4.5 BG reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clark

Member Since 2017
Have worksheet up just need to add. 2 units caninsulin 5:15. BG 4.5. great # to low. Your correct. Half way through on the curve is to low. 1.5 or 1. She was only 279 15.6 this morning without a shot. Reduce?
 

Attachments

You have been given the recommendation of reducing her dose down to 1.0U on the majority if your other threads. Additionally, it was strongly recommended you not give her the full 2.0U dose this morning.
Half way through on the curve is to low. 1.5 or 1.
Is this a question or are you telling us she actually tested 1.5 or 1???
 
I ga
You have been given the recommendation of reducing her dose down to 1.0U on the majority if your other threads. Additionally, it was strongly recommended you not give her the full 2.0U dose this morning.

Is this a question or are you telling us she actually tested 1.5 or 1???
I gave 2 units this morning. My vet was saying different things. 2 still. I tested +5.and got 4.5. that is to low i think. I wanted to be sure .I will reduce. To 1 and check +11 again. Im new to this. Im struggling to cope.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
4.5 is an OK number if it's her nadir (lowest reading) of the cycle. If you are going to reduce for tonight's shot, what is the purpose of checking at +11 on this cycle?

Just make sure you don't feed her 2 hours prior to PM pre-shot time. So if you gave AM shot at 05:15, do not feed her after 14:45. You will get a pre-shot test at 16:45 tonight, if her BG is above 11.1, you will feed her, wait at least 20 minutes, and give her 1.0U of insulin at 17:15. Does this make sense?

We're trying to help as best we can with the information you are posting. The incomplete thoughts / mixed sentences can make it a little confusing. We know it is difficult in the beginning :bighug:
 
4.5 is an OK number if it's her nadir (lowest reading) of the cycle. If you are going to reduce for tonight's shot, what is the purpose of checking at +11 on this cycle?

Just make sure you don't feed her 2 hours prior to PM pre-shot time. So if you gave AM shot at 05:15, do not feed her after 14:45. You will get a pre-shot test at 16:45 tonight, if her BG is above 11.1, you will feed her, wait at least 20 minutes, and give her 1.0U of insulin at 17:15. Does this make sense?

We're trying to help as best we can with the information you are posting. The incomplete thoughts / mixed sentences can make it a little confusing. We know it is difficult in the beginning :bighug:
 

Attachments

Changed #s. And signature added. Her BG was 8.6 pre shot. That's why I didn't give her any last night. Suspect the same today. I was going to start 1 unit tomorrow.
Great job on Signature and SS :bighug:. Yes last night's PMPS she gave you 8.6 so we said skip. It is very possible she will give a lower number again this evening for preshot. Another indicator 2.0U is too high. She may also do what we call "bounce" and give a higher number tonight.
What time zone are you in? How long until her PMPS test? Feel free to post her PS number again tonight :cat:
 
Congratulations on getting your signature and spreadsheet up and running! :) What type of glucose meter are you using - human or pet? We take that into account when looking at the spreadsheet and giving advice. Your SS tells me it's a human meter because the lime green range is <50. Is that correct?
 
Congratulations on getting your signature and spreadsheet up and running! :) What type of glucose meter are you using - human or pet? We take that into account when looking at the spreadsheet and giving advice. Your SS tells me it's a human meter because the lime green range is <50. Is that correct?
Human.
 
I got my sheet up. Is 4.5 to low for caninsulin for +5 . And tonight i propably should just do 1 unit. Or skip if the same pre shot reading as yesterday?
The dark green number by itself is good. However, it has to be judged in relation to what happened last night and what the pre shot was this AM. Please post here for advice once you have your evening pre shot number. Make sure Charlie has no food at least 2 hours before that so the number isn't food-influenced. You're just starting to gather data so we have to make some educated guesses about dosing. We'll always err on the side of caution.
 
The dark green number by itself is good. However, it has to be judged in relation to what happened last night and what the pre shot was this AM. Please post here for advice once you have your evening pre shot number. Make sure Charlie has no food at least 2 hours before that so the number isn't food-influenced. You're just starting to gather data so we have to make some educated guesses about dosing. We'll always err on the side of caution.
Thanks so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top