Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116673
Today:
AMPS = 224 (1.5u)
+2 = 252
+5 = 154
+6 = 113
+7 = 93 :mrgreen:
+8 = 75 :mrgreen:
+9 = 76 :mrgreen:
+10 = 62 :mrgreen:
+10.5 = 70 :mrgreen:
+11 = 73 :mrgreen:
+11.75 = 99 :mrgreen:
+12.5 = 114
PMPS (+12.75) = 161 (1.5u)
+1 = 329
+2 = 316
+4 = 324
Good morning LL!
Eddie made it through his first Lantus cycle last night without event. ;-) I am really curious to see if Eddie has nice smooth flat cycles as his depot fills.
I'm so fortunate to have a partner who is an active participant in caring for Eddie. DH usually does the shooting in the AM and lets me get a little extra sleep. Previously, on ProZinc, he'd test at 5:00 AM, when he got up, come in and wake me up to tell me the number and then shoot as instructed. I am not a morning person (especially with Eddie regularly keeping me up till 1:00 or 2:00 am or later), but amazingly, I never told him a wildly incorrect dose while still mostly asleep!
I often had to text DH in the morning after getting to work because I could not remember what I told him to shoot. :shock: This AM, DH came in to tell me what Eddie's pre-shot number was, and I said "that's fine, go ahead and shoot." DH replied, "I know...I already shot." I'm definitely liking not having to think through five different variables in determining what to shoot! :smile:
Eddie's hanging out in the computer room/cat room/man cave with DH watching biddies on the cat stand. Despite 8 inches of snow yesterday, most of it has melted already, and the sun is shining today! DH and I have tickets to see the MN Wild play the Pittsburgh Penguins tonight. I'm super excited! I LOVE hockey and haven't been able to go to a game yet this season!
A little bit lower AMPS this morning which is nice to see. :smile: And, I thought of a couple questions. :smile:
On food, we have been doing the following: we "split" the pre-shot meals of 12 oz. of wet food into two meals, (split amongst 5 cats) which ends up being approximately 1.25 oz per meal. The first portion is fed at shot time, and the second portion, we "aim" to feed at +2 as our schedule allows. Sometimes it's a bit earlier, sometimes it's a bit later. Then, we usually feed another 1/2 oz. or so "lunch" or "midnight" snack at around +6, depending on when I can get home from work for lunch. Eddie's nadir on ProZinc varied wildly between +6 to +12, so usually the +6 was before nadir. With Lantus, would it be wise to move that snack to +5 or a little earlier in the cycle?
Also, how, if at all, does the fact that Eddie was previously on ProZinc for about 3.5 months factor in to how we follow the TR protocol? Thankfully, Eddie did respond to ProZinc, but it was pretty unpredictable. Do we proceed as though Eddie is starting from "scratch" and has never been on insulin, or is he handled differently since he was previously on insulin but not tightly regulated?
For now, what should we consider as a "no shoot" cut off number? I'm comfortable handling low numbers in the 40's and even the 30's, but was never able to safely shoot much below 200 on ProZinc without crashing Eddie about 50% of the time. During the day, I can't monitor all that closely, but night time "pajama" parties are no problem.
Happy Caturday everyone!
Today:
AMPS = 224 (1.5u)
+2 = 252
+5 = 154
+6 = 113
+7 = 93 :mrgreen:
+8 = 75 :mrgreen:
+9 = 76 :mrgreen:
+10 = 62 :mrgreen:
+10.5 = 70 :mrgreen:
+11 = 73 :mrgreen:
+11.75 = 99 :mrgreen:
+12.5 = 114
PMPS (+12.75) = 161 (1.5u)
+1 = 329
+2 = 316
+4 = 324
Good morning LL!
Eddie made it through his first Lantus cycle last night without event. ;-) I am really curious to see if Eddie has nice smooth flat cycles as his depot fills.
I'm so fortunate to have a partner who is an active participant in caring for Eddie. DH usually does the shooting in the AM and lets me get a little extra sleep. Previously, on ProZinc, he'd test at 5:00 AM, when he got up, come in and wake me up to tell me the number and then shoot as instructed. I am not a morning person (especially with Eddie regularly keeping me up till 1:00 or 2:00 am or later), but amazingly, I never told him a wildly incorrect dose while still mostly asleep!
Eddie's hanging out in the computer room/cat room/man cave with DH watching biddies on the cat stand. Despite 8 inches of snow yesterday, most of it has melted already, and the sun is shining today! DH and I have tickets to see the MN Wild play the Pittsburgh Penguins tonight. I'm super excited! I LOVE hockey and haven't been able to go to a game yet this season!
A little bit lower AMPS this morning which is nice to see. :smile: And, I thought of a couple questions. :smile:
On food, we have been doing the following: we "split" the pre-shot meals of 12 oz. of wet food into two meals, (split amongst 5 cats) which ends up being approximately 1.25 oz per meal. The first portion is fed at shot time, and the second portion, we "aim" to feed at +2 as our schedule allows. Sometimes it's a bit earlier, sometimes it's a bit later. Then, we usually feed another 1/2 oz. or so "lunch" or "midnight" snack at around +6, depending on when I can get home from work for lunch. Eddie's nadir on ProZinc varied wildly between +6 to +12, so usually the +6 was before nadir. With Lantus, would it be wise to move that snack to +5 or a little earlier in the cycle?
Also, how, if at all, does the fact that Eddie was previously on ProZinc for about 3.5 months factor in to how we follow the TR protocol? Thankfully, Eddie did respond to ProZinc, but it was pretty unpredictable. Do we proceed as though Eddie is starting from "scratch" and has never been on insulin, or is he handled differently since he was previously on insulin but not tightly regulated?
For now, what should we consider as a "no shoot" cut off number? I'm comfortable handling low numbers in the 40's and even the 30's, but was never able to safely shoot much below 200 on ProZinc without crashing Eddie about 50% of the time. During the day, I can't monitor all that closely, but night time "pajama" parties are no problem.
Happy Caturday everyone!