4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80 PMPS 159 +5 66 hmm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Good day, good people of Lantus Land!

This morning, we are still pretty high up on the glucose scale. Tyler seems to be back to having an insatiable appetite, the last couple of days he acts like he is dying of starvation, and is constantly talking to me and attempting to lead me to the feeding zone. He's always been a pretty communicative little big kitty. He had almost completley destroyed his breakfast before I even had his shot ready. While it is not completely uncommon, but last week when his numbers were better, he was pretty mellow about feeding time. He was indeed hungry, but not yelling at me like I haven't fed him in days... oh, kitty... why you no has normal numbers, quit all ze bouncin' and come back down for your buddy, you're stressin' me out...
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 you can come down now, buddy!

Hey quick question for some of the experienced members here...

Could someone take a look a Tyler's SS for me? I know people think he may be still bouncing from the green a four days ago, but could it be possible that maybe the depot from the previous, consistent, high doses has worn off? I read the Sticky about the depot, and kind of get it, and I know it's been way more than six cycles since those higher doses, but here on the FMDB, I've heard the EICD often enough to no know what the heck is going on inside my goodest buddy's body.

I apologize if I'm being a nuisance about these high numbers, I still don't know what's going on. I am not trying to go against the possibility of him being all bouncy as you all are suggesting, and my patience pants are in the wash today :-D I know, I'm a pest!
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Hi Brian, You are not a bother to anyone. People are here to help!

Tyler will act like he's starving until he's better regulated. Mainly because he is starving. His body isn't processing the nutrients from the food he's eating.

Personally, I don't think Tyler is still bouncing. He should have cleared it by now, I'd think. I think it's probably safe to increase .25unit for his next shot, but some of the more experienced advice givers will weigh in.

You're doing great so far Brian! This dance can be frustrating at times. We all know that!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Thanks, Suzanne!

I guess that raises another question then, should he be fed a little more? Is it dangerous to not feed him more when he's starving?
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Is it dangerous? I don't know.

I know there are two ways of thinking on how much to feed your cat. There is a write up that is frequently linked to members who have that question, but I'm on my phone and can't find it at the moment.

I can tell you...I feed Cobb what he wants. If he's hungry, he's a pain in the a**. So I feed him when he asks.
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Hi, Brian, and welcome to Lantus Land! :-D

It's not dangerous to feed him more, however, you need to make sure that he doesn't put on too much weight, either, as that'll also contribute to the diabetes (same applies to humans). The key to helping to maintain blood glucose #s is to make sure that he's fed a consistent amount on a regular basis (ie. a feeding schedule each and every day would help, also). Feeding inconsistently each day may make his #s go all over the place, and make you frustrated in the process. Feeding him consistent amounts each day will also help you to maintain his body weight, and then you can give him more, or less as you need to in order maintain his ideal weight.

Hope that helps, and good luck! :-D
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Thanks, Angela!

I started putting his feeding schedule in the notes on his SS several days ago. I pretty much feed him the same times every day, and his weight has also been a consistent 16 lbs. Sometimes, my schedule interferes with consistency of one or more of the meals, but not often.

I cannot afford a fancy timed feeder, for one, let alone two cats. Maybe one day in the future, I can swing that. The only thing that changes in their diet at the moment, is the flavor! :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Hi, Brian

With regards to timed feeders, here are several at Amazon to choose from:

http://www.amazon.com/s/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

If you're changing flavors, be sure to try to keep them at the same carb content as possible so that the #s don't get too wonky on you. I'm sure that you already know that. :lol: Consistent amounts is the key. As long as everything is consistent as possible, he'll settle down eventually. (You're going to start detesting that word "consistent", or "consistency" here shortly! :lol:)

And no, you're not a bother to anyone. The more you ask, the more you learn, even if the questions seem redundant to you. Sometimes redundancy helps you learn better, too. Right? :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 question from someone experienced

Ok... so I guess he's done with the bouncing... his +7 was 80 today... that's quite a drop.
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Woo hoo! And WOW. Surf that now, Tyler, that's low enough today:) I'd give you a Mr.Greenie but I can't on my phone, lol. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Hi Brian,
I see a beautiful green number :mrgreen: :mrgreen: for Tyler's +7!! Is this from a new pen, or the old? Hope Tyler starts showing you he feels better, even if his numbers are not well regulated. I know how hard it is to be patient ;-)

Happy Friday!
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Thanks ladies!

I actually used Pen #2 last night and this morning, which was opened days before finding FMDB. I only used it a few times before someone said that Pen #1 might still be good, which it was. I noticed a few bubbles in Pen #1 and there is maybe 30 units left in it, so I might just toss the thing. I still have 3 unopened pens and #2 is practically brand new. But his 5 p's have been normal as always. He was playing with his favorite straws last night after a high glucose reading!!

