4/5 Evey AMPS 149 +3 49 +5 43 PMPS 182 +3 63 +5 49

Evey

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-evey-amps-139-6-59.299541/#post-3258005

Happy Saturday~
We took Evey to the vet for her checkup and we asked the vet about her urine couple days ago. Her urine test showed lots of bacteria in it. There has been bacterias in her urine for about half a year now. She was given antibiotic for 7 days last time. the vet didn't give her any because she showed no UTI symptoms and taking too much antibiotic might increase the risk of getting tolerance. It seems it's really hard to get rid of the bacteria. That's really troubling me. Her skin is getting thinner. When the vet tried to draw her blood, the needle just touched the skin slightly then the blood "leaked" out. It was pretty scary.

Anyway, her BG has been pretty good after the check up. She is still on 0.75U and she dropped down to between 40 to 49 two days in a row now. One more time then she can earn her reduction!

Hope all the fur balls surf well~
 
Sending you and Evey good wishes. I’m sorry her skin is thinning :(
That sounds very scary.
Did they recommend any supplements to help with the bacteria in her urine since they don’t want to treat with antibiotics?

Have a safe surf, Evey! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I'm sorry about the bacteria in her urine. Jude has problems with chronic UTIs, too. Did the doctor do a culture of the bacteria to determine which antibiotic to treat with the last time? Jude ended up needing two rounds of antibiotics the last infection to clear up the bacteria. I'm glad her numbers are so good, given the presence of bacteria in her urine--that typically sends Jude's numbers high.

Is it aging that is causing her skin to thin. I can imagine that is concerning to you.
 
Sending you and Evey good wishes. I’m sorry her skin is thinning :(
That sounds very scary.
Did they recommend any supplements to help with the bacteria in her urine since they don’t want to treat with antibiotics?

Have a safe surf, Evey! :bighug::cat::bighug:

No, they didn't recommend anything. The vet said as long as there's no symptoms, there should be no problem. I have been doing research online. It seems cranberry extra can help. But I am not sure if it's good for her BG.
 
Did the doctor do a culture of the bacteria to determine which antibiotic to treat with the last time?

Yes, but the vet said it wasn't necessary to check if there were still bacteria in the urine after finishing the antibiotics if she shows no symptoms, so we didn't check if the antibiotic actually cleared out the bacteria. Maybe we should have taken her to the vet after she finished the antibiotic.

The skin problem is due to diabetes and aging. I've been feeding her fish oil and her fur on stomach grows back a little bit but not much. I am thinking buying her a shirt to protect her stomach skin.
 
Back
Top