4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383 +3/299 +5.25/277 +9/269

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
I'm going to delay PurrFace's shot until his numbers get a bit further up the scale and then might give him a reduced shot. Any advice is welcomed.

Fixed the condos so now the above lined out entry is in yesterday's condo and the AMPS 62 I had listed as today's AMPS is now on yesterday's condo as +12/62. Sorry for any confusion.

PurrFace received his shot 45 minutes late so numbers permitting I'll adjust the shot time beginning tomorrow.
Hope everyone is having a great day.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 62

Well. Somebody was on a mission last night. So glad PurrFace made it to the condos and read the threats!!! :lol: :lol:

sorry no dose advice for me but just wanted to wish you the best for another good juicy day.

Karen
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82

Hi guys .. nice shooting! Let's keep the surf going purrface .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60

Ole' PurrFace has doing some head scratching today. This is the first time I've had a problem bringing him up by varying the carb content of what I feed him. I guess if I'm going to be perplexed it's better because of this than something else. Any ideas and/or suggestions are appreciated.

Hope everyone is having a great day.
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60

Hi John, and wow, look at PurrFace. Gosh I have such an easy time bringing Mags up. She comes up on some of the lc! Do you want him to come up or see if he'll come up on his own with his regular fuds. Is the +5 his Nadir?
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60 +7/99

Looks like he is finally out of the low numbers for awhile. This PM cycle should be interesting.
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60 +7/99

Hi John.....I have no advice, just impressed with the beautiful day, PurrFace is having. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60 +7/99

Wow, that's a nice cycle there PurrFace! We'll see what happens tonight but wouldn't it be great to just surffff like that? Go PurrFace!
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60 +7/99 +9.5/217

Nice surf. This was his longest surf in the Lagoon since 11/03/12, 11 test in a row that were green. Now I'm about to do the PMPS test. Big bounce or not?
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

It was a nice surf. It's been quite a while since he's had a green streak like that.

Thank you Karen, Devon, Ann, Barb & Lisa for your visit today.

Hope everyone is having a great night.
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

Wow on all those nice greens today.
Interesting that he wasn't rising and good info to know. At least you weren't in too low.
Hope PurrFace continues with some more green streaks....
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

Very nice green surf today, PurrFace.

John, perhaps just feed him his normal LC (in small amounts) when trying to keep him surfing, but not dropping too low. If you over-carb, you will get the bounce for sure.

This was a fine day. Hope tomorrow will be, too. Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60 +7/99 +9.5/217

Frosty said:
Nice surf. This was his longest surf in the Lagoon since 11/03/12, 11 test in a row that were green. Now I'm about to do the PMPS test. Big bounce or not?

Ugh on the bounce! I hope Purrface clears it quickly, what a beautiful day he had.
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

Hi John

Looks like you all were part of the Coast to Coast PJ Party. Nice numbers last night and this morning. Good job managing those curves.

It was a good idea to stall this morning and let the carbs wear off a bit so you be sure you weren't shooting a food spike.

I know this is hindsight but we are about teaching here as well as helping. :-D I would have suggested that you hold his dose. He has a habit of failing reductions and he didn't go below 50....close but not.

I'd recommend that as soon as he drops to green, give him 2 tsp of LC; retest, do it again if he's not up or surfing. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Have a great night! :-D
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace AMPS 78 +2/82 +5/60

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi John, and wow, look at PurrFace. Gosh I have such an easy time bringing Mags up. She comes up on some of the lc! Do you want him to come up or see if he'll come up on his own with his regular fuds. Is the +5 his Nadir?

Sorry Ann, I thought I had answered your question earlier. Normally we can bring PF up to the safe green numbers by giving him a a bit higher LC food such as 7% or 9%. If he continues to drop the tinest drop of HC gravy on his 7% or 9% LC food will do the trick. Once in the safe numbers we can go back to his normal 5% or less food. None of that worked last night. At +6 (his normal nadir) & +7 he got 2 tsp 9%LC, 1 tsp 9% W/drop of Honey@+8, 1 tsp 7% w/HC gravy@+9.5 & @+11.5. At +12 he was at 62 and his AMPS was 78. That's the first time that happened and the main reason I decreased his dose. This sure is a constant learning game.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

Marje wrote: I know this is hindsight but we are about teaching here as well as helping. I would have suggested that you hold his dose. He has a habit of failing reductions and he didn't go below 50....close but not.

I'd recommend that as soon as he drops to green, give him 2 tsp of LC; retest, do it again if he's not up or surfing. Lather, rinse, repeat.​

Thanks Marje. I'm so glad that you and others are willing to take the time to teach us as well as help. Hopefully I'll learn enough eventually to pass it on. I was so close to holding the dose because of his past inability to hold reductions but when I reviewed the last 5 or 6 hours of his PM cycle and saw that he wasn't responding to the HC gravy and even honey as he normally does I panicked and took the reduction.

After I read your post I went back to his SS and saw that we have been giving him about 1/3 - 1/2 of a 3oz can when he hits the safe green numbers. I see now that we were probably cutting his surfs short. I'll change that to your recommendation of the 2 tsp LC & retest. If he's in the 80-99 range I'll retest in an hour, anything under the 80 I'll retest at least every 1/2 hour.

Thank you again Marje. I really appreciate your advice. Hope you have a great night.

Time to go test PF and see if we are going to get some sleep tonight :lol: .
 
Re: 4/4 PurrFace PMPS 383

You are correct that we do say if you are working to keep numbers up, you should reduce.

However, what I've observed in many cats is that when a bounce is clearing, they come down fast and can go low. You will have to figure out if PF should get a reduction or not. For Gracie, even if she goes lower when she's clearing a bounce, I don't usually reduce her unless she gets into the low 30s (but she is a long term diabetic).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top