4/5 Billy +6 68 +9 86 PMPS 119 +2 126 +7 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Good morning, everyone!

Yesterday's condo

Today

AMPS 211
+3 135
+6 68
+9 86
PMPS 119
+2 126
+7 119

It surely was a stressful night for a newbie like me. At least I got that night curve done. Billy's number varied from 63, to 61, 58, 50, 52, 56 and 56 in 7 hours. When he hit 50 I gave him some dry food in case he needed it. I don't know if he felt like he needed it be he sure was happy to clean his plate in a record time. Billy has a long-lasting, loving relationship with food.

I feel like his numbers could have gone a little lower if it wasn't for the 1/3 of a meal he ate then. Is it time to try a decrease? I know his numbers aren't always perfect, but then again I skipped some shots before.

Today he is getting about 2/3 of what he usually has for breakfast, due to the food he got during the night. Does that sound right?

During the night, I was sleeping on the sofa and he jumped on me and decided he'd rest there for a second. He never does that - Billy always makes sure there is some place for him before jumping on the couch, he doesn't just climb on people. His sister used to, though : she would do that all the time. It was never very long after I lay down on the couch that I would see her appear, trying to be as close as possible from me. Mia needed to be held tight and close to us so she could get the love she needed. Billy, on the other hand, is happy just being around us, purring alone on his crinkle bag or on his side of the sofa. He doesn't need to be laying down on someone and gets by just fine with the hugs and kisses he gets when he asks for them, rolling on his back, his paws in the air.

I was so surprised when I felt him jump on the sofa and sit on my chest. I was half-asleep, too, and for a moment I thought it was Mia right there. I miss her so much. :cry: The were the cutest couple.

Today, along with a lot of you, my thoughts are with Karrie. Maverick is a great loss; I wish Karrie the courage needed to go through such a grief, and I hope Maverick helps her from up there. I feel like I knew both of you for way longer than I actually did. Lots of hugs your way. <3
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211

So many hearts breaking for the loss of maverick .. and for all the kitties who have gone ahead ..

I'm glad that you got your nighttime curve done .. The numbers you posted here look really good to me, but others will be along soon to answer your questions .. how sweet of billy to come up and lay on you .. he must have known you needed that .. cat's are so smart like that ...
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211

Yes Maverick will be sorely missed. I too wish Karrie strength and courage. It is such a difficult time.

You did well with Billy last night - good job! I had watched it unfold, but didn't want to get in the way. You and Libby had it well under control. I can't help with the dose question, but if you wonder about a change, place the question in your subject line so that the dose people will know you have a question. It just helps them see it sooner. Good luck! Billy is off to a great start this morning.

Nice on Billy coming up onto the sofa with you. I love it when they do that, especially if it is not their normal thing to do. His way maybe of saying thank you for caring for him.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 Time for a decrease?

Oh yes, I always forget about that subject line. ohmygod_smile

Thanks guys!
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 Time for a decrease?

Great job last night!

If it were me, I'd hold the current dose. What I might have done differently is I would have fed some LC when Billy hit 50 and retested in 20 - 30 min. That way, you'd know if he earned the dose reduction.

I want to discourage you from feeding dry food to steer numbers. Dry takes way too long to work and takes way too long to wear off. Your AMPS may be reflecting the effect of dry food (or a bounce). Using gravy raises numbers quickly and it wears off quickly.
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211

Thanks, Sienne. Your expert opinion is always appreciated. :smile: Holding the dose it is, then!

It never occurred to me that dry food would work differently than wet food. ohmygod_smile Billy is due for some groceries later on today, so I'll purchase a couple of cans of food in gravy.
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135

Awesome surf last night, you handled it like a pro.

Try to pick up a few differs % gravy foods. What are you feeding? Wellness has pouches form 9% to 12% and the FF grilled are usually about 18%, GravyLovers about 15%.
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135

I am feeding Friskies (canadian recipes): I usually switch between Chef's Dinner and Chicken Dinner. I'll have to go look at that chart to check for different % of gravy food. How do I know what % would be needed in given situations? Is it just with experience?
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68

Great job last night, Manouk! And goooo Billy! All cats look good in green. :mrgreen:

I got the same information when I did exactly the same as you and fed Chaos dry food once when he went lower, so you're not the only one. ;-) Like Billy, my Chaos has a serious love affair with food. He's also not a cuddler, so I know what you mean about the couch jumping. Those are moments to treasure!

I just now saw that Maverick is at the bridge and my heart breaks for Karrie. Maverick was a treasure.
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68

He really was, that Maverick.

I feel like Billy and Chaos could be great buddies. :lol:

I am replying to my thread not because I actually have to say about Billy, but I just had some great news! I think we finally found the apartment we have been looking for! A nice 5 1/2 in Montreal on two different floors. The cats are going to love that : sun in the kitchen and cool temperature in the basement for these hot summer days. I just couldn't be happier :-D Apartment hunting in a different city is so hard, and nothing seemed to fit our standards... But there it is, the perfect apartment with everything we wanted (and even a little more) at an affordable price! The landlord just told me he's ready to sign. I just really needed to get that off my chest.

I think my girlfriend is in the subway right now and she can't pick up her phone. Ah. I can't wait to tell her that we have the apartment that comes with the included dishwasher she wanted so much. :lol:
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68

:thumbup Congratulations on the apartment! I'm sure you and the cats will love it. Oh Boy, now the move ! :roll:
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68 +9 86

congratulations! always love moving into a new home.

You're doing so well with Billy, just wanted to say that too :mrgreen:

I am feeding Friskies (canadian recipes): I usually switch between Chef's Dinner and Chicken Dinner. I'll have to go look at that chart to check for different % of gravy food. How do I know what % would be needed in given situations? Is it just with experience?

I'll try to answer this question for you, keeping notes in your SS as to what was given and at what times is useful. Over time you will a handle on what works for Billy by checking your notes. ECID (every cat is different)
With lower numbers you can do a mix of LC and MC, or if really low or you have to go to bed or leave, adding a bit of HC to the mix helps too.
Be sure to keep on hand, some gravy selections, the gravy will come in handy too.
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68 +9 86 PMPS 119

Thank you, Ronnie! Feeding isn't really difficult for me; he always has two meals, each meal being at the same time then his shots. Then again nobody but me knows that, right? ohmygod_smile I'll keep notes about what food is given and when from now on. :smile:
 
Re: 4/5 Billy AMPS 211 +3 135 +6 68 +9 86 PMPS 119

Great numbers for Billy... and congrats on the apartment!! Wonderful news!!

Hope you have a good evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top