4/4 Petey AMPS 163 +2 182 +4 108 +5 75 +6 72 +7 59 +7.125 55 +7.5 58 +8 63 +9 84

Laurie&Petey

Member Since 2024
4/3 Post

Friday, already!?

My AT3 test strip order is delayed so we're using a Relion meter for now. Just when I think about switching again, it throws 2 errors in a row for not enough blood. Needing less blood is the only reason I stick with the AT3. I only found one other meter that takes that small of a blood sample and those strips are just as much money.

Question: how comparable are his test numbers between the two devices?

Have a great day!
 
Happy Friday Laurie and Petey!
I save this from a feline diabetes account on Instagram:
Screenshot_20250111_141104_Instagram.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20250111_141104_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20250111_141104_Instagram.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 192
Ah, sorry the test strips are delayed! I remember I used to test with both the AT and Freestyle Lite when I switched to the human meter, because I wanted to understand the pattern/difference and was only used to the AT. It was hard to determine a pattern unfortunately. The human meter was definitely higher (maybe 30-100... converting from my mmol/l reference), but the difference wasn't consistent and even sometimes did the opposite of what I expected.
I hope the right strips come in soon! Helen's post above is hopefully helpful in the meantime :cat:
 
Ah, sorry the test strips are delayed! I remember I used to test with both the AT and Freestyle Lite when I switched to the human meter, because I wanted to understand the pattern/difference and was only used to the AT. It was hard to determine a pattern unfortunately. The human meter was definitely higher (maybe 30-100... converting from my mmol/l reference), but the difference wasn't consistent and even sometimes did the opposite of what I expected.
I hope the right strips come in soon! Helen's post above is hopefully helpful in the meantime :cat:
Thank you, he must have been in a light bounce yesterday. He's under 100 today on the Relion.
 
Hmmm...according to that helpful chart above, the human meter numbers are lower, so (am I right about this?) he's actually (in comparison to the AT) a bit higher than what he's showing and than what you're used to seeing on the AT. Also, be sure to use the line at the top of the animal meter spread sheet for guidance (the line that varies depending on if you are using a pet or human meter--that shows the black, red, pink, etc. colors). I'm using a human meter if you want to look at mine.

I used to use the AT, and I was worried about switching over for the same reason: blood sample size. Granted, I have had more ERRs with the Relion, than with the AT, but overtime, I've gotten used to the amount of blood needed for the Relion sample, and that has helped. To me, it's almost the same sample size, but the AT would take those teensy drops that the Relion just won't. Also, the Relion testing strip shows whether or not the proper amount of blood is drawn up into the strip, and I make sure I keep the strip there until I see the blood go into the strip (even then, occasionally, I get the ERR). The cost savings, though--the AT was bankrupting me. Also, I started using a lancet that I swear is better: offers a gentler poke. They are called Genteel Butterfly Touch Lancets. They are more expensive, but worth it. Sometimes Jude doesn't even flinch. I get them at Amazon.

I hope Petey levels out for you today. We love those greens, Petey, but let's keep things above the limes, please.
 
Hmmm...according to that helpful chart above, the human meter numbers are lower, so (am I right about this?) he's actually (in comparison to the AT) a bit higher than what he's showing and than what you're used to seeing on the AT. Also, be sure to use the line at the top of the animal meter spread sheet for guidance (the line that varies depending on if you are using a pet or human meter--that shows the black, red, pink, etc. colors). I'm using a human meter if you want to look at mine.

I used to use the AT, and I was worried about switching over for the same reason: blood sample size. Granted, I have had more ERRs with the Relion, than with the AT, but overtime, I've gotten used to the amount of blood needed for the Relion sample, and that has helped. To me, it's almost the same sample size, but the AT would take those teensy drops that the Relion just won't. Also, the Relion testing strip shows whether or not the proper amount of blood is drawn up into the strip, and I make sure I keep the strip there until I see the blood go into the strip (even then, occasionally, I get the ERR). The cost savings, though--the AT was bankrupting me. Also, I started using a lancet that I swear is better: offers a gentler poke. They are called Genteel Butterfly Touch Lancets. They are more expensive, but worth it. Sometimes Jude doesn't even flinch. I get them at Amazon.

