4.5 Frankie AMPS 310 PMPS 305

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Here where are a month later.

I'm not sure what happened last night, but the end result was back to over 300

Chubby is going to the vet (he has hardly been eating) tonite and I noticed that he groomed a spot on his chest right down to his flesh. Not a good way to start the day.
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

He's getting to the vet -- that makes it a good day.
Hoping it is nothing serious.
Maybe Frankie didn't want you to worry about him so you could take care of Chubby today.
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

I have to call the vet today, and I'm either going to bring Chubby in in the AM tomorrow ro late today. But, I'd rather have him home tonite before he goes thru the ordeal of
1. Getting into his carrier
2. Being poked and prodded
3 Being left alone, maybe overnite.

At any rate, I couldnt believe that I didnt see the spot that he totally groomed away all his fur.

We'll get him taken care of.

Either way I go with Frankie its like he doesnt play ball, and his on his own song page. I was up till 12:30 (I coudlnt make it and stay awake) got 4 hours of sleep. To wake up to him being over 300.

Whats up with that.

Isnt this insulin supposed to produce flat curves. The curve I ran yesterday wasnt exactly flat.
Peaked at +4, from +4 to +10 rising and from +10 to +12 back down. I then shoot low (yeah low for me) and he goes over 300.

This is how this works. I dont see this kind of stuff anywhere in the stickies when talking about the protocol. Its frustrating as could be.

D and Noisy said:
He's getting to the vet -- that makes it a good day.
Hoping it is nothing serious.
Maybe Frankie didn't want you to worry about him so you could take care of Chubby today.
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

More than likely it's rebound in Frankie, Jay. The liver isn't used to seeing Frankie go that low for an extended period of time anymore and is reacting. It's in the stickies in the protocol. If you looked at other ss's you'd see it every day. Lantus IS about flat curves but the kitty has to be somewhat regulated before you see them consistently. That can take a while. Again, look at other spreadsheets. :)

Has Chubby had allergies? That's what it sounds like. Good that you're getting him to the vet though. He sounds real uncomfortable. (My last cat chewed his fur down to his wrist bone and all he needed was Chlor Trimeton-otc allergy medicine- to 'fix' the problem)

Let's hope for the best for Chubby too:)

Caryl
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

Caryl and Alex said:
More than likely it's rebound in Frankie, Jay. The liver isn't used to seeing Frankie go that low for an extended period of time anymore and is reacting. It's in the stickies in the protocol. If you looked at other ss's you'd see it every day. Lantus IS about flat curves but the kitty has to be somewhat regulated before you see them consistently. That can take a while. Again, look at other spreadsheets. :)

Has Chubby had allergies?

Not that I am or have been aware of. other then him being very picky over food. He has been nibbling a bit, and then walking away. The last time he was at the Vet, Dr. Jay mentioned that both of my guys have an inherited gum disease and sooner or later will need to start having some teeth pulled. He also went on to tell me that no matter what I could have done, it wouldnt have helped thier dental issues. I'm wondering if thats the reason that Chubby isnt eating much.
Grooming away a patch of fur on his chest right down to his flesh, is another story.

That's what it sounds like. Good that you're getting him to the vet though. He sounds real uncomfortable.

I think that I am more uncomfortable then he is. I left him to go to work and he was sleeping under my covers. (My last cat chewed his fur down to his wrist bone and all he needed was Chlor Trimeton-otc allergy medicine- to 'fix' the problem)

I have to call Dr Jay (Maywood Vet), gonna try and get him in tomorrow morning.

Let's hope for the best for Chubby too:)

Its a bit wierd as I am more concerned about Chubby then I am about Frankie. Yeah he is high. I can deal with that. Having an anorexic cat is another story.

