4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 +4 132 +5 125 +6 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
@ +21 (AMPS today) BGL 138 lowered dose another .5 to 4u based on yesterday's cycles. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92440
In hopes the PM cycle will be ok to shoot. Hope this is a good dose. Paws crossed. :mrgreen:

*** I just got home it was 8pm he was hungry I've been so exhausted that it felt like 10pm I automatically did a test @+10 123 and gave him a 4u dose. I will assume now it's the dose plus the shed.. I will monitor closely.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey AMPS 138

Hi guys .. we have fingers and paws crossed as well that this is a good dose for mr grey! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey AMPS 138;+1 139

that's a great number, especially for being at +21. I'm glad you reduced, it looks like he is ready for less insulin.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey AMPS 138;+1 139 +2 133 +3 132

images
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

Yes I added 911 as I gave him dose accidentally 2 hours early and he was @ +10 123 :shock: PLease read the 1st post in this condo. Thanks !
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

Oops! It is so hard to keep that straight when you've changed the shot time as much as you have lately. I would get a +1 and see what he's doing. You've got plenty of strips and carbs and will be there to monitor? You have karo or honey? If so, you can manage the BGs and he will be fine. Just in case, do you know where there is an emergency vet that can handle a hypo? You might want to figure that out now, in case you need it later.
Liz
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

Rick & Mr. Grey said:
Yes I added 911 as I gave him dose accidentally 2 hours early and he was @ +10 123 :shock: PLease read the 1st post in this condo. Thanks !
Ok. So the 123 is his AM+10, then. On you SS you may want to move the 123 from the PMPS slot to the AM+10 slot and put a note re: early shot in the PMPS area. Mistakes happen. From looking at your SS, I see that you are experienced with testing and controlling low numbers. The dose decrease yesterday and then again today is on your side :-D Be sure to get a +1 & +2 test and keep us updated. Hang in there :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

(just in case) do you have the hypo information printed out (or maybe bookmarked)???
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

I'm going to try to contact/alert an expert just in case you need help later :-D
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

Rick & Mr. Grey said:
Yes to all the above Anne thanks. +10 123 + 11 117.
I am thinking 123 will be your +10 and PMPS, and the 117 will be your +1....but I'm not 100%..someone will chime in here in a short while...I've alerted a few experts :)
 
Re: 4/4 Gave Mr Grey dose 2 hours early by accident

Rick, please put the numbers in the subject line of the original post so they show up on the forum. If you don't hear from Marje or Sienne, I would recommend a couple of teaspoons of high carb. Don't fill him up, because you will need him to eat later too.
Liz
ETA: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123;+1 117 shot 2 hrs early by accident
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123;+1 117 shot 2 hrs early by accident

Hi Rick, just saw your post.

+10 - PMPS 123 (4u) fed LC
+1 - 117

Please get a +2.

He has been surfing nicely in blue so hopefully he will continue that. Definitely keep checking though. If he starts to drop too soon, I would go straight for high carb instead of low carb.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123;+1 117 shot 2 hrs early by accident

Hi Rick

You've got lots of eyes on you all. It's probably a good idea to give that HC and just abort the cycle.....don't let him go low. You just hit the numbers early with HC and to get them up instead of let them go down or instead of trying to manage a lower surf.

That way you can hopefully get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123;+1 117 shot 2 hrs early by accident

hi rick. i don't want to get in the way, but am here for support if needed.
you're in good hands...
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

to be on the safe side, I agree that we should try to abort this cycle. Let's see if we can get him bumped up some.

