4/5 AMPs +4 310. Should I keep holding this dose

He is definitely looking better. Look at all those blues! The bouncing will improve as he gets used to lower numbers although some counts never stop bouncing.
 
He is definitely looking better. Look at all those blues! The bouncing will improve as he gets used to lower numbers although some counts never stop bouncing.
Thank you for replying. I thought it looked like maybe he was just adjusting to being in lower numbers and it might just take a bit more time. Thanks for confirming
 
I think you have room for an increase. Did you get the syringes with half unit markings or the callipers so you can increase by 0.25U?

What do you think @tiffmaxee ?
 
If you can monitor and have the calipers or syringes with half unit markings an increase is a good idea. It’s been more than 10 cycles. If the pmps is yellow it might be a bounce clearing cycle in which case I would wait until the morning though.
 
I think you have room for an increase. Did you get the syringes with half unit markings or the callipers so you can increase by 0.25U?

What do you think @tiffmaxee ?
Helloo. I don't have the calipers yet, they should arrive this week, and new syringes too. Right now I can pretty much judge that when the plunger bit of the syringe is on the mark that would give me 3.75iu
 
Helloo. I don't have the calipers yet, they should arrive this week, and new syringes too. Right now I can pretty much judge that when the plunger bit of the syringe is on the mark that would give me 3.75iu
OK. Then take it up. :-)

Watch out for the zero error in syringes. The zero line does not always align with the top of the syringe. That's where callipers help. You can ignore the markings and measure with the callipers.
 
If you can monitor and have the calipers or syringes with half unit markings an increase is a good idea. It’s been more than 10 cycles. If the pmps is yellow it might be a bounce clearing cycle in which case I would wait until the morning though.
pmps was yellow. So a bounce again.. The bounces seem to be less extreme at least. I'll wait until tomorrow at least. I don't know if this is possible, but I was wondering if increasing might cause more bouncing rather than letting him settle to being in the lower numbers? Or is it giving him enough insulin to keep him low that stops them bouncing high? Orrr I'm probably completely off trying to understand it lol
 
ETA: Don't take it up tonight. He is clearing a bounce so there will be some downward momentum and you don't want to add a dose increase to the mix. Some cats react in the first cycle of the increase.
 
OK. Then take it up. :-)

Watch out for the zero error in syringes. The zero line does not always align with the top of the syringe. That's where callipers help. You can ignore the markings and measure with the callipers.
Can't wait until they arrive so I don't keep second guessing myself! I'll raise it in the AM so I can get plenty of tests in
 
pmps was yellow. So a bounce again.. The bounces seem to be less extreme at least. I'll wait until tomorrow at least. I don't know if this is possible, but I was wondering if increasing might cause more bouncing rather than letting him settle to being in the lower numbers? Or is it giving him enough insulin to keep him low that stops them bouncing high? Orrr I'm probably completely off trying to understand it lol
The yellow PMPS indicates that he is clearing the bounce.

Increasing does not cause more bouncing. Lower numbers and fast drops cause bouncing and the only way to reduce the bouncing is to get them used to lower numbers. You want to get him to a dose that has him seeing normal numbers - 50 to 99 on a human meter.
 
The yellow PMPS indicates that he is clearing the bounce.

Increasing does not cause more bouncing. Lower numbers and fast drops cause bouncing and the only way to reduce the bouncing is to get them used to lower numbers. You want to get him to a dose that has him seeing normal numbers - 50 to 99 on a human meter.
Okay awesome, thank you for explaining. That makes sense. I think the spreadsheet is at least showing the trend that he is starting to adjust? Overall he is a much happier kitty and no more excessive drinking /sleeping
 
I think the spreadsheet is at least showing the trend that he is starting to adjust? Overall he is a much happier kitty and no more excessive drinking /sleeping
Yes. So much of the lovely blues! They really start feeling good in lower numbers once they get used to them!
 
I'm taking this all in so eventually I won't need to be asking for help every time!
No sweat. Feel free to ask for help any time. You've been at this for less than a month.

I won't be surprised if he give us some green tonight - just because a dose increase is being contemplated! :D
 
No sweat. Feel free to ask for help any time. You've been at this for less than a month.

I won't be surprised if he give us some green tonight - just because a dose increase is being contemplated! :D
cheers thank you!

Haha honestly I was thinking that it will end up working like that, very cat like to keep us on our toes!
 
HAHAHAHAHAHA! Green at +3! Yet another instance of a dose increase threat working. Hold the dose. :D
I was like what the heck how did Bandit's mom knowwww lol. I've just fed him a little more, will I need to get up in the night to check him tonight?

Thank you!
 
Back
Top