4/5/2022 CALI. AMPS 352, +2 274, +5.75 289, +9 293, PMPS 327

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
Request Bhooma to advise best test times tonight to establish base

link from previous:

4/5/22 CALI AMPS 352, +2 274, +5.75 289, +9 293, PMPS 327, PM+2 TBA
Cali switched to Levemir today. Also switched to TR protocol.
Uneventful transition. Cali did not flinch with the needle like she became prone to do with Lantus insulin.
Started with 1 unit and did AM cycle curve.

I believe the guides mention that the Lantus Depot is still in play today [draining] while the Levemir Depot will start to build. Is that why BG reads today almost like carbon copy of last 5 days?
 
Good evening. Thanks for advice on testing tonight. Will do before bed.
As I projected, Cali hung out in yellow last evening. She typically raced up the BG hill around +10 [if anything is typical for this diva calico]!

I will check thread again before dosing 4/6 am to see if I should increase Levemir dose based on advice from the board.
Since we are transitioning depots, will a PM+6 test give more insight on dosing advice for tomorrow?
Thanks
 
Oops we were typing at same time Elise. With concurrence advice from Wendy also I will increase Levemir to 1.25 units starting 4/6/22 AM.

still looking for the elusive prior link Bhooma. Does it hide inside my profile or signature. I even tried to highlife and copy/paste the one you gave me but it did not allow; it just toggled over to yesterday’s thread. Cali is giving me the eye as if saying “ I will be in regulation/remission or an OLD diva cat before you figure this out”. Please link
 
As I projected, Cali hung out in yellow last evening. She typically raced up the BG hill around +10 [if anything is typical for this diva calico]!
She needs more insulin. She was seeing better numbers at 1.5U and actually needed an increase per TR with nadirs in the 90s. The end of cycle BG rise is the wearing off of insulin.

Since we are transitioning depots, will a PM+6 test give more insight on dosing advice for tomorrow?
The dose on the previous insulin is considered when deciding the starting dose when switching insulins. With Levemir you want to try and figure out when her onset and nadir are. Testing at different times in different cycles will help you understand that.

still looking for the elusive prior link Bhooma. Does it hide inside my profile or signature. I even tried to highlife and copy/paste the one you gave me but it did not allow; it just toggled over to yesterday’s thread. Cali is giving me the eye as if saying “ I will be in regulation/remission or an OLD diva cat before you figure this out”. Please link
Are you using an iPad? You want to go to your previous post and copy the link from the browser.
 
PM +2 298 looks like she is going to float in Yellowstone again tonight.
Possibly. Levemir nadir is later than Lantus. So a +2 may not give you an indicatior of what the cycle will be like. Once you know when her onset is, a test at that time will be the crystal ball.
 
She needs more insulin. She was seeing better numbers at 1.5U and actually needed an increase per TR with nadirs in the 90s. The end of cycle BG rise is the wearing off of insulin.
Oh, so does that mean her duration was not covering the 12 hour cycle? Was that more because of the dose or was it impeded by the 1tsp LC we provided overnight?

The dose on the previous insulin is considered when deciding the starting dose when switching insulins. With Levemir you want to try and figure out when her onset and nadir are. Testing at different times in different cycles will help you understand that.
I understand more and varied test data will help us understand her new onset and nadir. Today’s curve looked like a high, flat LANTUS curve.


Are you using an iPad? You want to go to your previous post and copy the link from the browser.
Using an iPad yes. ? Do I start with post new, then toggle back to yesterday’s and try to copy. Rock, hammer, hang with me please. Without youngsters around, we are technically impaired.
 
Take a break from testing tonight. You will have enough opportunities for PJ parties once she sees better numbers.
 
Thank you. I will administer 1.5 this morning. 4/6/22 AMPS 355. WILL POST NEW thread but still unable to link prior.
 
Back
Top