4/5 Mouzer: PMPS 121/+3 62/+4 72/+5 77/+6 86/+7 63/+8 102/+9 133

Cherryl & Mouzer

Very Active Member
Good Morning :)
And blessed wishes to all kitties and their parents.

I am not even going to explain my day out :joyful:
I had to step back and think, recuperate, think, think, think, continue recuperating, etc...

4/5 Mouzer: AMPS 99/+2 117/+4 81/+6 86/+9 106/PMPS 121/+3 62/+4 72/+5 77/+6 86/+7 63/+8 102/+9 133

4/3 Mouzer: AMPS 95/+2 81/+3 92/+4 86/+6 88/+8 85/+10.5 81/
PMPS 77/+2 44/+2.5 1st LO,2nd 46,3rd 42/+3 35/+3.5 58/+3.75 74/+4 69/+4.5 75/+5 95/+6 62/+6.5 47/+6.75 61/+7 74/+8 74
 
Last edited:
Those are some pretty amazing numbers after a token and 2 skips.
That was an aggressive reduction, but I hope it sticks! Give it 4-6 cycles. :)

If it does not stick, I can take it up .25 and find where Mouzer continues being normal and not with the ongoing big drops and days and hours of life being put to a complete stop.
That drop to 35 was too fast and too much for me and my mental health, along with that I have been held prisoner of my home for some days and I have to worry when I must leave the house and I have to leave the house lol and my husband pitched a fit with that he is held prisoner, as I tell him if Mouzer drops, I cannot go anywhere, and too many days and hours in a row have me so behind in my work and my body in great pain and this cannot continue. Life cannot just stop. And if others can stop their lives, that is all good, this life here must continue. I had to do something.
I took a lot of time reading over the stickies and reading through the threads and just working to figure out what to do and this is what it came to :)
 
Oh what an awful journey but perhaps now in a better place? What a roller coaster of a journey. Sounds like you've been on the kingda ka for too long. I wish the journey was like the rides at a kiddies fair or even better the log floom but hey ho!
 
Oh what an awful journey but perhaps now in a better place? What a roller coaster of a journey. Sounds like you've been on the kingda ka for too long. I wish the journey was like the rides at a kiddies fair or even better the log floom but hey ho!

LOLOL I never did like the rides at the fair, except I always got on the horse merry go round :joyful:
I refused to get on those roller coasters and the high rides.
 
We need to take care of ourselves first so we can take care of everyone else around us. I think you made a good decision; worse comes to worse, you take his dose back up, but I hope Mouzer won't make you do that. Fingers and paws crossed for you!
 
I’ve never seen anyone take that big a reduction. I’m curious to see if it sticks. Good luck.

It would be well if it sticks but we will have to see. We cannot know unless we try :)
If it does not stick, there is always the increase of .25 :)
Thank you for the good luck :)
 
Last edited:
We need to take care of ourselves first so we can take care of everyone else around us. I think you made a good decision; worse comes to worse, you take his dose back up, but I hope Mouzer won't make you do that. Fingers and paws crossed for you!

Thank you for understanding. And that is my plans exactly. If this is not enough, take him up little by little and let Mouzer tell me when it is good, instead of running down fast and Mouzer having to warn me that it has gotten dangerous. I dont like the dangerous ride. Either way, we will achieve the same goal. I simply choose a safer ride in getting there.
At least what I must do in life can get done and I can do it once I get rested up and without this having to drag my painful body around with me lolol
My eyes have been beet red, glassy and burning for days. If I got pulled over, the cops would wonder if I am stoned hahaaha
 
I have been reading and refreshing and re-reading and learning as much as I can, because I do not like low numbers.

Although Mouzer did not get what the forum considers a HIGH dose, Mouzer's going into the 30's is considered a dose turned too high for Mouzer, the way my mind sees it. And for going down the ladder, the pretty regular drops to the 40's and then 30's too, tells me that Mouzer has doses too high.
And it being too regular for anyone to tend to any other thing in life, and that cannot be.

This was cause for me to give a larger reduction than .25. I gave a .75 reduction and I will take it back up in .25 increments, to be safe and find where does Mouzer need to be. As is right now, I do not have a 'last good dose' for Mouzer to take him back up to, according to TR. I have a drop to the 30's and a need to safely find what does Mouzer need, without the dangerous drops. Being as Mouzer was doing too many, fast, regular drops, I had to consider the ECID route and be safe for Mouzer, and to be safe for Mouzer's caregiver, as my body was breaking down and falling apart with trying to keep up.

From TR Sticky:
  • Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
 
Last edited:
I hope someone will come around and correct me if I am wrong, but the concerns around taking reductions too quickly are around the kitty not being ready for it and glucose toxicity setting in. Since Mouzer's numbers have been consistently below renal threshold for the past few weeks, toxicity is not a problem unless the numbers start creeping up again. The only issue would be that you may need to go up again in doses in order to see more of those blue numbers go away for a stronger remission but lots of cats on lower doses have to go through that, usually after they level out and stop doing the dramatic drops (like Ruby, for example :rolleyes:).

In any case, there's TR, and then there's your life. Mouzer's doing well. You hold the needle.
 
I hope someone will come around and correct me if I am wrong, but the concerns around taking reductions too quickly are around the kitty not being ready for it and glucose toxicity setting in. Since Mouzer's numbers have been consistently below renal threshold for the past few weeks, toxicity is not a problem unless the numbers start creeping up again. The only issue would be that you may need to go up again in doses in order to see more of those blue numbers go away for a stronger remission but lots of cats on lower doses have to go through that, usually after they level out and stop doing the dramatic drops (like Ruby, for example :rolleyes:).

In any case, there's TR, and then there's your life. Mouzer's doing well. You hold the needle.

I am watching the blue numbers. Mouzer's normal, when in the remission I am not to speak of lol but it is all I have to go by, ranged largely, 70's to 165, sometimes lower but not any higher. So, some blues I expect. This does make it hard for me to know when is it too many blues for Mouzer.
Mouzer was not a totally green cat lol
All I know to do is go from here and go up in the .25 increments, as it appears that is needed. And sadly, I am only human, my body has medical issues and I could not keep going with what was taking place. I cannot allow this to take me down, sick, and it was doing just that.
 
Observing my Mouzer - Like a hawk :)

TR - Did you skip a shot or give a partial shot at some time in the past few days? That can result in higher numbers for several days as the depot replenishes some of its lost stores.
Did you decrease the dose recently? A dose reduction will usually result in a need for less stored insulin. The excess may be released into the bloodstream faster than usual, especially if several dose reductions are done back-to-back.

Yes and Yes on one, one partial and two skips :joyful:
And Yes on two, decrease dose :joyful:
 
Back
Top