I hope Petey levels out for you today. We love those greens, Petey, but let's keep things above the limes, please.
Are my lime numbers right on his SS with the Relion? I looked at other SS and those numbers were not lime... I am worried I am panic'ing thinking AT lows and not Relion lows?
 
Agreed with Mary. Anything below 50 is lime for ReliOn. Wendy recommended some lancets to me a while back that I love, they’re the OneTouch Delica 33 gauge.
Thanks, Tim. I started to pop over to Pookey's SS to make sure I was telling her the correct numbers :). I just looked at the price of those OneTouch lancets, and they're comparable to the Genteel's. I think I'll give them a try to compare.
 
ok, thank you... I was right in the middle of the perceived crisis when I got home and I didn't think of that.... Would you have fed HC at 55?

Edit: He is at 63, should I keep feeding LC or let him ride it out?
I would not continue with HC for sure. I don't feed HC unless Jude falls under 50, so I wouldn't carb manipulate a 63.
 
ok, thank you... I was right in the middle of the perceived crisis when I got home and I didn't think of that.... Would you have fed HC at 55?

Edit: He is at 63, should I keep feeding LC or let him ride it out?
I would continue monitoring, and I know you will.
 
You switched to TR (right?), so this is the protocol for reductions:

"If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."

Those numbers are human meter numbers. Since Petey did not drop below 50 (yet--and let's hope he doesn't), he doesn't earn a reduction. @Tim & Pookey, back me up here.
 
You switched to TR (right?), so this is the protocol for reductions:

"If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."

Those numbers are human meter numbers. Since Petey did not drop below 50 (yet--and let's hope he doesn't), he doesn't earn a reduction. @Tim & Pookey, back me up here.
Got it, thank you! Petey is in the clear. :bighug:

I have added that note in my SS for future reference.... I guess I spaced it that the SS are set up different for human vs. pet meters. :banghead:
 
Got it, thank you! Petey is in the clear. :bighug:

I have added that note in my SS for future reference.... I guess I spaced it that the SS are set up different for human vs. pet meters. :banghead:
Laurie, just a suggestion: to make it a little easier to keep track with the different numbers you could copy that human meter line and paste it on Petey's ss, just below where you've noted that you're using the Relion temporarily. That way, the numbers would be readily available as you input data, until the AT strips arrive.

Glad to see he's going up nicely, but still enjoying those greens! Good job, Petey and Laurie!
 
Laurie, just a suggestion: to make it a little easier to keep track with the different numbers you could copy that human meter line and paste it on Petey's ss, just below where you've noted that you're using the Relion temporarily. That way, the numbers would be readily available as you input data, until the AT strips arrive.

Glad to see he's going up nicely, but still enjoying those greens! Good job, Petey and Laurie!
:bighug::bighug: Whew! Figures, the one day I had to be at the shop.

Thank you and Tim for your quick guidance, very much appreciated and Petey is just on the deck camping out, thinking nothing of it.
 
Awfully close though today! Great cycle and I just love his camper. I’ve been researching cat-patios and trying to talk myself out of building Pookey one this weekend…
 
Awfully close though today! Great cycle and I just love his camper. I’ve been researching cat-patios and trying to talk myself out of building Pookey one this weekend…
Thank you! And you should most definitely build him a catio! If Petey didn't stick close by, that's what we would have done.
 
Hi Laurie :)
I'm not an expert on meters but from what I've learned following the forum so far the meters are very different and it's best to just stick to one.
I use the Freestyl Lite and I like it. It needs only a small drop of blood and it seems to be very reliable and consistent.
Shame that the strips are sooooo expensive.

I see that Petey kept you on your toes :D:D:D Lovely cycle.
I hope you had a good Furiday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Lovely low green numbers for Mr Petey there Laurie :)
But nerve-wracking for you I imagine, using a different meter with readings that would be alarming on the pet metre. But you saw him through safely back into the blues. Well done!
 
Back
Top