Caryl
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

Jay said:
Caryl and Alex said:
More than likely it's rebound in Frankie, Jay. The liver isn't used to seeing Frankie go that low for an extended period of time anymore and is reacting. It's in the stickies in the protocol. If you looked at other ss's you'd see it every day. Lantus IS about flat curves but the kitty has to be somewhat regulated before you see them consistently. That can take a while. Again, look at other spreadsheets. :)

Has Chubby had allergies?

Not that I am or have been aware of. other then him being very picky over food. He has been nibbling a bit, and then walking away. The last time he was at the Vet, Dr. Jay mentioned that both of my guys have an inherited gum disease and sooner or later will need to start having some teeth pulled. He also went on to tell me that no matter what I could have done, it wouldnt have helped thier dental issues. I'm wondering if thats the reason that Chubby isnt eating much.
Grooming away a patch of fur on his chest right down to his flesh, is another story.

That's what it sounds like. Good that you're getting him to the vet though. He sounds real uncomfortable.

I think that I am more uncomfortable then he is. I left him to go to work and he was sleeping under my covers. (My last cat chewed his fur down to his wrist bone and all he needed was Chlor Trimeton-otc allergy medicine- to 'fix' the problem)

I have to call Dr Jay (Maywood Vet), gonna try and get him in tomorrow morning.

Let's hope for the best for Chubby too:)

Its a bit wierd as I am more concerned about Chubby then I am about Frankie. Yeah he is high. I can deal with that. Having an anorexic cat is another story.

That's not weird at all. I just made an appointment for Jackson for tomorrow afternoon because he has an ugly gross cyst the size of a quarter on his side. He had it once before and my vet lanced it and it went away and now it's back and uglier than before. I worry about all of the awful things it could be(unjinx unjinx)and when I do Alex goes on the back burner as well. I love both of my cats with all of my heart. Jackson is my 'soul mate'(don't tell Alex). They both depend on me, no matter who's problems seem worse they both deserve equal consideration, no? :razz:

Caryl
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

Caryl and Alex said:
Jay said:
Caryl and Alex said:
More than likely it's rebound in Frankie, Jay. The liver isn't used to seeing Frankie go that low for an extended period of time anymore and is reacting. It's in the stickies in the protocol. If you looked at other ss's you'd see it every day. Lantus IS about flat curves but the kitty has to be somewhat regulated before you see them consistently. That can take a while. Again, look at other spreadsheets. :)

Has Chubby had allergies?

Not that I am or have been aware of. other then him being very picky over food. He has been nibbling a bit, and then walking away. The last time he was at the Vet, Dr. Jay mentioned that both of my guys have an inherited gum disease and sooner or later will need to start having some teeth pulled. He also went on to tell me that no matter what I could have done, it wouldnt have helped thier dental issues. I'm wondering if thats the reason that Chubby isnt eating much.
Grooming away a patch of fur on his chest right down to his flesh, is another story.

That's what it sounds like. Good that you're getting him to the vet though. He sounds real uncomfortable.

I think that I am more uncomfortable then he is. I left him to go to work and he was sleeping under my covers. (My last cat chewed his fur down to his wrist bone and all he needed was Chlor Trimeton-otc allergy medicine- to 'fix' the problem)

I have to call Dr Jay (Maywood Vet), gonna try and get him in tomorrow morning.

Let's hope for the best for Chubby too:)

Its a bit wierd as I am more concerned about Chubby then I am about Frankie. Yeah he is high. I can deal with that. Having an anorexic cat is another story.

That's not weird at all. I just made an appointment for Jackson for tomorrow afternoon because he has an ugly gross cyst the size of a quarter on his side. He had it once before and my vet lanced it and it went away and now it's back and uglier than before. I worry about all of the awful things it could be(unjinx unjinx)and when I do Alex goes on the back burner as well. I love both of my cats with all of my heart. Jackson is my 'soul mate'(don't tell Alex). They both depend on me, no matter who's problems seem worse they both deserve equal consideration, no? :razz:

Caryl

We're a team on this, Chubbs, me and Frankie, just like you are on your side. I feel the wame way as you do. I love Chubbs as much as I do Frankie, although Chubbs makes it a bit more difficult to do thaht. But, none the less he is just as much my familly as Frankie is
 
Re: 4.5 Frankie AMPS 310

We're a team on this, Chubbs, me and Frankie, just like you are on your side. I feel the wame way as you do. I love Chubbs as much as I do Frankie, although Chubbs makes it a bit more difficult to do thaht. But, none the lesshe is just as much my familly as Frankie is

well jeepers Jay, that's as it should be!
 
