4/5 Dose advice for Orion please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airway

Member Since 2013
Today is Orion's 6th day at 2u. It seems to me that his numbers could come down a bit. Thoughts?

What is the reason he is higher in the morning? FYI I use an auto feeder overnight for 2 small meals.
 
Hi Angela, I think you can certainly raise Orion's dose by 0.25 units, as per the TR protocol. Since you are unable to get more overnight data, it is hard to determine if his AMPS numbers are higher because he is bouncing from lower numbers at night, or because of "Dawn Phenomenon" (higher numbers at AMPS are common: apparently cats "rev" themselves up for the day and this results in higher numbers at the beginning of the day--Dawn Phenomenon). In any event, I think an increase is in order. See what others think.
p.s. If Orion eats the second of his two small meals close to AMPS, that could be affecting his morning number. Some people pick up all food 2 hours before AMPS so they get a more accurate glucose reading. If you use the rotating-compartment feeder (PetSafe 5), you can set it to move to an empty compartment two hours before AMPS. Many people do this.

p.p.s. I love Orion's avatar picture!
 
His second meal dispenses at 4am and he gets his AM shot about 9am. I can't say for sure when he eats it, but all the food is gone in the morning.
 
I would not raise his dose yet. With TR there needs to be at least one mid cycle test every cycle and there are days without those tests. Also with the PMPS of 75 and skipped shot on 4/2 the depot needs time to stabilize and fill back up which can take 6 cycles to do so. Today is the 5th cycle so if you can grab a few tests today it would be good information. The earliest I'd increase is tomorrow morning but honestly with missing tests, I'd actually give him 8-10 cycles before increasing.
 
Actually, TR states that you need to test multiple times per day. The protocol does not specify that the tests need to be "midcycle." Rather, you need to have sufficient data to know when your cat's nadir (and onset) occur. Not all cats have their nadir at +6.

While dawn phenomenon may be occurring, it also looks like Orion's numbers may have dropped during some PM cycles and you're seeing a bounce thereafter. If it's at all possible, can you sneak in some tests later in the PM cycle?

If you are following TR, you should be evaluating your kitty's dose every 3 days/6 cycles. It looks like you may have skipped some opportunities to raise the dose.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top