Lisa & Oberon
Very Active Member
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-4-oberon-amps-76-2-118-4-5-85-7-5-90-pmps-139.288420/
Bouncing up a bit on the new dose, but that's ok. We're leaving tomorrow, so we're about to start on a vacation dose anyways. Here's my current plan but I'm looking for feedback. Current dose is 2.25, and even though his BG is up a bit now he's been on a general downward dose trend. The sitter will be coming twice a day to give insulin and hopefully check BG. But our kid will be staying home (kidney stone, yuck!) and can do additional BG checks (but not shots), and can also spread out feeding so it's not just twice a day.
With the way we measure the dose with the calipers, there's actually about 0.5 U of dead space included in the measurement. It's not normally all that important, but with the lower doses we're using now I think we need to think about it when planning a vacation dose or BCS, since that dead space is now a significant fraction of the total. What we call 2.25 U is actually 1.75 U. So for a regular dose of 1.75 U, what might be a reasonable vacation dose? I'm thinking 0.75 or 1 U?
Bouncing up a bit on the new dose, but that's ok. We're leaving tomorrow, so we're about to start on a vacation dose anyways. Here's my current plan but I'm looking for feedback. Current dose is 2.25, and even though his BG is up a bit now he's been on a general downward dose trend. The sitter will be coming twice a day to give insulin and hopefully check BG. But our kid will be staying home (kidney stone, yuck!) and can do additional BG checks (but not shots), and can also spread out feeding so it's not just twice a day.
With the way we measure the dose with the calipers, there's actually about 0.5 U of dead space included in the measurement. It's not normally all that important, but with the lower doses we're using now I think we need to think about it when planning a vacation dose or BCS, since that dead space is now a significant fraction of the total. What we call 2.25 U is actually 1.75 U. So for a regular dose of 1.75 U, what might be a reasonable vacation dose? I'm thinking 0.75 or 1 U?