4/5 Maggie PMPS 118; +2 99 Relion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Sending vines and prayers for Karrie during this time to get thru this difficult time of losing Maverick so suddenly. I picture all our GA kitties waiting for Maverick to cross the Bridge.

I had a high number on the Relion and remembered someone yesterday saying the Relion can give a wonky number with a big drop, so I tested it against my Aviva and then tested the Relion a second time. I think I'll go by the 2nd number.

212 Relion - big drop blood
173 Relion - second check small drop
163 Aviva 163

I think I've had some wonky numbers before with a big drop. All P's in place with Maggie. She has been a little bit picky with food, so last evening I tried an old favorite - FF Chopped Grill - and she ate so fast if someone didn't know me would have thought I had been starving her!! I had a long talk with my Vet's Assistant, and he's fine with me using the Relion if it's consistent with being 30 points lower than the animal meter. He asked me to call the maker of Relion, which I did, and of course, they could not tell me for sure it's the 30 point variance, as they stated this meter has never been tested on animals. In the protocol, it said that a few Abbott meters were tested against the animal meter, but Relion wasn't one. Different times when I was using the ATrack solely I would compare with the Relion, and at times there could be a 45 point difference depending on the high or low bg. The Assistant said my Vet is really interested in Maggie's weekly ss and looks at every detail which I did not realize. He's never been keen on home testing until seeing how well I'm doing with Maggie. He's a great Vet, and I really like knowing he's monitoring so closely and working with me. There are also two other Vets in this hospital, and they're on board with home testing. For this reason I'm going back to the ATrak. It was my decision, so don't worry I sure wasn't influenced at all. It's just that I have so much data with the ATrak, and he's used to this meter and I am, too! I'm not completely sold on the Relion, except for the sipping small drops and ease of using. Thanks for all your patience and feedback with meters and your experiences. I think if I had changed in the beginning, it would have been easier. Sorry for writing a book and if you want to slap me, it's okay. :lol:
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 163

No apologies, I like reading books :lol:

All these different numbers had to have been confusing. The best thing to do is to use the meter that you and your vet are most comfortable with so going back is a good decision I think. Hope you and Maggie have a lovely day.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 163

Well Ann...YOU have to use the meter that YOU are most comfortable with. And if you can handle the expense of the test strips for the Alpha Trac then why not use it? I have never tried it myself because of the price of those tests strips. But then again, I have TWO that are needing testing during the day so at a $1 a pop, I would not want to be thinking about the money I was going through each time I wanted a test......or fretting about the back up supply.
That's why I like the Reli-On Micro....one of the reasons anyway.

So, you already have the meter...and it's wonderful that your vet is taking such special interest....great job Ann!
Just think of the doors this is opening for your vet and all the future FD kitties he meets! Nice job!! :thumbup

So, if you stick with the AT does that mean you will not be double and triple checking with all your back up meters for Maggie? Are you going to be a ONE Meter Mama??? Do we have to cancel the earring order for Maggie's ears? The girls were getting into all the lovely earrings she could have going up her ear. They loved looked online for different ones and were really getting into it.
I guess if Maggie won't need the earrings, they could always play Monopoly when they get together instead of doing the earring searches..... :lol:
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 163

We are also saddened to hear of mavericks passing and hope he is running and playing with all the other GA's ...

This isn't a bad start to the day at all ... nice blue for maggie .. and I am glad you are going with the meter you are most comfortable with .. and I'm glad to hear that maggie found an old classic she loves and ate well for you .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 163

Hi Ann & Maggie.. wow 3 tests to get this # :lol:
I agree with, Pat.. use the meter you are comfortable with & works best for you.. all this meter switching & discussion :dizcat
I know you think the Relion reads really low, I personally don't think so.. it works wonderful for us. I hope you get it all lined out, I do think it is awesome your Vet takes an active interest, have a great day!
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 163

Hi Ann & Maggie,
You have to use the best meter for you. The worst thing is doing constant comparisons. So, pick one--in this case the A-T--and stick with it. How great that Maggie has rediscovered a favorite food. I might get some of the FF Mixed Grill to try on Rusty. He got a small snack of FF Turkey & giblets last night at bedtime and gobbled it up (he only gets a tiny bit because it spikes his bg, even though it is supposed to be low in carbs). I don't know what they put in their food, but the kitties sure go for it!
Have a lovely day,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162 Relion

So, if you stick with the AT does that mean you will not be double and triple checking with all your back up meters for Maggie? Are you going to be a ONE Meter Mama??? Do we have to cancel the earring order for Maggie's ears? The girls were getting into all the lovely earrings she could have going up her ear. They loved looked online for different ones and were really getting into it.
I guess if Maggie won't need the earrings, they could always play Monopoly when they get together instead of doing the earring searches.....