I'll hold him at 1.0 unit and keep my eyes on him as per protocol... now an amusing cat video from a funny guy
Sad Cat Diary

I couldn't get Youtube to work right so you just have to settle and click the link, you won't be sorry!!!!!
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Hi Brian!

If Tyler hadn't gone into the greens today, I would have said that Yes, it's time for an increase...but he DID!! So we want to hold the dose and see how he does.

We all totally understand the frustration and the "need" to somehow understand what's going on, but unfortunately, we're not in charge here! Tyler is!

I suppose it might be harder for a man to learn to "follow" when the cat is leading the dance...Woman have been doing it for ages :lol:

Hopefully Mr. Liver will snooze on past this time and not notice the green (anti jinx)

Way to go Tyler!! You're doing great at the "confusing the bean" game!!

Edited to add...if you can get some tests in during different times over the weekend, it'll help fill in the blanks. They don't always nadir right at +6 and can actually vary quite a bit. I know you're on a crazy schedule, but getting some tests at different points in the cycle will be helpful (If you can)
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Thanks Chris,

I will try to get him every two hours on Saturday, and see what his little kitty body is deciding to do!
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

I've used pens that had bubbles in them, and they were still good. What I did was I inserted a syringe into it, and removed as much of the bubble as possible until a small amount of insulin got into the syringe, and then ejected it into the sink. Bubbles happen. Unfortunate evil, isn't it? :lol:

Good job on the +7!!!! However, Blackie has you slightly beat at 56 +8. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

Way to go Tyler. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I love it when the cat answers the questions for their bean. Nice +7 there. I agree with Chris that you should hold this dose. A depot from a larger dose can hang around for 6-8 cycles so the effects of the previous higher dose should have been long gone.

Regarding the feeding, one does have to be careful how much you feed. I don't know if you've read the discussion on Feeding Kitty as Much as They Want. You should decide whether Tyler is too heavy, just right, or too light and go from there. Regular weigh-ins will tell you how you are doing. Like Suzanne, I have a high dose cat and some of these kitties have a condition that sends out excess growth hormone, making their appetites like growing teenagers. And obnoxious about it it. :roll: I found more frequent smaller meals helped, even if they are just one hour apart. Some meal experiments may be required to see what works for you.
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80

way to go! Looks like you have that kitty on some serious control!

Thanks, Wendy, I don't know how I could give meals that close together with my schedule (it's in my signature)! But today he wasn't screaming at me for his lunchtime snack :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/4 Tyler AMPS 294 +7 80 PMPS 159

Ok! Back in Blue for his PMPS! Sweet Apples!!!

Now, hopefully there isn't another roller coaster ride in store for the Captain after that trip to greensville today!!
 
Good evening, all!

My buddy, Tyler, decided that he don't wanna be on the moon no more. He has shown me a yellow, a green, a blue, and another green. This little kitty is ready to be normal again... hopefully like Chris says, Mr. Liver doesn't catch these low greens! I don't want him to go on another mission to the moon just yet, lets keep the high greens and low blues so we can get all regulated and maybe one day get the heck off this juice!

Ladies, all of your help has been detrimental to not only my buddy's body, but my sanity. My stress has literally went down about 4 pegs since I sought solace here at the good ol' FMDB!!! ¡Muchas Gracias!
 
i'd have said the same thing without the green numbers in TWO cycles today! woot!

perhaps the amps that you couldn't get on 4/1 was a low number. that would explain the timing of the bounce clearing this morning. looks like tyler took the entire 3 days to clear it. let's hope he can hang out long enough in the good numbers to get a little used to them.

giving 2 teaspoons of low carb food when you see a green number can sometimes be enough to get the cat to "get up on their surfboard" and surf, ie, stay in the green range for a while! give it a try and see if it helps.

and stick with the 1.0u.
 
Thanks Miss Julie!!!

You've been such a huge help! I am holding the 1u and he was about to eat my ankles if I didn't give him some food stuffs after his +5, so I gave him his bedtime snack, which is a 1/2 can of FF or 1/4 can of Friskies. Needless to say it is gone and he is at my feet at this very moment asking "please sir, can I have some more?" (that's my interpretation)... What he's really saying is: "You, hooman slave, give me moar fuds or I'll eat yer ear awf yer hed wen yew sleap, I says nao!"

But I won't budge, I will check him again before bed. I hope he's in the mood to become a surfer, because I don't like astronaut kitty!
 
Well Mr. Tyler...look at you in green!!! Just the mention of a dose increase and you decide to wear your green pants :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top