4/4 Tiger Amps 400+

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-3-tiger-amps-393.288382/

Good morning
Nothing new and I don’t expect anything until we increase. This reduction is a real set back.

Hope the sun is shining on all of you.
Hi Deb , I know you are discouraged about the reduction. Hang in there .
If you have to increase again don't get discouraged.
It took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler into remission and it's 3 years now he's been in remission, knock on wood
So don't ever give up hope :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
@Deb and Tiger
 
Hi Deb , I know you are discouraged about the reduction. Hang in there .
If you have to increase again don't get discouraged.
It took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler into remission and it's 3 years now he's been in remission, knock on wood
So don't ever give up hope :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
@Deb and Tiger
Thanks Diane. I know he needs an increase, that’s why the reduction is discouraging. Tyler shows me there’s hope! I won’t give up but maybe lower my expectations. At least he got into yellow today, little wins!
 
Two of the harder things about SLGS vs TR. The first is how long you have to wait before you can increase the dose. The second is having to take a reduction when it wouldn't have meant a reduction with TR.

Hang on, 9 of 14 cycles are in the bag.
 
Two of the harder things about SLGS vs TR. The first is how long you have to wait before you can increase the dose. The second is having to take a reduction when it wouldn't have meant a reduction with TR.

Hang on, 9 of 14 cycles are in the bag.
I know, both of those make it hard to gain ground. I admire those that do TR here ( which appears is most) but I don’t think I could take it mentally or physically being on the low edge all the time. Even if I could get him off the kibble, it needs to be available at night for his tummy.
BTW what is the reasoning for no kibble on TR? Also, as for the 90 for automatic reduction, does that mean he will never be able to go below 90 ever on SLGS? So he would never be able to have lower nadirs?

yep I’m counting those cycles too….
 
Answering here since you don't have a 4/5 post yet.

TR has been well researched, but always with low carb wet or raw food as the diet. Dry food is metabolized differently in their GI systems. TR is a more aggressive dosing method, the food limits are there for safety.

As for changing reduction levels, people on SLGS, once they know their cat inside and out, the onset, nadir, duration, and reaction to amount of carbs during differing points of the cycle, can lower the reduction point a bit. Obviously not all the way down to 50. I think it'll also help if you can figure out why Tiger gets these sick episodes. Seems when he's off food is when he's been earning reductions.

The other option, I know also hard for you, is being able to use a BG meter to test the lows so see if they really are below 90.
 
We know he has pancreatitis according to blood tests. To possibly know anything else they would do a scope and then might not know anything more. We’ve done several ultrasounds that really haven’t shown anything except for an enlarged lymph node that they weren’t concerned about. After what we went thru with his sister, surgery which made it worse, ten of thousands in cancer treatments to not do any good, syringe feeding, tons of meds etc making her feel worse, constant diarrhea from the surgery…..we are hesitant to go any further with Tiger. He’s happy, fairly active and living a normal life using stomach meds. So we deal with it as it comes…

I appreciate you explaining and answering my questions. Yes he is impossible to get blood samples from, even for the vet, so that’s out too. He is a difficult case for sure…
 
Back
Top