4/5 Arnie AMPS 136 PMPS 216 NOW 328

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/5 Arnie PMPS 216 +9 328

He vomited overnight and now is at 328 +9 I don't know what is going on but I am terribly worried about him. He acts normal and still has a very ferocious appetite. Yesterday I did notice his head shaking once (quivering) I picked him up and held him and he purred and acted normal. I have not been home much to watch him but as far as I can tell that was the only thing I saw that looked like he was having some kind of problem. I am off today and tomorrow so I will be with him more. I will be getting new lantus on Friday I am wondering if this cartridge has lost it's punch I am thinking of trying ANOTHER dosecrease this morning. I really don't want to take him to the vets unless I have to. I hope things get better. One thing I noticed with this lantus cartridge is that I am having a real hard time getting insulin in the syringe without air bubbles I have been wasting 2 or 3 needles every time before I can draw a dose without an air bubble. I usually do not have this problem but the insulin looks normal. Clear and no floaties...I am so worried :cry: :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/5 Arnie AMPS 136

I think since you are home I would take him to the vet. These numbers are not Arnie numbers so I think there may be something going on with him. Possible UTI?
 

Attachments

  • dad retires.jpg
    dad retires.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 73
Oh dear Arnie.
Bob, looking at this 328 and hearing the other symptoms (hypo symptoms) -- sounds like he had a trip to low.
Meet you in your new condo for today.
 
I was thinking that too especially after I saw him trembling yesterday I have NEVER seen him do that. I guess I better forget trying a dosecrease, I worked both jobs the past 5 nights so I was only home to sleep and feed and hoot between jobs. I will be here with him today and will decide if I need to take him to the vets tomorrow morning. I will have to do it then if I am going to because Thursday I start another 5 nights of both jobs and won't have time to do anything but work and sleep. (very little)
 
Morning! So sorry to hear about Arnie, I would take him to the vets to make sure he doesn't have an infection or something. At least you can rule everything out. Poor baby! Good luck and will be thinking positive thoughts for you!!!
 
Re: 4/5 Arnie PMPS 216 +9 328

arniesdad said:
He vomited overnight and now is at 328 +9 I don't know what is going on but I am terribly worried about him. He acts normal and still has a very ferocious appetite.

Cats act normal under many abnormal circumstances.

Yesterday I did notice his head shaking once (quivering) I picked him up and held him and he purred and acted normal.

When is the last time he went for a check-up. My thoughts are either he was in a hypo situation or he has something else going on.

I have not been home much to watch him but as far as I can tell that was the only thing I saw that looked like he was having some kind of problem. I am off today and tomorrow so I will be with him more.

How lucky is this, that you will be home?

I will be getting new lantus on Friday I am wondering if this cartridge has lost it's punch I am thinking of trying ANOTHER dosecrease this morning.

My first thought was he needs a decrease not an increase.

I really don't want to take him to the vets unless I have to. I hope things get better.

One thing I noticed with this lantus cartridge is that I am having a real hard time getting insulin in the syringe without air bubbles I have been wasting 2 or 3 needles every time before I can draw a dose without an air bubble.

My method of no air bubbles is to draw up way over my needed amount of insulin, like 2 extra units, hold syringe upright and finger flick once, expel excess insulin as I am turning the plunger clockwise.

I usually do not have this problem but the insulin looks normal. Clear and no floaties...I am so worried :cry: :YMSIGH:


((((((((((Bob)))))))))))
 
Can he go to the vet today? Then you will be able to start any necessary medication today and watch him all day tomorrow,, before you start your next 5 long days.
Sending good vet visit and feel better vines to Arnie and BIG HUGS to Bob!
 
He could go to the vets today but I would rather wait since I just got home from working from 4PM to 6:30AM this morning. I know it would be better to go today..I guess I will have to make that decision at 10AM when I do the AMPS and see where he is at then.
 
Re: 4/5 Arnie PMPS 216 +9 328

D and Noisy said:
arniesdad said:
He vomited overnight and now is at 328 +9 I don't know what is going on but I am terribly worried about him. He acts normal and still has a very ferocious appetite.

Cats act normal under many abnormal circumstances.

Yesterday I did notice his head shaking once (quivering) I picked him up and held him and he purred and acted normal.

When is the last time he went for a check-up. My thoughts are either he was in a hypo situation or he has something else going on.

Last vet visit was 10/22/2009 and everything was good...VERY GOOD!
 
Those are SO not Arnie numbers! I hope you can get things figured out today - it's got to be scary to see him so abnormal this morning.
 
I hope all goes well today and Arnie is back to his normal self.

Is it possible he got into something he shouldn't have? Does he go outside at all? I'm wondering with Spring here, if he goes out, maybe he ate grass or something that was treated with pestisides?
 
do you have your AMPS yet? I didn't see a new condo yet.

IMHO, you have to consider that this could have been a hypo and reduce the dose. Better safe than sorry, especially as busy as you are.
 
Bob I see your cartridge is 30 days old. High number could be from ineffective insulin if nothing else is going on with Arnie. Were all waiting for an update, please post when you have time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top