Does Mr. Gray generally have a good appetite? If so, I would feed him a good bit of high carb food, maybe half of a Fancy Feast sized can, then test in 30 minutes. He doesn't seem to respond quickly to small amounts of food, so let's try giving more.

eta: I would even add some syrup to that HC. I'd like to see him rise, not just surf.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

yes you're right about small amounts of HC. I have Karo Light Corn Syrup with real vanilla 0g High Fructose Corn syrup 1Tbsp 15g carbs. How much to add to this next feeding ?
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

I'm not sure because the one time I used syrup I used way too much! A few good drops, up to maybe 1/2 tsp is my guess.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

1/2 tsp is alot.....that's like giving him 2.5 mls. Do you have a syringe (no needle) that you can use? I'd measure 1ml and mix it in his food. Hopefully he'll love it.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

Too late Marje just fed 1/2 small can of HC mixed with little under 1/2 Tsp syrup.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 shot 2 hrs early

can you test 20 minutes after the food/syrup? That should have bumped him up some.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

+10 - PMPS 123 (4u) fed LC
+1 - 117
+1.5 - fed 2 tsp HC
+2 - 88
+2.5 - fed HC and karo
+3 - 102

good, the carbs bumped him up a little.

You said you were tired tonight. How much longer do you have in you? And tomorrow, will you be home or out? Thanks to our friend the insulin depot, sometimes the full effect of early shots isn't seen until the next day.

Trying to figure out the best way to proceed from here.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

Tomorrow if I move two appointments I'm home till 3:30pm home by 7:45
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

if he's still on the low side in the morning, you might want to skip and drain his depot again. It doesn't ever seem to hurt him to miss a shot, and that would help get rid of some of the extra overlap that shooting early tonight might have created.

In the meantime, how about testing at +3.5. Then we can see if he is holding that number up. Depending on that number, I would probably feed another 1/2 can of HC. Since we can be pretty sure he isn't going to bounce, the idea is to get the number up high enough that even if he drops again overnight, there is plenty of wiggle room so he won't go too low.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

+3.5 123 on the rise still. I think I should hold off food till +4.

+10 - PMPS 123 (4u) fed LC
+1 - 117
+1.5 - fed 2 tsp HC
+2 - 88
+2.5 - fed HC and karo
+3 - 102
+3.5 123
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

yep, that's a comfortable number for now. It will probably come down as the carbs wear off.

How much longer will you be up?
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

Well I'm working in my music studio so that usually keeps me up till 2-3am :cool: I'd rather not try cancel and reschedule my appointments tomorrow and then I'd probably skip AMPS shot
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

You should plan to skip tomorrow morning and let the depot drain some more.

I'll be around for three more hours so if you test, please post. You can update in your subject line.
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 shot 2 hrs early

well, you'll definitely outlast me, then. :smile:

You know how to manage his numbers. The main difference is that he *might* drop later in the cycle than usual because of the early shot. I know that doesn't make sense, but that's how it happens sometimes with early shots.

If he was mine, to be safe here's what I would do. Keep checking as usual tonight. If he starts to drop, use HC instead of LC just for an extra cushion. Then before bed feed another 1/2 can of high carb and maybe some more syrup. You want to be sure he can hold his numbers up if the pull of the insulin gets stronger overnight, which it very well could. I would set an alarm for +8 just to check and be sure he isn't dropping (and if you're like me, even if you think you will be awake until +8, it wouldn't hurt to go ahead and set the alarm anyway!). If all is well, back to bed. Then I would skip tomorrow morning's shot and sleep in.

So far everything is looking good!
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 +4 132 +5 125

Great advice from everyone thanks so much ! Yes I will skip tomorrows AM shot and keep ya'll posted. Get some sleep Libby :smile: I will be up another 2 hours and test again @+5

+10 - PMPS 123 (4u) fed LC
+1 - 117
+1.5 - fed 2 tsp HC
+2 - 88
+2.5 - fed HC and karo
+3 - 102
+3.5 123
+4 - 132
+5 - 125
+6 - 96 fed 1.5oz HC 2 drops syrup
 
Re: 4/4 Mr Grey PMPS 123+1 117 +2 88 +3 102 +4 132 +5 125 +6

Nice teamwork! Well done, everyone! I hope Mr Grey is having a less dramatic day today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top