
 
Sorry, I was off for a bit. Lantus kitties can do a "double dip" where their cycle does a smaller dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the nadir. Maybe it's best to go down to 3.0 units, but if you shoot tonight, I would leave higher carb food for him to snack on. The highs from high carb food don't last as long as those from a skipped dose.

I retested after 20 minutes and he was up to 136, so I fed his dinner and shot 3.25. I'm still here so when he's finished eating I'll go back in and add more food, although I hate to switch foods on him. It only took a half meal to bring him up from his 50 today. Do you think it would be okay to just leave another can of Friskies in with him?
 
I meant a slightly higher carb low carb wet food, not dry food. Do you have anything that's a bit higher % than he has been eating?
 
I meant a slightly higher carb low carb wet food, not dry food. Do you have anything that's a bit higher % than he has been eating?

I've got Wellness CORE "Hearty Cuts in Gravy" shredded chicken & Turkey...not sure if the one I'm seeing on the chart is for the one with gravy but it says 8%.
 
Sounds good. Extra food will help keep him safe. He did pretty good with the regular low carb food when he went lower today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top