Caryl and Alex said:
We're a team on this, Chubbs, me and Frankie, just like you are on your side. I feel the wame way as you do. I love Chubbs as much as I do Frankie, although Chubbs makes it a bit more difficult to do thaht. But, none the lesshe is just as much my familly as Frankie is

well jeepers Jay, that's as it should be!

just like you. Alex and Jackson.
 
I'm not liking this at all.

He's been at this dose now for almsot 2 weeks, A few good days and a whole lot more high ones.

For a brief period last week, he settled into the mid 200;s at PS time. Yeah I know, I'm tlaking PS, I am not home during the day during the week, Not much else I can go on is there? Liver acting up? What does that mean? He should be dropping not hovering around at 300 PS's.

I've been patient, with a dose, and been trying to work the protocol, clearly either Frankie is not buying into the protocol or the protocol isnt working for him. Too make matters even nuttier,(and me more frustrated) Chubby still wont eat. We are going to the Vet Wednesday evening. Hopefully we can find out what is wrong with Chubby and we can get him right again.
 
You had two shots skipped mixed in during the two weeks, not exactly the same thing as being at a dose for two weeks.
Shed emptied out/refilled/havin' some blues/some yellows/not too many pinks and mostly low 300s. Haven't see red in awhile, that's nice.
I don't think SS looks all that bad. Especially yesterday, which was a day you got to see what goes on while your out.
 
Not bad..you know why I skipped two doses. I want to come home to a cat that is, well, moving.

I shoot low and get some play, like yesterday and whammo, back where we were..
\
Yesterday wasnt bad for him. Shooting on the PM side, my heart was in my mouth till I passed out. But I did it, to see how far he would drop and how long that would take him as well as where we ended up at the next cycle so that I can shoot at that number without out fear. Obviously that didnt happen the way I had it planned. From +3 at non diaabetic numbers to over 300 9 hours later. Something wrong with that no?

As it was durning the AM side. he didnt curve, he dropped, went back up and dropped yet again. Isnt this supposed to be a nice flat curve? I keep hearing about that and have yet to see it. Just bouncing around from PS to the middle of a cylce to PS.

How can I, based on all of that I have seen so far, shoot that low, knowing I wont be around to protect him.



D and Noisy said:
You had two shots skipped mixed in during the two weeks, not exactly the same thing as being at a dose for two weeks.
Shed emptied out/refilled/havin' some blues/some yellows/not too many pinks and mostly low 300s. Haven't see red in awhile, that's nice.
I don't think SS looks all that bad. Especially yesterday, which was a day you got to see what goes on while your out.
 
Jay said:
Not bad..you know why I skipped two doses. I want to come home to a cat that is, well, moving.

Maybe you thought I was criticizing the two missed shots -- I wasn't. Only saying they are part of the picture.

I shoot low and get some play, like yesterday and whammo, back where we were..

Not sure I could think of one, two, three, etc. days as giving the whole picture. I remember spending some time writing to you about the difficulty I had with learning Lantus time.
Maybe give Noisy's SS a close look. You will see months of us finding our way.

\
Yesterday wasnt bad for him. Shooting on the PM side, my heart was in my mouth till I passed out. But I did it, to see how far he would drop and how long that would take him as well as where we ended up at the next cycle so that I can shoot at that number without out fear. Obviously that didnt happen the way I had it planned. From +3 at non diaabetic numbers to over 300 9 hours later. Something wrong with that no?

No, not wrong. Part of the course, yes.

