4/5 Oren; AMPS-454;+7 67/424?+8-423;+10-420;PMPS-338; pm+4.5 60/57;+5-61;+5.5-66;+6-69;+6.5-64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Oren's very blue yesterday

Bouncy ball from all the blue yesterday; wonder if he went even lower late last night? Bummer, was hoping he wouldn't go quite so high, this is his highest number in days...on the other hand, at least i probably won't worry so much being gone all morning..

Happy Easter to all; hope the bunny brings good vines to all in need
 
Last edited:
Guess that's Oren's Easter gift to you! Permission to leave and not worry about him!!

Have a wonderful Easter day Megan!

moving-animated-Easter-kitty-cats-bunny-ear-kittens.gif
 
so, home and finally got a bit of a nap, woke up just now to give him a +7 and got surprised by a 67!! immediately tested again and got 424??? Not sure what to do; i've heard some say too small a drop can give a low reading, but boy, that's a huge discrepancy either way?? Should I just wait 1/2 hr or so and try again??!
 
Last edited:
I would have tried for a 3rd test to see which one of those to rule out as the meter error or bad strip. I've always had easy testers so I know that's easier said than done sometimes :) Waiting 1/2 and testing again is a good option too.
 
sometimes a too big drop gives me a higher number....
or if you take too long....
I'm slightly leaning toward first one being too small; as i look back, i realize when it got sucked up, it didn't seem to do anything for a bit, and i pushed the strip in more firmly, (even tho it had beeped) and it finally registered. the 2nd one seemed like the usual drop size... I'll redo him in about 5 more minutes... want green, but not like that, HUGE drop from 454 this a.m!
 
pretty sure that 67 was just a wonky strip or not enough blood. bigger, longer bounce this time though. Sigh. wish he'd get used to blues...
 
Not only was Oren lower than what he was used to yesterday, it was for longer than he was used to. Both can cause a bounce. But that night long stretch looked really good on him yesterday. :cool: And he gave you a chance to get out today.:) Happy Easter!

I've had a strip say "Lo" when it didn't have quite enough blood. Since that's below 20 it was a real shocker. Course, the cat was acting fine. :rolleyes:
 
long lasting, persistent bounce to match the long blues yesterday I guess... +5 and 5 min., 420. Yes, I was out until noon, and even had time for a nap this afternoon, but I'd love to see this clear soon. Not liking that he can't seem to get out of 400s...And it's back to work tomorrow so if suddenly in the a.m he's down again and I'm on pins and needles again! why can't these sugar babies read the work schedule and behave accordingly?! ;)
Happy Easter to you too Wendy; hope you had a lovely one
 
Sorry, 911 might not be totally necessary, but there is no other 'alert' tag to use; if this is true, a huge drop from pmps... do I simply feed LC for now?? guess I'm staying up a while now...
 
I would feed him some more low carb and repeat test in 30 min. Maybe he'll surf for you.
 
doesn't that seem like a HUGE drop from PMPS 338 to 60? he is certainly eating enthusiastically, ravenously almost!
 
He was probably breaking the bounce, so had some extra downward momentum tonigt. Good to see he's surfing so far. And congrats on those greens! :D They are a nice addition to the spreadsheet.

You can probably take the 911 off now. You have our attention and it's not a medical emergency.
 
It is a pretty big drop; keep feeding him to steer the numbers safely.

An option, if you need to sleep, is to abort the cycle by feeding high carb food and a fair bit of it. This will result in higher numbers in the morning.

And possibly cut back the next dose by 0.25 units?
 
ok, the 911 is gone, sorry, I knew it was a bit extreme, but wasn't sure the ? was enough! and after the first wonky green earlier today I got jumpy! he seems pretty happy about the extra food, but now my nerves are shot! doubt I'd be able to sleep for a while anyway, so do I just keep feeding/testing 1/2 hr. for a while? How long do I keep going?
 
It's always OK to put the 911 up if you need help immediately....once you have someone's attention, you just take it down again!

As long as he's at least in the 60's (and you don't want to just abort the cycle) I'd probably stop feeding and recheck in 30...if he's still surfing or climbing then, another check in 30...still good? One more check and if he's still doing OK without any more food, he's probably going to be good for the night.
 
before Chris posted I did give him a tiny amount of food, just a fingerful at 5.5, but no more.
at 6 up to 69. so 2 more tests 1/2 hr. apart, w/ no more food, rising or at least steady, then i might be able to go to bed? should I still leave food in the feeder though as he sometimes double-dips near the end of the cycle?
 
And I'd keep the same dose in the morning. We normally don't reduce (with the Tight Regulation protocol) until we see a number under 50. After all that time in high numbers, we want to see Oren in healing green. :D

Keep on surfing Oren - looking good! You are doing great too Megan. :)

The double dip at the end of the cycle shouldn't go as low as the nadir, so he may go up, then down again, but not this low. But you can always leave low carb food out if you are worried about him. We do like to see two rising tests, without influence of food, before calling it a night.
 
well, a slight dip at 6.5, so i gave him a little more food, just can't stay up the rest of the night. my shot time is 6.40 in a.m, and it's already 1.22! I'll try one more test at 1.45 and then leave him more food. He's gonna be a fat little boy in the a.m after tonight!
 
fat and happy, no doubt! good job handling it tonight - and that is just about a perfect cycle. He cleared that bounce with a vengeance, but then the 60's surf is idea. He's bound to bounce from hitting greens again tomorrow. since you work then if he does bounce, it'll be handy timing!
 
fat and happy, no doubt! good job handling it tonight - and that is just about a perfect cycle. He cleared that bounce with a vengeance, but then the 60's surf is idea. He's bound to bounce from hitting greens again tomorrow. since you work then if he does bounce, it'll be handy timing!
boy I hope he does, or I'll be a nervous wreck! he went to 75 at +7, so i left 2 more small meals in his feeder, one to go at 2.30, then one at 3.15. Hope that holds him. Damn, he couldn't do this during the day the first time?! I'm gonna be zombie person tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top