4/4 Rupert PMPS 486, +1 489,+3.5 455

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160 BLUE!, thoughts?!???

You can't leave food out can you? and is DH home to keep an eye on him? Having looked at his ss I suspect he means business today.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160 BLUE!, thoughts?!???

ok. so.. I DID give him his shot, nailbite_smile I think I shaved it every so slightly...he's now eating which of course will affect his +1, I've emailed work and said I won't be in for 9am as per usual (which would be +3) unless I'm getting good numbers. so, I can do the usual tests, +1, +2 and I'll get a +3, if not rising I"ll get a +3.5! Silly boy, I have TOMORROW off work, which would've been perfect, maybe I"ll end up taking today as well. Anyway, he's had some Wellness chicken and some Friskies for breakfast now. He looks amazing this morning, I couldn't find him at first ... he was running around outside. It's a good job he was hungry or he might never have come in and would've missed his shot. Then again.. maybe he knew something I didn't!!

fingers crossed. I've shot lower but usually at night.....
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160 !!!!

I'm so glad that you don't absolutely have to go to work, everything I do these days is Vyktor permitting :lol:

Go Rupie go, make it worth Pip's loss of her fingernails!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97

+1 and a bit and we are down to 97!!!! 63 points an hour.. which generally seems to be his 'average' lately when he dives. I hope he doesn't bounce too much from this one!

I'm gonna dash and feed the horses and be back for a +2. Rupert looking mighty fine this morning. Definitely BETB. Getting the ear pokie was done with the steak bribes and a certain amount of grumpiness on Rupies part. He's not gonna be happy with the number of pokes he gets today, especially since I only have a bit of steak left! Have some chicken purebites though.. he's not THAT crazy about them but likes them if I wet them down a bit!

back in a while. Yay for GREEN! (again! wow. who would've have thought looking back a few weeks that we'd be seeing this much action already... I shall become the boards most MAJOR advocate for dental work from now on!) Fingers crossed........
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97

Hi guys .. go rupert, goooooooooooooooooooo!!! Nice shooting this morning!! I hope you see a nice long stretch of these numbers! Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

feeding FF Turkey and Gravy 2 oz right now, with a dash of Karo on the top. nailbite_smile

Rupert, of course, looks completely and utterly unconcerned. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

What are these kids up to today? First Vyktor, then Ruby and now Rupert!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope you didn't mean 2 ozs of food, that is a really low number but you don't want to overdo it. I would give about 3 tsps and test again in 20 mins
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

hm, was guestimate on the food. you know those teen 85g cans of FF? it was about half a one of those. am gonna test him again in about 10 mins... he's on the couch, in hs usual spot, surveying the front yard as per usual. All innocent like!..........

innocent_lolcat.jpg
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

Good boy Rupie, will be watching for your next test.

Lantus Land is going off tonight/today!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

Pip --

When I'm steering numbers, I give Gabby about 1/16 of a can. Basically, you want to give about 1/2 a teaspoon of food with Karo or give about a teaspoon of gravy from HC food. Serryn is right -- giving 1/2 of a can is likely to be too much since you are going to need to be testing and feeding every 20 - 30 min until numbers have risen and stabilized.

I would also discourage you from looking at the average point drop per hour. It's misleading. Some cats have a fast early drop and others, well, not so much. I think your first instinct to get a +2 was on target rather than having waited until +2.5.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28!!!!!!!!!!!

+3 (well more like 2.5 plus 20 mins) 50. phew..... will test again in another 20....

ok, thanx for the info. guess I panicked, never having seen a number that low! Next time I'll go a little slower with the HC and Cornsyrup, at least he seems to be pulling up now but of course it's food induced. So hard to know what to do in the heat of the moment! I'm gonna test him again at what would be about +3 and 15 mins. He is STILL sitting on the couch lookng just fine and dandy. I'm a mess, still in my barn clothes, eating a bowl of porridge and watching him like a hawk!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

You can leave it for 30 mins now he's hit 50, you need to save those ears!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

ok! 9:30 it is....will email work and tell them not to expect me till 10ish! if at all!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

It's unlikely to be safe to leave him for a few hours yet, I'd be going for if at all - Rupertitis perhaps ;-)
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

Waiting with baited breath here (I wonder where that expression came from???)
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

I was wondering about that expression the other day, too!

