4/5 Malki AMPS 344, +3 151 Q re: bounce from PM+6 of 70 last nite?

miribluebeard

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...e-regarding-dosage-resolved-thank-you.245682/ --- previous thread

Please see Malkis spreadsheet.
I am trying to learn patterns here.
Last night she did her first cycle of the new reduced 0.5U and I am attempting to follow SLGS protocol. At PM+6 (midnight) she was 70 which isn't scary low but I wasn't comfortable going off to bed with her at that number, I cracked another patê can and she ate a little extra low carb than I would usually feed at this time of the night as well as some Meat Mates treats and I did a +7 (1am) before I went to bed to make sure it was rising and it was 92. I may have missed a lower number somewhere between +3 and +6, she was asleep between those times.
Her AMPS this morning at 6am was 344 and +3 is 151, Is the AMPS number a bounce from the low last night combined with the extra food?
Should I hold at the 0.5 still or do I now have to drop to 0.25 as per SLGS saying to reduce if a nadir is under 90?
My brain is cooked from lack of sleep so an outside opinion is very valuable to me at the moment haha.
 
I think she did bounce this morning. You would decrease if you follow SLGS to .25.

So it's not too quick to jump down like that two days in a row? I'm not questioning your advice at all, just trying to learn so I can apply these things without having to double check a hundred times with everyone haha. Also, if she goes under 90 at 0.25 where do I go from there? Do I stop insulin or reduce to a barely anything dose?
 
SLGS says to immediately reduce if they go below 90, so yes on the reduction. It may be the depot from the 0.75 that got you the 70 last night, but time will tell. Good luck with the reduction.

After 0.25 units, we have a dose called 0.1 unit, and then some go to a "drop". Pictures of the 0.1 unit dose are in the Sticky Note on Fine Dosing. A cats spreadsheet should look mostly high green/low blues on SLGS before they are ready to stop insulin. Malki's not quite there yet. We want to give her insulin support as long as safely possible, to ensure a strong remission, should that be in the cards.
 
So it's not too quick to jump down like that two days in a row? I'm not questioning your advice at all, just trying to learn so I can apply these things without having to double check a hundred times with everyone haha. Also, if she goes under 90 at 0.25 where do I go from there? Do I stop insulin or reduce to a barely anything dose?

It is quick but how SLGS works. With TR the reduction number is 50 and with depot action like this you would not reduce. Like you were saying yesterday it might be an issue to do SLGS and quick reductions. You might consider trying to stick with TR and the .50 dose. If he falls under 50 or you find you can't monitor a lower reshot number you could try the .25 and work your way back up if needed. With TR if a reduction doesn't work you can go back up to the last dose. With SLGS you reduce every time you drop under 90 and then wait a week before increasing if the nadirs are high.
 
Ahhhhhhh so much to consider
Thank you both for the advice, I'll have a couple more coffees and sit down with the printouts again, I'm not a human mum so haven't experienced sleep deprivation like this before so I'm veeerryyyy foggy. I've never been this unsure of myself in my life!
 
Whatever you decide is not set in stone. You can give SLGS a try and if not happy with the results go back to TR. He is looking so good you might find him diet controlled quickly. I hope so.:bighug:
 
Back
Top