As it was durning the AM side. he didnt curve, he dropped, went back up and dropped yet again. Isnt this supposed to be a nice flat curve? I keep hearing about that and have yet to see it. Just bouncing around from PS to the middle of a cylce to PS.

To me, you are not seeing severe bouncing. Yes, curve gets flat, does everybody have a flat curve? Sooner or later they usually do. Not always instantly, each cat gets to his flat curve on his terms. Frankie is developing some flatness now.

How can I, based on all of that I have seen so far, shoot that low, knowing I wont be around to protect him.

I hope shooting lower gets easier for you because shooting lower is what Lantus does beautifully.

I think I posted this before but hope you give it a look. Cats who went into remission on LL with the help of this forum.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... _dHQ&gid=1


D and Noisy said:
You had two shots skipped mixed in during the two weeks, not exactly the same thing as being at a dose for two weeks.
Shed emptied out/refilled/havin' some blues/some yellows/not too many pinks and mostly low 300s. Haven't see red in awhile, that's nice.
I don't think SS looks all that bad. Especially yesterday, which was a day you got to see what goes on while your out.
 
D and Noisy said:
Jay said:
Not bad..you know why I skipped two doses. I want to come home to a cat that is, well, moving.

Maybe you thought I was criticizing the two missed shots -- I wasn't. Only saying they are part of the picture.

I'm not that sensitive, I know you werent criticizing me


I shoot low and get some play, like yesterday and whammo, back where we were..

Not sure I could think of one, two, three, etc. days as giving the whole picture. I remember spending some time writing to you about the difficulty I had with learning Lantus time.
Maybe give Noisy's SS a close look. You will see months of us finding our way.


Months!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YIKES\
Yesterday wasnt bad for him. Shooting on the PM side, my heart was in my mouth till I passed out. But I did it, to see how far he would drop and how long that would take him as well as where we ended up at the next cycle so that I can shoot at that number without out fear. Obviously that didnt happen the way I had it planned. From +3 at non diaabetic numbers to over 300 9 hours later. Something wrong with that no?

No, not wrong. Part of the course, yes.

How couold stuff like that be normal unless its abnormal to begin with?

As it was durning the AM side. he didnt curve, he dropped, went back up and dropped yet again. Isnt this supposed to be a nice flat curve? I keep hearing about that and have yet to see it. Just bouncing around from PS to the middle of a cylce to PS.

To me, you are not seeing severe bouncing. Yes, curve gets flat, does everybody have a flat curve? Sooner or later they usually do. Not always instantly, each cat gets to his flat curve on his terms.

How can I, based on all of that I have seen so far, shoot that low, knowing I wont be around to protect him.

I hope shooting lower gets easier for you because shooting lower is what Lantus does beautifully.

I think I posted this before but hope you give it a look. Cats who went into remission on LL with the help of this forum.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... _dHQ&gid=1

I woud like very much for him to walk away from needing insulin, I am however not really expecting that at this point, and until he does walk or doesnt ever walk away, I just want to keep him as healthy as I can for as long as I can.

I made a promise to him way back when....He was at the Vet for blood work, fluids for a week after his dx. And I went to see him every nite when I came home from work (after taking care of Chubbs of course) and I promised him one at one of those visits, that I would never walk away from him and wil ldo what it takes to keep him around. He looked at me with that look of fear and doubt but trust in me during those visits,

D and Noisy said:
You had two shots skipped mixed in during the two weeks, not exactly the same thing as being at a dose for two weeks.
Shed emptied out/refilled/havin' some blues/some yellows/not too many pinks and mostly low 300s. Haven't see red in awhile, that's nice.
I don't think SS looks all that bad. Especially yesterday, which was a day you got to see what goes on while your out.
 
I think SSs show more than I can write.
Did you look at Noisy's SS and scroll to the almost end?

P.S. The very end is too sad, he got sick and died from lymphoma. Darn, now i have tears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top