4/5 Niko AMPS 151, +1 131

Niko's Mom

Member
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-4-niko-amps-260.299791/#post-3261333

Well folks, much like Niko’s liver, I dramatically over reacted by bringing him back up to 2.00. He flirted with the 50s yesterday and had a little bounce last night but is back to the blues this AMPS. I anticipate we will be bringing him right back down to 1.75, potentially even tonight if he touches below 50 today. My partner is watching him to see if it’s an active cycle today as I’m at work.

also, unrelated but I’m struggling advocating for my family senior kitty, Oscar. He is 15 years old and lives with my parents (he was bonded to me when I lived with them, he was there throughout high school with me, my first soul kitty). He recently started having very bad seizures (maybe every month since this year), to the point where he can’t move his legs and loses bowel control. Sometimes they last hours.

He is not fond of vets so my parents have not taken him for over a decade. He has never had any problems until now. I am unfortunately thinking it may be time to bring him to the rainbow bridge (he has had bad weight loss and now with these seizures I suspect CKD). My parents are refusing to even consider that as a possibility, but he’s a spicy cat and even if we get him on medication, I suspect it might be hard for them to maintain a good schedule for him. He also would not do well to be transported to surgery or a neurologist.

I’m trying to schedule a home visit from the vet to do a potential examination. Maybe if they hear from the vet about his quality of life, they might be more inclined.

anyone else had experienced advocating for their senior kitties like this? He’s technically no longer my cat, which makes it hard that I can’t make those decisions.
 
Wow, Nikon cleared that bounce quickly. It's amazing what just a quarter dose can do!

I'm sorry about the situation with Oscar, Ana. Can't offer any advice as never dealt with something like that. The home visit sounds as first step sounds like a good idea though. Good luck. Such a tricky and sad process. :bighug:
 
Wow, Nikon cleared that bounce quickly. It's amazing what just a quarter dose can do!

I'm sorry about the situation with Oscar, Ana. Can't offer any advice as never dealt with something like that. The home visit sounds as first step sounds like a good idea though. Good luck. Such a tricky and sad process. :bighug:

he sure did! I think I need to just trust his pancreas a bit more. Anticipating we go back to 1.75 tonight, hopefully that will be the right move (just need to hold the dose and not freak out!)

and thank you for your kind words :( it’s tough, he is such a good kitty. I’m not the type to suggest euthanasia out of nowhere, I just really don’t want him to suffer. My parents are just a bit more emotionally in denial. But maybe if they try out some anti-seizure medications, it could make a difference.
 
Those high numbers are alarming to see for sure, and as many people have told me it's a marathon not a sprint. Sprinting can be very dangerous, especially in the middle of a bounce. I try to remind myself it's just a blip on a big map. And that blip that includes a lime is saying that was too much for me.

Not sure if you were advised otherwise, but it's my understanding to keep them safe we give them at least three days to let the depot drain some and to see what they really want to do on the new reduced dose. That time can feel like forever sometimes when we are not getting the blues and greens we want. It's just a blip. :bighug:
 
Well folks, much like Niko’s liver, I dramatically over reacted by bringing him back up to 2.00. He flirted with the 50s yesterday and had a little bounce last night but is back to the blues this AMPS. I anticipate we will be bringing him right back down to 1.75, potentially even tonight if he touches below 50 today. My partner is watching him to see if it’s an active cycle today as I’m at work.
Yup! He wasn't on 1.75U long enough for the bounce from that lime on 4/2 to clear and for you to see what he could potentially do at 1.75U. He was just bouncing harder from all that green and a lime. Bounces can be awful to see after a long stretch of good numbers but there's nothing to do except grab your pair of patience pants. :p

also, unrelated but I’m struggling advocating for my family senior kitty, Oscar. He is 15 years old and lives with my parents (he was bonded to me when I lived with them, he was there throughout high school with me, my first soul kitty). He recently started having very bad seizures (maybe every month since this year), to the point where he can’t move his legs and loses bowel control. Sometimes they last hours.

He is not fond of vets so my parents have not taken him for over a decade. He has never had any problems until now. I am unfortunately thinking it may be time to bring him to the rainbow bridge (he has had bad weight loss and now with these seizures I suspect CKD). My parents are refusing to even consider that as a possibility, but he’s a spicy cat and even if we get him on medication, I suspect it might be hard for them to maintain a good schedule for him. He also would not do well to be transported to surgery or a neurologist.

I’m trying to schedule a home visit from the vet to do a potential examination. Maybe if they hear from the vet about his quality of life, they might be more inclined.

anyone else had experienced advocating for their senior kitties like this? He’s technically no longer my cat, which makes it hard that I can’t make those decisions.
We had this problem with Bandit. In the last year of her life she started developing seizures. There were initially infrequent but started getting more frequent. Although, they didn't last hours. We weren't able to take her to a neurologist, so the vet put her on phenobarbital which she reacted to very badly. We therefore switched her to Gabapentin. We started her on 50 mg twice a day but had to up her dose over the next few months to 50 mg TID and eventually 75mg TID. She was around 14.5 years old when she started developing seizures. :(
 
Those high numbers are alarming to see for sure, and as many people have told me it's a marathon not a sprint. Sprinting can be very dangerous, especially in the middle of a bounce. I try to remind myself it's just a blip on a big map. And that blip that includes a lime is saying that was too much for me.

Not sure if you were advised otherwise, but it's my understanding to keep them safe we give them at least three days to let the depot drain some and to see what they really want to do on the new reduced dose. That time can feel like forever sometimes when we are not getting the blues and greens we want. It's just a blip. :bighug:

thanks for this, I appreciate it :( I was just too hasty, have learned my lesson….
 
Yup! He wasn't on 1.75U long enough for the bounce from that lime on 4/2 to clear and for you to see what he could potentially do at 1.75U. He was just bouncing harder from all that green and a lime. Bounces can be awful to see after a long stretch of good numbers but there's nothing to do except grab your pair of patience pants. :p


We had this problem with Bandit. In the last year of her life she started developing seizures. There were initially infrequent but started getting more frequent. Although, they didn't last hours. We weren't able to take her to a neurologist, so the vet put her on phenobarbital which she reacted to very badly. We therefore switched her to Gabapentin. We started her on 50 mg twice a day but had to up her dose over the next few months to 50 mg TID and eventually 75mg TID. She was around 14.5 years old when she started developing seizures. :(

i think you’re right! Do you think we should go back to 1.75? He had a nice cycle yesterday PMPS but not sure if he went lower than 79 when we caught him hence a bit of a bounce today….

and I’m so sorry to hear about Bandit. Seizures in kitties are so scary, I just want to do right by Oscar. Maybe I’ll suggest gabapentin to the vet. My dad and I have a call with her tomorrow.
 
Back
Top