:lol: :lol: I knew we would get a good comic relief when Pat read my condo. Yes, ONR Meter Mama. No, keep the earring order just in case.... Can I still stay on LL? :sad:
Thanks Nicole, I know it's a good meter; I guess I'm too used to the old one - change is hard for us youngsters! :lol:
Hi Devon, yes Maggie has taught me a lesson. Keep the food she all of a sudden dislikes. Then later try it again on her, and lo and behold, all of a sudden it's a hit! I have some FF chopped grill but will need to buy more today.
Hi Ella, you're so right - it is confusing comparing. Give Rusty some FF Chopped Grill and see what he thinks about it. The Classic FF aren't in Janet & Binky's list, so not sure of the carbs. I could see if someone on Health has it.
Hi Iorwen. I hope the bad cold leaves and you have a better day today.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162 Relion

Hi Ann and I am all the time meter comparing I just do not post it you have no idea how on some days I may have 4 meters all lined up to test DL and I know this is not a good idea.... anyway good luck to you on which you deicide to go with I just cannot afford to use the alphatrak myself the strip cost to me is just way to high when I am burning up the strips if DL is low. My vets use the relion confirm now for our clinic.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162 Relion

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Hi Ann and I am all the time meter comparing I just do not post it you have no idea how on some days I may have 4 meters all lined up to test DL and I know this is not a good idea.... anyway good luck to you on which you deicide to go with I just cannot afford to use the alphatrak myself the strip cost to me is just way to high when I am burning up the strips if DL is low. My vets use the relion confirm now for our clinic.

Hi Lisa, this makes me feel a lot better knowing someone else does the same thing with the meters :)!! I was laughing when I read about your 4 meters. I won't tell Pat. :-D How wonderful that your Vet uses the Relion/Confirm in your clinic.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162; +5 139 Relion

gosh darn it, binks read your first post, and claims it says "if you want to slap celi.." :lol:

we did the meter shuffle as well...but it drove me bonkers...
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162; +5 139 Relion

Ann, it's your choice to make on the meter! If you are more comfortable with the AT, that's fine. I use the Confirm, I love it, but that's what I've used from the beginning. I've gotten two backup meters, Bayer Contour and Freestyle Lite, and they both read very close to the Confirm when I checked them (once, only once.....I would drive myself crazy if I kept testing different meters!) so that helped me be confident in my meter. I also only compared when he was under 100, because that's where the accuracy is important. High is high, it really doesn't affect dosing decisions....the low numbers are where it is important.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162; +5 139 Relion

Nice slow drop today, I'm glad you settled on a meter. Switching can drive you crazy. You've got to do what you feel best with.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162; +5 139 Relion

gosh darn it, binks read your first post, and claims it says "if you want to slap celi.."
we did the meter shuffle as well...but it drove me bonkers...

Hi Celi, I better be careful what I write now that I know Binksy is reading my posts. :lol:
Hi Ann, Thank you. Yes, Maggie seems to always have a nice slow drop.
Hi Laurie, you were smart by comparing only once with your back-up meters. I'll remember that with the low numbers.
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie AMPS 173; +3 162; +5 139 Relion

Hi Ann: agree with everyone else that you should use what you are comfy with. I think we are all meterholics :lol: :lol: I have three and occasionally I just check them against each other but that is so the next time I decide to put one of them in the microwave instead of the rice sock, then I know my non-toasted backups are accurate to the normal one I use. :lol: :lol: :lol: And I did fry my meter once in the microwave after an all nighter with Miss Gracie.

OK Maggie...time to come down!!
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie PMPS 118 Relion

Well, Maggie did come down nicely from her AMPS of 173, so not bad. Tomorrow I start the ATrak.

Thank you Ann & Tess for the link on the FF Chopped Grill. I may have spoke too soon. Now she's not eating the FF Chopped Grill. :roll: Hopefully, she's just not hungry.

Hi Marje & Gracie, that is too funny now about the meter and the microwave. I can understand how it would happen after an all nighter. I think a lot here have three - the secret is coming out, but don't tell Pat & Shadow! :lol:
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie PMPS 118 Relion

i love meter condos. I am with the others - you have to use what you are comfortable with, and stick with it. I've been through the meter shuffle too, and it can drive you crazy.

I think it is so great that your vet is on board as he is - very nice! It must be great to be able to talk with them one on one and know they respect what you are doing.He's probably learning from your results as well. Great job!

Have a great night guys!
 
Re: 4/5 Maggie PMPS 118 Relion

Miss Maggie is looking great tonight!! I'm with the others... you go with the meter you are most comfortable with!! So lovely to read of a vet that is on board, learning, and engaged in keeping up on Maggie's progress!! Awesomeness!!

Hope you guys have a great night!!

Gud job, Miss Maggie, gettin de bean to give up de gud fuds. Mah bean iz still givin me de raw. She dusn't unnerstand.... we need it to make de sliders an kabobs for our partees!!! TTYL!! --Willie
 
99 bg at +2.
I hope Maggie is getting back on track. Just missing a shot really threw her off there for a while. Thank you Christie and Michelle. It really is so nice to have a Vet on board with the hometesting and interested in the ss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top