Pip, you're doing great. Rupert is telling you something, perhaps! But he's certainly telling you that he earned an automatic .25 reduction!!
Carry on.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

+3.5 and up to 79. result of the food I"m sure. What a good boy though!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

Do you know how long his carbs usually last him?
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

hm. no I don't really know how long his carbs last. I do know he's fairly carb sensitive. He's cleaning on the windowsill now, in the sunbeam. Very smug looking.

I can only IMAGINE the size of the bounce that this is going to generate! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

at least he's earned another reduction! wheeee.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

Test again at +4.25 I think. It's hilarious when we're freaking out and they're all like 'what' isn't it - they have no idea what they put us through!!!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50

Vyktors Mum said:
Waiting with baited breath here (I wonder where that expression came from???)
I think the expression is "bated breath". :-D

Woohoo Rupert and Pip! Pip, I think everyone overfeeds their first low numbers. It took us several episodes before we figured out when to feed a low number and when not to and how much to feed. Well done!
Liz
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

Right you are Liz, I found this, it even has a cat related poem :-D :

Q From Steve Gearhart: Where does the term baited breath come from, as in: ‘I am waiting with baited breath for your answer’?
A The correct spelling is actually bated breath but it’s so common these days to see it written as baited breath that there’s every chance that it will soon become the usual form, to the disgust of conservative speakers and the confusion of dictionary writers. Examples in newspapers and magazines are legion; this one appeared in the Daily Mirror on 12 April 2003: “She hasn’t responded yet but Michael is waiting with baited breath”.
It’s easy to mock, but there’s a real problem here. Bated and baited sound the same and we no longer use bated (let alone the verb to bate), outside this one set phrase, which has become an idiom. Confusion is almost inevitable. Bated here is a contraction of abated through loss of the unstressed first vowel (a process called aphesis); it means “reduced, lessened, lowered in force”. So bated breath refers to a state in which you almost stop breathing as a result of some strong emotion, such as terror or awe.
Shakespeare is the first writer known to use it, in The Merchant of Venice, in which Shylock says to Antonio: “Shall I bend low and, in a bondman’s key, / With bated breath and whisp’ring humbleness, / Say this ...”. Nearly three centuries later, Mark Twain employed it in Tom Sawyer: “Every eye fixed itself upon him; with parted lips and bated breath the audience hung upon his words, taking no note of time, rapt in the ghastly fascinations of the tale”.
For those who know the older spelling or who stop to consider the matter, baited breath evokes an incongruous image; Geoffrey Taylor humorously (and consciously) captured it in verse in his poem Cruel Clever Cat:
Sally, having swallowed cheese,
Directs down holes the scented breeze,
Enticing thus with baited breath
Nice mice to an untimely death.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

How's it going in the green wilds of Canada? Hanging in there?
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS 160, +1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79

I can't keep my breath bated any longer or I'll pass out! Hope eveything's ok Pip it's well past your +4.25 :? I'm going to head to bed shortly, it's almost 2am here and Vyktor appears to have his board shorts on - of course being the paranoid bean that I am I will get up for a 4.30 test to be sure ;-)
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5,

hope you didn't pass out Serryn?????????sorry, I did his test, fed him a bit and zipped down to the barn to feed the horsies as well, should've posted here first!

so he's down a smidge... guess the HC and Karo was okay after all! I gave him some more LC Wellness mixed with a smidge of the left over FF turkey/gravy, lets see if he'll ride this all day!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5,

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol:

well. it's stressful, and exhausting but when the numbers are going the right way it seems all worth it. Every second in that green makes me think his little pancreas is rebuilding like mad. maybe wishful thinking. Guess we'll see. should we place bets now on who bounces the highest after this round?!!!

funny-pictures-cat-bets-the-dog.jpg
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5,

I'm about to, I'm off to bed for a couple of hours, sounds like you have everything under control there just don't get complacent about testing today he means business! And HC just a tsp at a time when he's under 50, don't let him get too full in case you're still at this for a while :-D Pip and Rupert you rock!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+1.5 97,+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5,

Thanx Serryn, you KNOW you are a superstar and a sweetheart, thanx for caring so much about all of us!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5, 48,+6 1

+6 and hopped onto the blue floor, finally! Not that I am unhappy with those greens they are amazing!.. just he seemed to be surfing a little too close to the rocks for my taste, I'm glad he's headed for the kiddy pool for a while! He had a MC snack at just after that 4.5 so it could be that, or it could be the beginnings of an almighty bounce!!!

