? 4/5 Oberon AMPS 164, +4 198, PMPS 206 (vacation dose advice?)

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-4-oberon-amps-76-2-118-4-5-85-7-5-90-pmps-139.288420/

Bouncing up a bit on the new dose, but that's ok. We're leaving tomorrow, so we're about to start on a vacation dose anyways. Here's my current plan but I'm looking for feedback. Current dose is 2.25, and even though his BG is up a bit now he's been on a general downward dose trend. The sitter will be coming twice a day to give insulin and hopefully check BG. But our kid will be staying home (kidney stone, yuck!) and can do additional BG checks (but not shots), and can also spread out feeding so it's not just twice a day.

With the way we measure the dose with the calipers, there's actually about 0.5 U of dead space included in the measurement. It's not normally all that important, but with the lower doses we're using now I think we need to think about it when planning a vacation dose or BCS, since that dead space is now a significant fraction of the total. What we call 2.25 U is actually 1.75 U. So for a regular dose of 1.75 U, what might be a reasonable vacation dose? I'm thinking 0.75 or 1 U?
 
Remind me how long you will be gone?

Ideally a vacation dose would not have any greens on it. A 0.75 unit drop is quite a bit, but I think your choices are 2.0 or 1.5 as it's best to be on the line for the petsitter to draw the dose. Plus you haven't been on 2.25 long enough to know if by itself with no depot influence it'd show greens. Don't forget to leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid to the dose, or use a Sharpie and mark it.
 
We'll be gone 9 cycles. We'll do tomorrow morning's dose before we go, then we get back very late on Wednesday.
 
Back
Top