4/4 Rosie: AMPS:131 +3.75 84 +5.25:94 PMPS:125 +3.75:112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

I am starting Rosie's 4/4 condo early in case anyone is around before I get to post in the morning and wants to comment on how they think she is doing. She has been pretty consistent recently, but not as low in nadirs as we'd like. And then she periodically just goes up for a bit. That 137 at PM+4.2 last night is a mystery.

ETA: My real concern is that she is not just a bot lower overall. The 137 is more of a BIG SIGH moment and hopefully is a fluke of some sort.

ETA: Rosie's eating/feeding schedule.
AM shot__: 1/2c FF
+3.5 or so: 1/8
+4.5 or so: 1/8
+7 ______: 1/4
+9 ______: 1/4
PM shot__: 1/2
+3.5 or so: 1/8
+4.5 or so: 1/4
+8 to 9__: 1/4
Sometimes, the feeding is a tad different if there are lots of tests. She generally gets 1/8 after each test unless we test a lot.


Does she need an increase? Is she just an erratic kitty who looks like she might not have OTJ on her mind?

Thanks to anyone who has time to comment.
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't worry about that random 137 last night. Always in the back of my mind is the comment that insulin absorption can vary by as much at 50% from one shot to the next. Overall I think she looks pretty good. Except for her amps, she is spending basically all the time under 120 and most of her time under 100.

A couple of thoughts come to mind, depending on your goals.

~ if you are satisfied overall, you could just stay at this dose for a little bit longer.
~ if you want to try to bring the range down a little bit, you could fatten the dose. If you decide to do that, it increases the chance that her nadirs might drop lower, so the burden to monitor that increases a little. You may end up feeding her strategically to keep her over 50 for a few cycles. Have you read the post on "Feeding the Curve, Tashie" on the "Where Can I Find?" thread? It's under "strategies that helps some cats."
~ you could try giving her a snack around pm+9 to see if it stimulates her pancreas and brings down the amps.

Because you are experienced and work from home, so pretty much available to test her whenever, I might lean towards the third option first, see how it does, and if it doesn't bring down the amps then I'd consider the second option. If you are content with things as they are, then holding the dose is an acceptable option too.

So let's see what others say!
 
Hmmmmmm, it's a line ball call. With nadirs getting as low as the 60s you don't have too much wriggle room. I imagine you're not over the moon with tonight's performance but dosing decisions should never be made on the basis of one cycle - everyone can have an off day. If she was mine I'd be holding and just keeping my eyes peeled for an upward trend.
 
I think it's a judgement call. Rosie is getting some really nice nadirs. Hopefully eventually her PS numbers will come down. If you try an increase you'll have to really watch she doesn't go too low. Julie had some good suggestions.
 
Rosie's AMPS today was, at least on the surface, evidence of a flat night.

Thank you, friends who have replied! I understand what you are all saying about the lower (60s) nadirs being a potential deterrent to an increase. In fact, it seems like every time we say "maybe we should go up," THAT VERY DAY she pops us a 6o-something.

It wasn't so much the 137 I was worried about. I had planned to ask for a "report card" from folks today or tomorrow and that just made me ask early. It's more the not-so-low nadirs and high pre shots. I feel we'd be so much happier if she'd just shift down by 10 points!

@julie & punkin (ga) Rosie does get a +9 every day and night. The daytime one, I hand to her at +9. The nighttime one opens up at +8 and I retrieve at +9, and she eats it somewhere in that hour. If she hasn't, I bring it to her.

I'm interested to see what she has in mind today.
 
AM+3.75 was 84, so at least we are green again. She looks happy so I will be, too.

Here is Rosie's eating/feeding schedule. I will also go up and add it to my to post.

AM shot__: 1/2c FF
+3.5 or so: 1/8
+4.5 or so: 1/8
+7 ______: 1/4
+9 ______: 1/4
PM shot__: 1/2
+3.5 or so: 1/8
+4.5 or so: 1/4
+8 to 9__: 1/4
Sometimes, the feeding is a tad different if there are lots of tests. She generally gets 1/8 after each test unless we test a lot.
 
You might want to experiment and see what happens if you leave out the last snack at +8 or +9. It may be influencing her pre-shot numbers. It's hard to know if it's helping or not.
 
You might want to experiment and see what happens if you leave out the last snack at +8 or +9. It may be influencing her pre-shot numbers. It's hard to know if it's helping or not.

I would second the experimenting part. For Mandarin, it made all the difference when I finally committed to feeding a slightly higher carb snack at +9. A snack at +8 didn't see to bring his AMPS down (even though it had the advantage of letting me get back to sleep a whole lot easier). It had to be at least 6% carb (I use the Chunky FF for that).

For Walter, it's the exact opposite - feeding later in the cycle will for sure bring his pre-shot up. So I think it's a worth a shot to see how Rosie does if switch up the timing of that meal.
 
You might want to experiment and see what happens if you leave out the last snack at +8 or +9. It may be influencing her pre-shot numbers. It's hard to know if it's helping or not.

The problem with that, for us, is if she does not have that snack, not only is she utterly miserable, but she vomits about 2 times out of 3 later in the morning without it. We worked on getting her to give up eating later (+10 or so) with some work, but this seems as far back as we can get without consequences. Can I ask how her overall numbers look to you? Is she in a good "healing zone" or would lower be better? I don't even know.
 
I would second the experimenting part. For Mandarin, it made all the difference when I finally committed to feeding a slightly higher carb snack at +9. A snack at +8 didn't see to bring his AMPS down (even though it had the advantage of letting me get back to sleep a whole lot easier). It had to be at least 6% carb (I use the Chunky FF for that).

For Walter, it's the exact opposite - feeding later in the cycle will for sure bring his pre-shot up. So I think it's a worth a shot to see how Rosie does if switch up the timing of that meal.

We cross-posted! As I explained to Sienne, we have been moving that snack and we seem to have been getting better (although not the best) pre shots with this routine. We could, though, try sticking to 6% carb at that time. I could also make sure it is AT +9 evenings instead of in that 1-hour time frame.

Or I could run away... :)
 
Thank you, friends. I appreciate all your input. Except maybe the part about the boots because Rosie saw that and has asked me to sign somethng now.

A nice PMPS and I'm hoping she'll be heading to the greens in short order.
 
You'd better check your browser history.....I thought I heard China whispering to someone and explaining how to order stuff online....and I know how these two girls can be!!
I think I have mentioned before that our little dog once ordered something on Amazon using one-click. This is the truth; I am not even kidding.

At nearly +4, Rosie is flat catting with a 112. She is looking good, though, and I am off to bed. Still fighting off a sore throat that threatens to bloom into something more miserable. I keep winning but don't know how long that wil last!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top