He's preening on the couch again, looks quite pleased with himself, just had the very last piece of steak for his ear pokie treat.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+3.5 79, +4.5, 48,+6 1

Wow, the LL kitters really were staging a group diving competition today. You've had your baptism by fire and this will come naturally in no time! :thumbup Paws crossed for a limited bounce.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

HOLY!!! :shock: I KNEW he was gonna bounce... this is more than a little excessive... doh!!! ohmygod_smile +10 and 523?!!!!!!!!!!!!!

two hours till shot time. He gets a reducie though, to 2.0 flat. He's curled on the couch, a little sleepy looking but not that bothered. That HAS to feel bizarre surely?????????

I think I can safely say that Rupie gets the 'biggest spread Award'... from a low of 28 to 523 (and he ain't done yet!)........... good grief!

thats 105 pts per hour from his +6 to +10. WHOOOOOOOOOOOOSH.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

:shock: Wow. That is just beyond words. This is where you could "shoot through the bounce", shoot the old higher dose (2.25) tonight, then reduce to 2.0 in the morning.
Liz
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

Dang! :shock: And I thought Ruby's +11 223 was a biggie.
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

ah. interesting.. hm... makes sense to shoot thru the bounce... I guess I"ll see what number he has at PMPS although I can't see any reason for it to fall lower (other than seriously... can he go any higher!!!?). I suppose this also might be the various snacks and MC stuff I gave him thru the greens finally showing up? maybe this is a way to figure out just how long it takes for them to take effect on him. Hard to tell really isn't it?! ohmygod_smile

sigh, that's my Rupie, never an underachiever!

will post PMPS and shoot thru the bounce unless he surprises me with something different. then go to 2.0 tomorrow. (right? he seriously earned a reduction today right?)
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

:lol: yep earned that reduction big time - but not until next cycle (or maybe beyond if he's still bouncing good idea to check with one of those wise ones about that because you don't want to still be shooting through when he's coming off a bounce). Anytime you're due a reduction but over 300 at the next shot time shoot through it :mrgreen:

Rupert tell your liver that Mommy has it all under control would you!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

I guess Rupert's liver works! :lol:

Nice conversation on bated/baited. I've spelled it wrongly forever (and have wondered about it, but never looked it up). Thanks, guys!!

Ella
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

Whoa! I know my eyes are blurry, but OMG, Rupert!! He must have had on Moon boots to bounce like that!

Shake those numbers out of that meter and make them go away. :shock:
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

A pic of Rupie perhaps? from his exalted height and with his new title??? hopefully he heads down this evening.. but so darned fast! good grief. is he getting a rush out of all of this?!!!

83ea282942bb5d96a2c614e7b68c9cd4.jpg
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,+6 102,+10 523

Oh my goodness Pip. I know this is not unexpected. Look how your attitude has changed in the last couple of weeks; you can laugh about this.
Obviously it's not funny...but you are taking it in stride. Yay for you!!!!
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,PMPS 486

yes, what a difference a few weeks and some education/experience makes! I still shudder at the high number but I now know why it's there and if I understand correctly, it's not entirely a bad sign, shows his Liver is working. and I think signs suggest that his pancreas is still trying to kick in now and then. Hubby and I were taking bets as to what his PMPS would be, he figured 24, I figured 27, I won (Canadian numbers obviously!). Knowing that Rupie has the ability to come down from those hgh numbers makes it seem better. Also, he DID get to snack quite a bit today on slighly higher carb food (he had a GREAT day!) so it's all still a learning curve as to how much he needs and how fast he responds. Of course he keeps changing the rules on me too.

I am, of course, disappointed that he had to leave BigMacs birthday party quite so early though!

Thankfully I now have five days off in a row, so if he wants to play diving olympics again I can keep an eye on him. Am hoping to be able to take that reduction tomorrow morning but I guess if he's still bouncing I'll hold thru????
 
Re: 4/4 Rupert AMPS+2.5 28,+2.8 50,+4.5, 48,PMPS 486

HOLY COW, RUPERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
laughing at this entire condo!!
Beautifully handled, Pip :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


holycow21.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top