4/4 Merlin AMPS 524

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
4/4
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 524;

Good Morning to you all and not so for Merlin. I am pretty sure that I got a solid shot in last night. This morning I will go with the longer needle. Should I go with another .8? He is eager and ready to eat this morning so that is good. Oh I really messed it up for him.
 
Re: AMPS 524

I think I'd go with .8. He might be bouncing from a lower number last night, or he may need more insulin. Regardless, you want him out of the blacks. What do you think about a siding scale? A little bigger dose for the higher preshots/a little less for the lower?

Be sure to get in a ketone test.
 
I am ok with trying a sliding scale. I was hoping I could get him on a more constant number but anything to get him back to where we had him a day ago. Do you think I should still give him .8?
 
Ok I gave him an .8U and will plan to test him at +3 and will post. My husband just fed the dogs and they left some food in their bowls and found Merlin eating. That could be the culprit and we didn't notice it. If so, will need to change their place to eat. They are not free fed and are on a schedule so it was that split minute that Merlin sneaked in there. I will also test for ketones today if I catch him. Thanks.
 
Really just a few bites? Wow, I knew it did some but maybe that was it. Usually our dogs eat everything we feed them but for some reason, there must be something in this new bag (same dog food as before), because they have been leaving some in their dish. So we have been watching the dogs and picking up their food right away. This time, Merlin got in within minutes of them walking away. Makes me think that somehow, he got into some other food yesterday too because he was very content on only eating right after at AMPS and two hours before PMPS. That is unusual for him. I usually feed him throughout the day a couple more times. He is starting to sneeze and be a little congested too these last couple of days too. Not sure if that has anything to do with this bounce. So will it take many days to get back to what we had going a day and half ago?

4/4
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 524; .8U
+3 - 277
 
Usually a few cycles or maybe just one - It's that darn Every Cat is Different thing…… For some cats, just a few high carb treats can make a difference. When they drop low and you give them higher carb food, they will sometimes bounce up for the next reading. Dry food usually takes longer to impact the bg levels and does last longer when it does. So dry and higher carb can even make a bigger difference.
 
Looks like the 0.8 is bringing Merlin down into pretty good numbers. Hopefully, he can hold those numbers and "surf" rather than bouncing back up for PMPS.
 
Hopefully so for the surfing. I don't think he has surfed before. He has always increased by the end of the day. So by a sliding scale, I would be looking at something like .8 when numbers are really high (like 450 and above) and .6 when they are in the middle (like 300-450). At what number would I possibly shoot a .4? Would that be in the 200's? It will be interesting what we will see tonight and tomorrow am. I may get one more blood test at +7 today.
 
That's the trick with these "bouncy" kitties is to figure out how to get them to stay in those better numbers without their bodies panicking and shooting them back up at shot time. :-D
 
4/4
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 524; .8U
+3 - 277
+5 - 183
PMPS- 413; .6u

Well I took his PMPS a little early tonight (25 minutes). I have been under the weather and spent the whole day in bed today. Unfortunately, I just woke up and missed the +7 test. Anyway, glad to see that the PMPS was not in the 500's and almost in the 300's. So in looking at my spreadsheet, it looks like we are back to giving a .6. With a sliding scale, that is what you do is look at the data and see what has worked before; on or near the test number that you receive and give the unit that gave good numbers then, correct? I think I am starting to get this...I hope.
 
Desertdog271 said:
So in looking at my spreadsheet, it looks like we are back to giving a .6. With a sliding scale, that is what you do is look at the data and see what has worked before; on or near the test number that you receive and give the unit that gave good numbers then, correct? I think I am starting to get this...I hope.

Yep! This is exactly what you do! You tweak as you figure out what dose works well for a given pre-shot range. I think the scale you noted above looks like a very good place to start. :smile:

Hopefully Sue will chime in too, but I'm in agreement with the 0.6.
 
Thanks for the confirmation...again! I gave him .6 tonight. I wasn't able to get a ketone test today. I will try tomorrow. Thanks again and have a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top