4/5 Minnie AMPS 114ear/283 Libre, +0.5 239 ear, +1 292 libre 0.25R

@Wendy&Neko
@+30min ear reading 239. No R per vet guidelines or your previous message. Though she does have high ketones, and I can give her another feed. What do you suggest?
 
Expanding on the above, what food are you feeding now? The other possibility is to feed her higher carbs and increase the R. But it would depend when the vet visit is. I wouldn't want to have her at the vet during the peak of the R action if you increase to 0.5 units R. Hopefully you can get some a/d or Recovery from the vet to give you more options.
 
I've been giving LC including 100ml breakfast at PM +10/7:30.

Just before leaving for vet @+1.5 (10:45) I gave 0.25u R and 20ml HC (wd). Had exactly your concern but even more cautious!

Sent ahead a list of questions. Poor thing had to pee in the car and has been leaving trail of drops leaving the litter tray so I've also asked about UTI.

No need to apologize, either! I am grateful whenever you're around to hold my hand!!
 
Liz, for never having had a sick cat to nurse before, you are doing amazingly well. I have been trying to check in on Minnie today. The board went down earlier when I was checking... now I'm back. Let us know how your vet visit went when you can.

I was on pins and needles on Saturday night watching what was going on with Minnie. I stayed up too late and kept waking up to check.
Hugs!
 
writing quickly

I gave her 0.25uR then 20ml food before leaving for vet. I felt quite positive with dr visit, she took more blood and also checking for UTI. They gave subq potassium and sent us home. As soon as I turned off the engine, she projectile vomited a lot. Vet said give ondansetron, which I did. She's quiet but alert, and drinking water. About hour after ondansetron I decided time to try food...gave 1/4 dissolved cerenia first via the tube, waited 5-10 min then 15ml food. Then decided to give 0.5uR (vet guidance is to increase dose since ketones are high). Immediately after she puked it all back. Just talked to vet, heading back up there. Still waiting on lab results to know what's going on but she can give shot of cerenia/ondansetron and maybe electrolytes.

Wish us luck. At least I had time to dress & shower before vet this morning!

thanks everyone
 
They just took her in. She seemed so poorly and weak on the drive up but I offered water while waiting in the parking lot and she drank a lot, and seemed alert looking out the opened window which raised my hopes... which were pretty much rock bottom, was thinking she may not be coming home...

Noted on cerenia. Vet had only said to give ondansetron but I was feeling ultra cautious. Needed the patience pants (should have asked here!) - but since it was >1hr after ondansetron I thought was OK. Does cerenia need 30min to take effect or is there some other reason to wait? And is there a recommended wait time for ondansetron?
 
Sigh. Bloodwork not back from lab but her white counts very high now so going to give antibiotics, which also will help ketones. She's acidotic again. Dr said she is very frustrated! And I was right to give the 0.5u of R. Keeping her in overnight, will try just subq first to see if that works before IV. My Costco rebate will be enormous. And I guess means I can sleep in bed again tonight at least.
 
I found odansetron took 20-30 minutes to take effect, Cerenia the same or longer. You can do the two at the same time.

We've got all our paws, fingers and toes crossed here. And sending tons of virtual hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks all. Vet just called. They will start subq but switch to IV if it's not working. White count so high there is a possibility she has sepsis and may not make it.
 
(((Liz))) & (((Minnie))) - holding you all close and sending lots of love. For just a ray of hope, Jax was suspected to have sepsis in 2018 - our Hail Mary was meropenem and by some grace it worked. I know zero about this drug other than it is what helped Jax's particular case. Hang in there mama bean :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Liz I am praying for your sweet girl, I've been checking in to see how she's doing.
Praying you get better news. My heart breaks for her and you ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks all. Vet just called. They will start subq but switch to IV if it's not working. White count so high there is a possibility she has sepsis and may not make it.
Oh my. I won’t be able to sleep tonight. I can’t believe this. I will go pray for Minnie now. I’m so sorry.
 
Back
Top